We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, fun boutique motel-gone hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burrard

Save Saved
You added The Burrard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Burrard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
It's bike season!
Ranked #36 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Black Creek, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Funky, fun boutique motel-gone hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've just booked my sixth stay at The Burrard. I particularly enjoyed all of the little touches that made me smile on my previous visits. I found the staff very accommodating and friendly. The "perks" that come along with your stay are worth taking advantage of. I had a fantastic day out with one of the bicycles available and enjoyed a good soak in the immaculately clean bathroom afterward. The free long distance calling was a welcome surprise. I have stayed in a "Queen Plus" room each time with window facing the courtyard and have found it to be quiet and relaxing - particularly after a late night (or early morning) out on the town. The location is ideal for exploring the city and stumbling distance from some great nightlife. I look forward to my occasional visits to Vancouver even more thanks to The Burrard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    197
    44
    27
    10
See reviews for
54
222
73
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient downtown location. It is clean, has nice amenities, and reasonable rates. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rates are reasonable given its location. Restaurants and other attractions are nearby. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Booked one night stay at this nice hotel for next day's early body examination at the hospital across the street. I was impressed how new and clean this hotel is.

Just totally renovated in 2011, the room has an simple urban style. Lots storage space even though it`s not a large room. The clean bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows have the right firmness which is rare to see at other hotels.

Bathroom has a right size, just the sink is kinda small. The showerhead has a perfect flow made the shower enjoyable.

The amenties are good: 2 free bottled water, new fancy flavoured expresso machine, 42" LG LED TV, free in room WiFi, free bike rental..... etc. It was quiet at night even though it`s on a main traffic street.

The only down side is the sunlight can go through the thin curtain , makes late raisers might feel hard to fall asleep without an eye cover.

It has a beautiful courtyard garden with tables and chairs, very relaxing feel.....

I would high recommand this wonderful hotel for single or couples travallers.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the sides or back of the building would be quieter than the ones facing the big str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is at a great location and between the good business area for shopping and the drinking area for the locals.

This hotel was not as expensive as i would have expected for the area and, although the hotel is basic, this meets all the needs. I was particularly impressed with the complimentary water, free local calls within North America and Canada, an Nespresso machine and a great and enormous size room.

The staff were a great asset and so friendly to giving me the local knowledge, especially grateful for a tourist from the UK.

I would certainly stay here again.

Thank you for a great time!

Room Tip: City facing room is a nice view to the city, but also to the road, although i was NOT kept awake by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I really liked this hotel. My room was large, quiet and comfortable. The courtyard was an oasis in a big city. The hotel bicycle was free and it was trouble free. The location was perfect; it's close to everything. The downside was that I had to wait until exactly three o'clock until my room was ready. I found the desk staff somewhat aloof (two grumpy old guys), but housekeeping and the baristas were great. And the kid who got me my bicycle was cheerful and informative. He even sketched out a route through Stanley Park for me and it was spot on. (He should be behind the front desk and put the old guys in the garage!) Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I think it was a decent value. I would stay at The Burrard again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A better description is a motel and not an "inn". There are no amenities here, rooms are outdoor entry motel style. Structurally this place has not changed since I stayed here 20 years ago. The difference is fresh paint in the rooms and "new"er furnishings. The bathroom is the biggest issue - as there is ZERO counter space to put a shaving case or much of anything else. It is sterile with white tiles of a vingatge right out of a 1940 operting room. One very small dimly lit light fixtures provides what must be 30 watts of light....the same poor lighting is in the bedroom as well making reading impossible. With the room so dark it did not feel clean. The bed was comfortable, the pillows to stuffed with material and uncomfortable. The windows needed to be open for ventilation as they fog constantly, particularly when it rains (constantly when I was there). You can hear conversations from an adjoining room. There is construction presently going on behind the building so very noisy in the morning. Front staff (the lot of them) seemed immersed on web-surfing...as they look disinterested when guests come and go. I would not stay here again. Better rooms and experience can be found more central for the same money or a little more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here instead of Sheraton next door for a conference. Cute central location, quiet modern hotel, small but clean rooms. Free wifi. Water. Calling to Canada and US. Staff always accommodating and ready to give advice on anything. 24 hr great coffee shop downstairs. Definitely worth it for the price!
As a side note- this was probably a motel in its past life but with all of the remodeling you can't tell and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#40 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burrard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.