We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Boutique Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
cringer1124
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overrated Boutique Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The restaurant downstairs was delicious and the bar was nice, but the hotel is really lacking. The rooms are tiny and the overall theme of the hotel is "dingy contemporary." Their website is very misleading, as the pictures must have been taken when they first remodeled. The lobby floor is chipped and worn and those fun looking chairs are stained and ripped. The bedspreads are faded, carpet dirty, and shower moldy. No fitness center, but they'll "give you a pass to walk down the street to a gym." An OK place if you are only around for a night or two. I actually left early and moved to different hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd or 4th floor to avoid the noise from the bar and restaurant Ask for an interior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    192
    102
    40
    29
See reviews for
35
199
51
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked a screaming deal online ($76 per night) and weren't looking for anything fancy. We went to the Canucks game so wanted to be able to walk. The only drawback to this older hotel was that you could hear a the street noise from the 3rd floor. The room worked in a pinch but it wouldn't be my suggestion if you were to spend much time in the room or were planning on sleeping in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great hotel with a great location. Walking distance to Stanely park and Grandville island. Staff was really friendly, rooms were clean and up to date. Very happy with our stay. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cliches often defeat prose when writing reviews. It's easy to lapse into the ever available, "and the people were so nice," rather than discerning what precisely fuelled that "nice-ness."

So let this be a cliche free zone, and the extraordinary folks at the Moda Hotel deserve this consideration.

A fierce winter storm delayed my arrival by a day; it also delayed my luggage by almost four days. The entire staff was kind, considerate, caring and compassionate from the moment I entered the hotel with a brief case, appreciating my 80 hours of travel on four hour's sleep.

A manager offered me one room, then when I asked for something further away from outdoor infrastructure, he took me to another room. (Both were lovely).

But spontaneously I was upgraded to a beautiful suite (across the road) which shimmered in elegance. It was a generous act, as I am sure the room was worth more than my daily rate (via Hotels.com - see horror story).

The hotel also owns a top ranked Italian restaurant (cited in Vancouver top ten lists), a wine bar and sports bar. Everything has a warm European charm. The restaurant staff were very knowledge foodies, very attentive (even though the place was packed: as a single traveller, one distinction of a great place is when you receive as much attentive as a table of six high spenders). The food itself superb, beautifully presented.

As days passed before luggage arrived, staff regularly checked with me to ask how they might help. They all seemed to know, people because one gent had the same navy blue suit on for days straight...

But in an age where cutesy scripts, robotic check ins, artificial smiles and superficial interactions drive process improvement and customer experience (but often not relationships), this hotel has a rare magic to it, a warmth, a caring, beyond the superficial, that is hard to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were taking in the Celtic Festival so this location was great. We parked the car (in their lot across the street, at a reasonable rate) and walked everywhere. Our 2 night stay was great. Really enjoyed the character of this restored building. It IS downtown, so as we were forewarned, we heard traffic and sirens. Welcome to the big city. :-) Queen bed was comfortable and the room was not large but was an adequate size as we were there mainly to be out and about. Make sure to take them up on the free pizza and pint at the Red Card sports bar. Excellent hand made pizza, especially the fungi one (mushroom that is)!

Room Tip: Top (fourth) floor has maximum height above street noise, and also is at the top of the stairway, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Moda Hotel is a great place to stay when in Vancouver. The hotel holds onto its original charm while providing the modern essentials in the rooms. Although the room I stayed in (Deluxe Queen) was well appointed, it did feel small on first impressions but it did the job at hand, because there is plenty to do around the hotel and in greater Vancouver you shouldn't spend much time in the rooms anyway. The hotel is perfectly situated only a couple of blocks walk from the Vancouver City Centre Canada Line Station but is set back from the Granville Street night time bustle so you do get a good nights sleep while staying close to quality public transport and night scene areas. A place I would stay at again and recommend to visitors to Vancouver. Thanks for a great stay Moda Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a mini bar and some eating utensils with your room booking as not all rooms have them. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your stay with Moda Hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was memorable and pleasant. We hope to welcome you back on your next travels to Vancouver.

Best Wishes,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Moda because it was within a respectable walking distance of the Queen Elizabeth Theatre where we were attending a seminar. It's a character building, only three stories tall. What it lacks in stature it makes up for in charm. The rooms are well appointed (we had a Superior Double). Even though our room faced out onto Seymour, the double paned windows helped to block most of the noise from the street. The UVA Wine Bar, at street level, is an intimate space great for meeting people before dinner for drinks. Don't want to go far for a bite to eat? Cibo Trattoria is accessible from the lobby. We didn't eat there, but understand they have an award winning chef. With Granville and Robson streets a short walk away, you are literally at the heart of the action whether it's shopping or entertainment.

Room Tip: Very close to Granville and Robson Streets for shopping and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.