We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel; great location, poor up keep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moda Hotel to your Saves list
Moda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel; great location, poor up keep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on some of the pictures we'd seen of the rooms. We ended up being in the tiniest hotel room I have ever seen, with a tiny double bed. I'm not sure how this happened, as the room next door to ours seemed to be huge! We also found the reception staff to be difficult to get along with, however, when our air conditioning broke they did manage to sort it out extremely promptly. The housekeeping staff at this hotel were a little slack; on many occasions during our week long stay they only half made the bed, and I don't think we ever got clean towels. Once we left the air conditioning on max (it was very hot when we were there), when we arrived home late at night it had been switched off! There aren't many floors to this hotel, so there was quite a lot of traffic noise (we were on the top floor). I would recommend asking for a room on the Smithe Street side as it's probably quieter. The plus side of this hotel is its absolutely fantastic location, you can walk anywhere in downtown Vancouver!

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a room on the Smithe Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    222
    120
    44
    35
See reviews for
41
237
62
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for five days because we found a great hotel+flight deal, this place was better than expected. The location is in walking distance to everything!!! There's a starbucks on one end, a Tim Hortons on the other, city centre is a few blocks up, and you can catch buses and cabs nearby. As for the room itself, it's a small cozy tv with a small bathroom. As others have said before, the walls are a bit thin and you are on a busy street. If you are one of those who needs complete silence to sleep, probably not the place for you. It's attached to a bar next door that serves some pretty unique drinks. Some of their cocktails have raw egg in them. Internet works perfectly fine here, in the room and in the business center. No problems printing boarding passes and directions to places. Finally, staff was great and helpful. Elevator was old and slow, so keep that in mind as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Moda has aspirations to be a boutique hotel, and succeeds partially, but either due to lack of funds or choice of building doesn't get there 100%. The staff are super-friendly & helpful, the beds very comfortable, the rooms a good size and well equipped - all in all it is a good package. However, the walls are a bit thin, and you can hear the plumbing.
Excellent bars and restaurants available onsite - they have all won awards over the years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Moda several times now. Generally something happens each visit but the staff are very good about fixing it or adjusting your rate. I love the history of this old building and the location. Plus you can come and go as you please and not deal with stuffy hotel staff. The rooms are small but functional. It could definitely up its game a bit, but then it wouldn't be the Moda- lol!

Room Tip: Ear plugs and your own pillow are good options. Also - pack light as you have to park a bit of a way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Moda Hotel has an excellent location and a fine restaurant and provides a good value. In particular, I'm happy to report that when I had an issue with my hotel room the first night the staff provided me and my wife with a new and larger room and comped the first night to boot, which I wasn't expecting. As a small business owner myself, this to me is the mark of a well-trained staff and a business that is focused on its reputation and its customers' experience.

Although our first room was small and lacking in some basic amenities, the one we were given was spacious and attractive, including the bathroom. So you might want to inquire when making reservations about room size. The only other issue to raise involves the style of the hotel, which is more along "boutique" lines. If you're the sort of traveler who needs the grand lobby and lots of services this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Inquire about room size when making reservations. The small rooms are really small and not terribly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night back in March and enjoyed the location of this hotel in the city, close to shops and a great dog park just down the block.

Staff were very helpful and the decor in the bedroom itself was fine although the bathroom was small and was in need of a touch up.

Only point - as a pet friendly hotel it would be great to offer a pet amenity - even if it's just a dog treat and a poop bag.

However, I would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We tried the Moda as a reasonably-priced choice. It's an old building and not everything has been updated, but the important things were fine. Bed was a bit hard for my taste, but the place was clean and did NOT have that nasty "hotel sanitizer" smell. Wifi was good enough. The shower was very weak but the bathroom had space for two people's stuff. The air conditioner was odd but worked well enough (and had no rattles or weird noises). Our room was an inside corner on the back, so fairly quiet. We also appreciated the nice touches, like real glasses, extra towel space, double windows added for sound, roller blinds. And the staff was universally pleasant and helpful! Better than many places I've stayed in NYC for twice the price. Judging by some other reviews, I guess some rooms are better than others...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.