We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Vancouver to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights during the New Year Holiday, and it was such a great stay! The hotel has a very modern look and is well maintained. The room is very spacious, super clean and shiny, and the beds are very comfortable. We really loved the smart and cool elevators. The hotel is in the heart of the city, and it is so convenient for everything! We stayed on the 21st floor, and the street view at night was terrific! Starbucks, 24-hour Tim Hortons and McDonald are just downstairs, and the SkyTrain station is right beside the hotel. The staff were very friendly, especially Andrew at the front desk who helped us check in. He helped us get free WIFI in our room, gave us a coupon book and free bottle water, and taught my son how to use the smart elevator. This is the best hotel I have stayed so far, and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    645
    153
    44
    24
See reviews for
321
576
127
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver with my family of five and my mother. The hotel was able to provide 3 rooms with connecting doors which was perfect for our sleeping arrangement. The service was overall very pleasant with the concierge staff deserving a special mention for going out of their way to provide us with information and calling around to local shops for a specific item that we were after. There is a Starbucks in the lobby (one of the many, many Starbucks in Vancouver) and a Horton's across the road which is handy for a quick breakfast on the way out. The Hyatt is located close to Pacific Center and other shopping malls in downtown Vancouver. After our stay, we went to Whistler and the Pacific Coast Line bus stops right in front of the hotel so that you don't have to drag your baggage around town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a really nice room and package for New Years Eve. We also booked dinner at a nearby italian restaurant. We had only been at the hotel for about 4 hours, when my husband started feeling sick and continued to be...for quite a while.I called the front desk to let them know that I would be taking him to the hospital and would be checking out.

Here is the part that infuriates me.....they still made us pay half the price of the package...which included breakfast too. I asked why we would not just be charged a room cleaning fee and they still made us pay for half plus tax...

We really wanted to return...but after the way they handled the situation...we are quite hesitant.

Coming from a hotel background myself, I was disgusted how they delt with our situation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear lisamariefo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the way the situation was handled, and we also hope that your husband is feeling better. I understand that our Front Office Manager has been in contact with you via email regarding your experience. This is certainly not the type of service that we strive to offer at our hotel, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to give you the experience that one can expect as guests of our hotel. I would like to ask if you would contact me directly at brandi.lasanen@hyatt.com when you are thinking of staying in Vancouver as I would be happy to assist with setting up your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonavista, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week while attending a conference in Vancouver. Hotel is well-situated within the city and close to all amenities- shopping, restaurants, boardwalk/sea front, etc. Modern decor and well-maintained hotel and rooms. Modern and clean bathroom. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice room with all upscale amenities. The beds are comfortable. The elevator system needs time to get used to. At first, the system seems annoying as you have to register the floor you need to go to and you cannot hop onto any elevator that opens the door. However, once you are familiar with the system, it makes sense and perhaps might even be more efficient. The wait for elevator could be daunting when the hotel hosts any conventions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver (December 7th to 9th) with my Fiancée for the weekend. It was our first trip to Vancouver and it was amazing. We upgraded our room to the higher floors as they had great views of the mountains. Although we did not spend that much time in the room it was nice, modern and very clean. What is also great about the location is the Tim Hortons and McDonalds is located so close to the hotel that getting breakfast before our excursions to Whistler and around Vancouver was a breeze.

The elevators were pretty cool you have to choose your floor before getting on the elevator on a touchpad. Overall, the lobby was decorated really nice for Christmas and had access to the adjoining shopping centre. The hotel felt safe and was very clean.

The only negative feedback I would give would be in relation to the parking fees. Coming from Toronto we thought the parking could not cost more, but yet it did. We paid about 38 dollars a night for parking. You get around with public transportation and save on the parking but if you wanted to have a car to do some exploring be prepared to pay the fees.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear AK-TDot

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you had an amazing first trip to Vancouver and that you enjoyed your time in our hotel.

We hope the next time your travels bring you to Vancouver, we can welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just here for 1 night, but a great night it was. Lovely Hyatt. Rooms are large and well equipped. Higher floors have good views of the water and mountains.

The Regency Club was closed (it was a Saturday/Sunday), so complimentary breakfast was provided in the restaurant.

We took a taxi to/from the airport - around $30, so not too expensive.

We went drinking at Alibi over in Gastown, about a 15 min walk away. Fantastic gastro pub with a great beer choice and good food.

Room Tip: Aim for a high room, as some good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.