We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with just one snag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
High Peak U.K.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great with just one snag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights. The hotel is close to arr gallery in city centre. C-line train from airport is convenient $8 each. The people we met were great. The hotel was great with friendly staff. Our deal included a 'free' continental breakfast each morning and that was good.
We were shocked and really disappointed when we asked for some more toast to be told that we would be billed for it! We declined as a matter of principle. This is not a cheap hotel but gives value for money and they let themselves down. So we ate out each evening following this bombshell! Never been asked to pay for a slice of toast before!

Room Tip: Don't ask for more toast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    280
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
124
462
81
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port moody bc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Friendly staff from the door men to front desk and in between. Outstanding feature - when I asked for extra time for late check out the response was " sure how much time would you like?" and she gave an extra hour " do you need more?". The response we've gotten at other hotels this year have been "I don't know..I can possibly squeeze 20min for you" with eyes rolling or "I can give you an hour for an extra fee" or the plain old "no I'm sorry"(times up you gotta go..)
If you have a relaxing time at a Hotel its nice to leave unrushed.
Bonus points for letting us take our bikes to our room (they were foldable)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Nice front desk and bellman - good service. Room was pretty good size, but a little dark. I visited other rooms and they were quite nice. Some with amazing views from their windows. Like most places, I guess it depends on which room you get.
Good amenities in room, and good internet service.
Overall, a very comfortable short stay, albeit a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a four star hotel you could not ask for more. The rooms are great, it has a first class restaurant and the staff are very obliging. The situation is a real plus, close to train and restaurants and coffee shops. It is a very easy place to base yourself in this city. Bonus is free wifi. We are really happy to give this hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We picked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and not being able to stay at our first choice hotel in Vancouver. Have to say we were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room and despite overlooking a building site where the workmen were just a floor below working in the building to the left of us, we had everything we needed. From the huge comfy bed and quality furnishings to the thick robes and moltan brown toiletries. The rooms were kept spotless and the friendly staff were there on hand to help if we needed anything. We had lots of activities planned so did not get a chance to use the pool or other facilities in the hotel and breakfast was not included in our package so we didnt use the restaurant during our stay, so cannot comment on the service there. We would definitely choose this hotel again if we are lucky enough to return to this great city.

Room Tip: Our room on 17th floor was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First time at the Metropolitan Hotel and we found it a good experience. Great central location, friendly and helpful staff and a delicious continental breakfast.

Good size room and very comfortable King bed. We were on the 12th floor and did not find it noisy.

We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very good value, staff are very helpful and polite. My wife and I could not
fault this hotel on any point.
From the time we arrived until our departure we enjoyed every second. The bar is very good and
the food is out of this world.

Try it yourself, we would go back time and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.