We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Gem in Downtown Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Mother's Day!
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Top Notch Gem in Downtown Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week and have enjoyed every minute of it from the time we arrived until we leave. I would classify it as a centrally located boutique accommodation close to restaurants, entertainment, shopping, tourist attractions and most important buses and Skytrain stations. All are within walking distances. The Granville station and the City Centre station are just 5 minutes away at a quick pace.

Bell boys were friendly, helpful but not intrusive when we arrived. Reception was fast and we loved the large bowl of cherries to welcome us in the room. Housekeeping was very responsive; we requested an electric jug which was delivered within 10 minutes. The concierge was very patient and helpful with our enquiries. The most impressive of all were the front desk staff; they were friendly, courteous and helpful, remembering our names all the time. Nothing was too much trouble, going out of their way to assist. My son managed to book into this same hotel for 2 nights and when they found that it was for his wedding, upgraded his room to a suite. They even helped him booked a last minute holiday package to Las Vegas for his honeymoon on their system, which was better value than what he could get with travel agents outside. In particular we appreciated the extraordinary help and prompt services given by Kelvin & Natasha, very professional, efficient and yet friendly – truly top notch.

The bathroom has been refurbished and quite large with separate bath tub and shower recess. The wash basin has plenty of bench space. The room size is alright for two but not as large as one would expect in North America. You can hear a bit of street noise in the morning but it did not bother us. The only drawback we experienced was the smell of tobacco smoke inside the room entrance. When we told the front desk, they immediately offered to swap our room but we did not take up as we’re quite settled in by then. There are two PCs in the business centre for guest to use free of charge.

When we got home and found a charge was made to our credit card after checking out, we were annoyed. We contacted the hotel and their accounts department immediately started an investigation telling us it was for Mini Bar charges. When we insisted that we did not consume anything from the Mini Bar, they promptly reversed the debit the next day. Quite satisfied with the outcome. Again the backroom staff had been very responsive.

We will definitely stay here if we visit Vancouver again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter, but we found the street noise minor and acceptable for a downtown hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    339
    71
    18
    11
See reviews for
148
530
88
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a wedding downtown in Vancouver so decided to stay nearby. This hotel was absolutely close to everything.... two blocks from our reception venue. It's right across the street from an entrance to Pacific Centre, a large underground shopping mall with access to Skytrain. Our room was spacious, had a wonderful comfortable bed, with a wonderful view of downtown looking towards the North Shore. The bathroom had lots of room for getting ready and featured Frette linens. The multilingual staff were all friendly and helpful, and we loved the turndown service! The swimming pool and fitness area were a nice oasis on a rainy day. We didn't watch much television, but seeing a old tube television in the room felt out of the place with the overall attention to detail and quality that was evident everywhere else. Nevertheless we had a good stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

It was a long drive from Seattle to Vancouver the night we checked in. It was near midnight and the wait at the border was long. We just wanted to relax. When the porter opened the door to our room, our jaws dropped. This was a really great king-sized room. They had prepped it for our arrival with music playing softly over the alarm clock and sparkling water and a big bowl of cherries that matched the decor. Nice bamboo furniture and the bed was huge and so comfortable. The bathroom was really spacious and spotless. We stayed at another hotel in Vancouver later on in the trip, but my boyfriend and I wanted to return to the Met.

We had a balcony and could see Canada Place and the much fancier pool of the Four Seasons across the street. The common areas of the hotel we a bit plain and the pool area was definitely no frills. But everything about the stay was great. Except the TV reception, but whatever. We even got a free microwave in our room, less than 10 minutes after our request. (Hey, we spent our money on a sexy boutique hotel. We were keeping and reheating our damn leftovers.)

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be staying here again. As a bonus, a ton of cool food trucks operate in the area around the art museum. Get some Tacofino's and Re-up BBQ pulled pork sandwiches for cheap eats.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at the Met in Vancouver Sept 8/9 2011. When I arrived the bellman and valet were very, very helpful in securing parking for my over-sized vehicle. Pretty impressive in downtown Vancouver. The staff was enthusiastic, polite and professional. The room was great! Found the whole experience very satisfying. Highly recommend these folks

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Excellant location, excellant room, always somebody to help with information. Highly recommend it, we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The queen room that we had was very comfortable with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived Friday after a fun train ride up from Everett, Wa. The staff was polite and helpful. The hotel is beautiful! Our room was so quiet and comfortable, we will be going back! We used the concierge service to get massages. We were directed to a wonderful place called "Smile Thai Massage." I also recommend them. Bed and furniture were comfortable and easy to enjoy! The bathroom was large and Nice! Thank you to all the staff who made our stay sooo enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Metropolitan for 3 nights in August. We loved everything about the hotel and the service was excellent. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.