We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and service, and you have to pay for them” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Vancouver to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great location and service, and you have to pay for them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I went to Vancouver for a weekend in summer and stayed here. It's a great city and this hotel is right in the heart of the downtown Vancouver. Very convenient, either you drive or take subway (right on the station). The staffs are kind and generous; the room is clean and well-maintained. Everything and everhhing, it's great and you have to pay for them. For example, valet parking staffs are very professional and get your car in & out quick; and you will be paying $45/day for that.
The only downsize during the stay was that we had to wait for long time for the elevator, no matter it's the morning, afternoon, or evening. Maybe it's because there were multiple conference on site that weekend? We easily found ourselves waiting for 10 or even 15 mins for the ride...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Steven Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I am very happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your visit, and that you found the staff to be kind and generous and our rooms well maintained. We hope that we get to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    714
    162
    45
    24
See reviews for
345
626
134
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Came to Vancouver with a friend for the week to tour around. We got a great deal on this hotel on Hotwire. They gave us a room with a balcony and excellent views. The rooms and bathrooms were newer and very clean. The beds were super comfortable with plenty of pillows. They also had newer technology on their elevators and as big as the hotel was - you never waited long for an elevator or needed to stop on endless floors. You press your floor before boarding the elevator and it points you to the elevator with the most convenient stops for you. The staff working there were all super nice and helpful. All of Vancouver feels safe to walk around and the location of this hotel also felt that way. We were two ladies traveling together and often walked back from dinner late and felt this was in a good neighborhood. Our only complaint about the hotel - the walls seemed really thin - bring your earplugs. You could hear the quietest conversations in other rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and bring a bottle of wine. A nice place to sit out and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights after cruise. Very friendly and helpful service. Centrally located in the downtown area near restaurants and shopping. A great place to walk. Excellent food at Mosaic bar and grill in hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear chin1ger,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and that you had a chance to dine at the Mosaic Bar & Grille and had an excellent experience. We hope that should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is very modern and chic, it's perfect if you like your creature comforts with clean lines and modern interiors. Rooms are spacious with lovely city views and beds are very comfortable.

Positives: Great central and lovely location with views over the city. Close to Burrard Skytrain station with links to the airport and other parts of Vancouver. Starbucks is in the lobby which is always handy as a quick breakfast/brunch stop. Bathrooms are very luxurious and well appointed. The lifts are very fast and organised, with you putting in your floor number and being directed to the right lift. Staff are incredibly friendly and there are two bars to choose from. The breakfast/dining room is beautiful and the food individually prepared and fresh. Overall a fantastic stay.

Negative: Very little really, the walls can be thin, so take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

It's one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at in North America.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible to avoid road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked with Hotwire and ended up staying here. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The location is perfect, you can walk anywhere Downtown, to English Bay, the Seawall, Stanley Park etc. very quickly and you are also close to the Burrard Skytrain station. We arrived very early on the day of our check in and were offered either baggage storage, since our room was not ready, or for a $20 upgrade we could check in right away to one of their pure hypo allergenic rooms, which we did. The room was roomy, very clean and had a comfy bed. We stayed one night and would definitely consider staying at the Hyatt again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

When I call to reserve 2 rooms at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, I specifically requested to borrow a wheelchair for my mom for the duration of our stays. I also called a day in advance to remind the hotel of my request. I was told that there are 2 wheelchairs available for guests to use in the "hotel facilities" only, it cannot be taken out of the hotel. If we would like to rent one, it's $25/day plus $30 delivery fee, I even showed the manager Christine of my mom's wheelchair permit, that didn't work. She was non-sympathetic! I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many 5 stars hotels and NO hoteliers ever asked me to pay to rent a wheelchair. They just lend it to me for the duration of my stay. I can understand if there was no wheelchair available. But there were 2 wheelchairs and there was someone with real need for a wheelchair, Christine told me that the wheelchairs were for emergency use only therefore cannot be lent out. Two wheelchairs were unoccupied meanwhile you have someone who has a need for a wheelchair cannot use it. The manager was heartless! All she can say was it's a company's policy. Have you ever heard of the exception to the rules? We are dealing with someone who is handicap and 2 wheelchairs available and unoccupied. I was very disappointed with the service and cancel my reservation for 2 rooms for 2 weeks immediately and took my business to The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver across the street. The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver lent me a wheelchair without any fees. It's too bad as your hotel lost one month worth of business from me (2 rooms X 14 days) over a wheelchair. More importantly, your hotel/manager do not have respect or sympathetic for those who truly needs your service. I'm very disappointed with the Hyatt Regency Vancouver's service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear LE AN H,

I would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the use of the wheelchairs at our hotel, and I apologize that when you first made your booking our wheelchair policy was not explained more clearly. We do have 2 wheelchairs in the hotel for short term guest use in case of emergency, and because of the limited number available we are unable to loan them out to guests long term. We are able to assist guests in arranging for wheelchair rentals for use during their stay, and from your review it appears as though we did offer to assist you in securing a wheelchair rental. We certainly want to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay while with us, and if you are planning to return to Vancouver please reach out to me directly at brandi.lasanen@hyatt.com so I can assist you with all of your arrangements for your stay.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited Vancouver for the first time and stayed at the Hyatt Regency which was a very classy hotel and in a great location. My wife and I were able to walk all over the city from the hotel and was able to eat at many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The Hop On Hop Off bus tour also stops at the Hyatt Regency which is perfect for viewing sights of the city. Their elevator system is amazing and reduces your wait time significantly. Try to get a room on a high floor for a better view of the city.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor for the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.