We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vancouver visit in style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moda Hotel to your Saves list
Moda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Vancouver visit in style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Like many others, this was our stop in Vancouver back to Seattle from the slopes. The hotel is redone in all the right ways with some of the 100 year old stuff in tact. Our room was a very spacious suite, with sliding glass doors to separate the living room and bedroom. Gorgeous bathroom with recessed lighting under the sinks, modern tub and rain shower. The location of the hotel is very conveniently located to all the attractions but affordably priced.

FYI - we checked out of the hotel and then went out to lunch, came back to realize that our key was deactivated and couldn't get the car out and had to go back to the lobby to reset the key.

Room Tip: Suites are much larger than a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to Moda hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    213
    112
    43
    30
See reviews for
41
224
55
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta,British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Booked the Moda Hotel for a girls weekend getaway. Upon arrival we dropped our bags in the lobby and were told to proceed across the street and go to the top of the parkade where our key would unlock a gate and our vehicles would be safe. OOOOOOOH NO!! Not So! The drivers side window on 3 vehicles were shattered overnight and items stolen from the cars. Not safe, not secure!
Our hotel rooms were nice though, modern, comfy, remodeled bathroom and a clean place to lay your head. Easy access around the downtown area as well. We also received a voucher for $10.00 off breakfast in the restaurant....NOT so good. No refills on coffee, presentation was really lacking. My fritata was on the plate, no garnish, no splash, no thrills. We had dinner in the Cebo restaurant which was also attached to the lobby...again not great. Go somewhere else as there are so many restaurants to choose from downtown. We went because of the convinience...a $5.oo cab ride would have taken us somewhere memorable. So if you are just looking for a descent place to sleep...the Moda is good bang for the buck, but don't be sucked in to the breakfast, parking, or dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We thank you for staying at Moda hotel and we are disappointed that your car was broeken into. Unfortunately, these distateful incidents happen and can happen anywhere, and you certainly want to remove all your belongings from your car as common sense dictates. Anywhere in the city, in the parking lots, there are disclaimers just for that reason. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel in general. In terms of refilling the coffee, Uva by day is not a diner and Cibo restaurant has been ranked #1 on EnRoute Magazine as the best restaurant in Canada, and Chef Neil Taylor has been trained by Jamie Oliver, nevertheless, we are sorry that you were dissappointed with your experience.

All the best,
Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

The service here is great, we were walked to the parkade, given visual instructions on how to open the gate and then were walked to our room to ensure we had no problems with our keys! The hotel was perfect walking distance to rogers arena! The room was clean, warm and private. The hotel, room and service were great! Definitely staying at The Moda on our next trip to Vancouver!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for staying at Moda and we are very happy that you enjoyed our friendly service, location, and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Moda Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

This was the 3rd time I've stayed at the Moda Hotel. They never disappoint.

The location is perfect, close to downtown and Robson St and only a half hour walk to all the great shopping over at W 4th.

Staff are friendly and helpful and always let me store my bags for the day after checkout before the midnight flight home.

Great breakfast in Uva with a free $10 voucher.

I will continue to stay at Moda each year on my way home from the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and we love welcoming you back, and very happy that you continue to enjoy our service, hotel and location. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warmest regards,

Your friends at Moda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

We chose the place because we were attending a symphony at the orpheum and we couldn't believe how lucky we got--the hotel is RIGHT across from the theatre, and was quite affordable compared to other hotels near the area. The room itself was very, very clean, and we were kindly greeted each time we entered or left the hotel.
Would definitely go back again if we wanted to explore Vancouver some more.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with Moda and very glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loreto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I found my way to the Hotel Moda via a price-based internet search. In town for a conference and only needing a comfortable, downtown place to drop my head, my expectations were not very high but the Hotel Moda is my new, favourite Vancouver Hotel.

Freshly done up it is clean, fresh and charming and even has comfortable beds.

It was only a lack of room service that prevented me from giving it an EXCELLENT review but you won't be disappointed if you want great value - Hotel Moda has it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Moda hotel.

Best regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at Moda hotel on January for several days. The hotel is located in between Downtown and Yaletown, which is a trendy area full of bars an restaurants. There are several restaurants and small groceries store at a walkable distance. And also you can be at Gastown in a 10-15minutes walk.

For what you pay for the room is ok. The rooms are tiny, but i really dont need more space. It has thin walls, but anything that dont let me sleep. I asked for a room at a top floor for avoid the noise of the street.

Room Tip: Rooms at top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.