We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Modern Hotel close to gastown and shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Clean Modern Hotel close to gastown and shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed one night, I live downtown so knew the area it was in -perfect for shopping and gastown. Quiet at night. Really nice indoor pool with atrium so you feel not so closed in. Nice modern amenities in room ( ipod dock that fit ipad). What I would expect from a 4 star in Vancouver. Paid $126 hotels.com

Room Tip: High floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    279
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
123
462
81
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very nice hotel, great location, the staff are friendly, clean comfatble rooms, but parking is $40 per day and 2 eggs 3 thin slices of back bacon and 2 small sticks of hash brown is $18 and coffee is $4.50. I feel this is overpriced and not fair to tourists coming to Vancouver to see our great city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My sisters from Colorado & Texas and I (Tacoma) recently spent a weekend at the Metropolitan Hotel. It is so convenient to all the sights, especially important in rainy weather. We easily walked to sights, restaurants, shops, galleries. And our junior suite was delightful and cozy. The staff was helpful and attentive. We left saying we would recommend the Metropolitan to our friends back home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I would just like to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Metropolitan in Vancover.
The hotel is in a great location right near the shopping mall and close to bars and restarants. The reason for our trip was honeymoon. The room and service we received throughout our stay was exceptional. We were very surprised and thrilled to receive a complimentary special treat of dessert goodies and a note to say congratulations on your recent marriage.
The Metropolitan Hotel was our last visit before returning home to the UK. So it made it all the more special to receive this thoughtful gesture. This was our first stay in a Metroplitan hotel and we will certainly be looking to book with Metroplitan hotels again in the future .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Metropolitan twice, the previous visit being during the summer of 2011. This time I was in town for a conference held at the UBC campus in nearby Robson Square, and the whole trip went really smoothly.

My flight from London arrived about an hour late, and if his had been my first trip to Vancouver I might have been concerned about reaching the city. However, I knew about the cheap and incredibly convenient Canada Line skytrain, which takes you straight to the Pacific Centre (City Centre) station. The Metropolitan is right across the road from the station. Check in was really smooth, with courteous staff. There is free wifi to guests throughout (in fact, and in contrast to the UK, wifi is free in most places). This time around I didn't have breakfast included in the rate, so I ate each morning at the nearby "Bellagio" diner beside Robson Square.

I found the room to be clean and quite luxurious. I had a balcony, but it was raining quite a bit, so I didn't sit out. The staff were helpful without ever being intrusive. I had a drink in the lounge one night, which was fine. They have some local beers, as well as the bottled usual.

All in all, a fantastic hotel, and one I hope I can return to in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If affordability is not an issue, this is a very comfortable hotel that is excellently situated in downtown Vancouver. I spent 4 nights and then 2 nights over an 8 day period on a business trip. I would definitely return (as long as the costs don't come out of my own pocket - though it was on a par with, and possible slighter more reasonable than, other similar hotels). The room had everything I needed and the WiFi connection was fast and reliable. The restaurant, which also provides the room service, was excellent. The extensive Pacific Centre mall is just opposite, and many of the tourist areas are in easy walking distance, or short cab ride. There is not much of a view on the side I happened to be on during both stays, looking into neighboring office blocks - it may be better on the Howe street side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This recent stay (of three nights in late-Oct '12), was our second stay at the Metropolitan Hotel - and for the same reason, we were in the city to attend a performance at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, and wished to include a stay around it, a sort of mini-trip for us. We chose to stay at the Metropolitan the first time primarily for its handy location. This time, we were able to choose it not only for that great location, but also based on the positive experience of our previous stay. Again, it worked well for us, and added much to the total enjoyment of mini-trip/stay in Vancouver.

We were highly-impressed with all the services we received -- right from the initial request for a reservation (which was made via a phone call to Reservations), through the check-in procedure (we had requested an 'am' check-in, and arriving as early as we did and having everything go so smoothly, with the name recognition, and our room set up, and ready for us -- was a check-in delight!!), through the friendly chats with staff at the front desk during our stay, and through the personal enjoyments of our attractive and comfortable room (a 'real' fridge was included for us, the bed was comfy, the duvet warm, the WiFi connection good, and w/no extra charge, and the room had an overall peace & quiet that we much-appreciated).

And that location - so handy to popping across the street to the Pacific Centre, or just a block and a bit more to Granville, Robson, and etc.  

We did not use other amenities of the hotel during this stay, so cannot comment on the restaurant, pool, exercise room, et al.

The Metropolitan Hotel provided a much-enjoyed respite from the "hectic activity and noise" of the city, and as during our previous stay, that was much-appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.