We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with many pros and only a few cons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Vancouver to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with many pros and only a few cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent three nights here after a cruise. This is a beautiful hotel, in a great location. Our room was large and comfortable with a nice view of the downtown skyline. The room had a large flatscreen TV, a safe, a coffeemaker, extra towels, and nice amenities as well as extra electrical outlets where we could recharge our phones and cameras.. They even provided an umbrella in the closet in case of rainy weather (which I guess is frequent).
The hop-on hop-off blue line trolley stopped here but had to walk to waterfront where the cruises depart (which was only about four blocks) to catch the red line, Be aware that there are other bus tours available (which the hotel concierge did not tell us about) which may offer bigger more comfortable vehicles and additional destinations. Also only a few blocks to Robson Street, where we spent a lot of time enjoying the restaurants and shopping. We also were able to walk to Gastown and Chinatown, but would suggest a taxi at night to those locations. We took a taxi from our cruise ship to the hotel, and the charge was only $5!!!
Our only complaint was that everytime we left the room, the room was really hot when we returned. We complained on the second day and they promptly sent an engineer who said the A/C has sensors that turn it off when no one is in the room!! Not sure if I would stay here in the summer for that reason; however, he tinkered with it, and we didn't have any more problems.
Loved the elevator system, and never had a wait for an elevator. Somehow our electronic keys both stopped working the night before our departure, which was annoying because we had to go back down to the front desk; however, they resolved the problem quickly.
We called the hotel at 8:00 am as soon as we disembarked from the ship and asked if it would be possible for an early checkin. We were amazed that they had a room ready for us an hour later when we arrived!!! I don't know if calling ahead helped, but highly recommend trying it as later in the afternoon, after 4:00 pm the lobby was crowded with people checking in all three days we were there, and we heard many complaining they had been waiting an hour.
Internet service was $10 per day; however, if you only need to print your boarding passes, you can print them for free in their business center. Also, a Starbucks is located in the lobby where you can use their internet for free. The restaurant and bar were both enjoyable, although a hamburger there at lunch was $16. There is an adjoining mall which has a McDonald's, a Tim Horton, and a Rexall Drug store as well as other stores, and Robson street with all its restaurants is only a couple of blocks away.
There was a SkyTrain stop next door but front desk said the one that went to the airport was a few blocks away so we took a taxi (about $40 with all our bags) which took about 30 minutes.

Overall, a great experience. Would have given it five stars except for the air conditioning and room key problem; however, any problems were quickly resolved and all staff we encountered were very friendly, pleasant, and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    644
    153
    44
    24
See reviews for
319
576
127
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. The rooms as well as elevator system is high tech/modern. Electronic keys for room...one of the two we had did not work. Could hear kids (we assume) running back and forth on floor above us first night. Second night you could hear everything going on in room next door, conversations, phone calls and phone rings. Seems more like a design issue than noisy room next door. Overall room was very nice, with nice views and location. Noise was definitely a negative for us. We parked in the garage under hotel on our weekend stay so rates weren't as bad as some reviewers paid. Overall I would only recommend to those who are heavy sleepers or if you bring ear plugs. I doubt I would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Always a good experience with this hotel. Great location, high quality rooms. Value for money is guaranteed. I tried others in the area over the last few years but always go back to this one or for a lower budget the Blue Horizon on Robson St.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location: The hotel's location is excellent; two blocks from Robson, a short walk to Gastown, four blocks to the art museum, and restaurants everywhere. Plus, all of the trolleys, shuttles, and local buses have stops at the hotel, so it was really easy to get around to various sites including Stanley Park, the Capilano Bridge, and Granville Island. In addition, a Skytrain stop is on the next block over.

Getting there: I arrived in Vancouver by ship, docked at Ballantine pier. The cab fare from there to the Hyatt was about $11.00. From the Hyatt to the airport, the fare was about $28.00, but I left really early in the morning when there was no traffic (all cabs are metered).

Hotel: The hotel was quite nice, with a large foyer that included plenty of comfortable seating plus a Starbucks, a cocktail lounge, and an entryway to an adjacent mall. I really liked how "high tech" the hotel was. I was on the 19th floor and it took me about 1 minute to go from my room to the lobby using their updated elevator system. Very cool.

Room: Again, very nice. The large room's design was what some would call spartan, but I would call stylistically clean. The room was equipped with automatic lights, an iPOD docking radio, and a large wall-mounted hi-def LG television. I liked the comfortable bed and linens, the granite-topped desk, large windows, and the curtains that curved, making the window area appear larger and the room less boxy. The bathroom was large and the bath amenities were nice (can't recall the maker). My very clean room looked out over Burrard Street with a view of the Christ Church Cathedral and a pretty park with architected waterfalls.

Staff: The hotel staff was really wonderful, from the front desk and concierge to the restaurant and housekeeping staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Other: I saw in a previous review that you had to pay extra for wifi. Well, yes, but there's a Starbucks in the lobby (yay!), which provided wifi for free, so it was no big deal to check my email and whatnot from there while sitting in a comfy chair with my cappucino and watching the cityfolk walk by on Burrard Street.

Overall impression: There are less expensive hotels that are also on the trolley and bus stops, but the location and ambiance of the Hyatt, to my mind, place it a notch above others. Highlly recommended.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, ask for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 333DDD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel! I am thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations, and that you found our team here at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others, and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time your travels bring you to Vancouver.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice place. Downtown, close to everything including subways and shuttles to Whistler, the suspension bridge, etc. Rooms are new, clean and styled well. Only thing is that I am not a fan of the rainmaker showers though, but this is not at all a big deal. Good service at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very well located, friendly staff and clean and functional rooms. if you are going to park, go straight to the underground parkade and pay your parking at the parking registers it will be cheaper than if you take the hotel deal (the front desk clerk will tell it to you too). Only slight problem i experienced was a very slow internet connexion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property back in December and loved it. For her birthday, I surprised her with a trip north to Vancouver and we again stayed at the Hyatt Regency. I was prepared to pay full price for parking, but on our way in the valet mentioned that we could self-park much cheaper if we just took a ticket and paid the weekend rate rather than paying through the hotel. $18 for a day in Vancouver was a steal! I had mentioned in our reservation that we were traveling for my wife's birthday but I didn't expect them to move mountains for us. They upgraded us to a balcony room on the highest floor, and when we went out for dinner a cake was sent up to our room!

Thank you so much for making my wife's birthday so special. You will certainly see us again soon at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Scott H,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us, and for coming back to see us again for a second visit! I am happy to hear that your wife had an enjoyable birthday trip, and we certainly look forward to your next visit to our hotel!

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.