We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Burrard is a Motel not an Inn nor a Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Burrard to your Saves list
The Burrard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“The Burrard is a Motel not an Inn nor a Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A better description is a motel and not an "inn". There are no amenities here, rooms are outdoor entry motel style. Structurally this place has not changed since I stayed here 20 years ago. The difference is fresh paint in the rooms and "new"er furnishings. The bathroom is the biggest issue - as there is ZERO counter space to put a shaving case or much of anything else. It is sterile with white tiles of a vingatge right out of a 1940 operting room. One very small dimly lit light fixtures provides what must be 30 watts of light....the same poor lighting is in the bedroom as well making reading impossible. With the room so dark it did not feel clean. The bed was comfortable, the pillows to stuffed with material and uncomfortable. The windows needed to be open for ventilation as they fog constantly, particularly when it rains (constantly when I was there). You can hear conversations from an adjoining room. There is construction presently going on behind the building so very noisy in the morning. Front staff (the lot of them) seemed immersed on web-surfing...as they look disinterested when guests come and go. I would not stay here again. Better rooms and experience can be found more central for the same money or a little more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    277
    71
    32
    20
See reviews for
82
297
100
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here instead of Sheraton next door for a conference. Cute central location, quiet modern hotel, small but clean rooms. Free wifi. Water. Calling to Canada and US. Staff always accommodating and ready to give advice on anything. 24 hr great coffee shop downstairs. Definitely worth it for the price!
As a side note- this was probably a motel in its past life but with all of the remodeling you can't tell and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at The Burrard for two nights in early October and very much enjoyed it. Front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. Upon my arrival, there was a mistake with my reservations but it was taken care of immediately.

I enjoyed the room and the amenities. The nespresso machine in the room is a fantastic idea (I used it twice daily). I appreciated the free wifi and the flat screen TV, I ended up hurting my knee and spent more time in my room than I had anticipated.

The hotel has tons of character, the courtyard looked very welcoming unfortunately it was pouring rain and couldn't enjoy it. They had someone playing music on the Saturday night which I found to be quite nice.

The only downside for me was the bathroom. I found the sink to be too small, I couldn't wash my face without splattering water everywhere. My room didn't have a bathtub, only a shower which was disappointing for me. I also had the maid walk into my room without knocking first, although she did apologize. I have had this happen numerous times at other hotels too so I always lock my door with a chain link, but the room I was in did not have one.

I recommend this hotel and would go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is my first Tripadvisor review, but I have friends who do this frequently. The Burrard was a very good place to stay. It is 'lean' in the design and accessories, ( I rather expected a bit more of a boutique feeling - it is, in fact, just a cleverly renovated moterlodge), but it does not really 'over sell' itself on the website. The Blenz cafe adjacent to the Lobby is very convenient (open 24/7) with excellent cinnamon buns and coffee. The hotel staff were great but they need to figure out a way to contact guests in the room if the Do Not Disturb sign is on the door. My friends tried to contact me and were told they could only leave a message at the desk and hopefully I would pick it up - there is no message option on the mobile phone in the room. The bathrooms are small (pealing ceiling paint) and there is no vanity, only a very small sink. Otherwise, The Burrard is convenient and worth the money.

Room Tip: Twin bed rooms are a lot bigger than the regular ones. Rooms around the courtyard (off of Burrard S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A three night stay, very clean, motel style, different in style to any other hotel but non the worse for that. It has a central courtyard with seating area and palm trees which most of the rooms look out onto.
Our room was at the rear, a front room may have been a bit noisy with the traffic and the ambulances arriving at the hospital which is immediately opposite but we had no issues with it.
The location is spot on for tourists, being downtown and within easy walking distance of the two Canada line stations from the airport, together with all the other tourist attractions.
One of the best points from our point of view was the free cycle hire offered on a first come, first served basis. They were retro style cycles offered with helmets and locks, great for a trip round Stanley park and there are plenty of segregated cycle lanes on the main roads so no conflict with the city traffic.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
If we were to return to Vancouver we would certainly stay here again, need I say more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The Burrard was a motel from the 1960s and renovated in 2011 to modern standard. I found this on Tablet hotels and trusted their selection, it's clean modern facility with a retro look in downtown. The only issues were that the bathrooms lacked storage for my toiletries and I spotted a water bottle cap and dust in between the cracks next to the bed. overall,I would stay again and loved that they provide passes to a nearby full service gym.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love the fact that this wasn't a boring old Travelodge, a bland Holiday Inn, a personality-less Ramada. It's cool, quirky and unique. Loved it! I used the free bike rentalservice which was great. the Blenz coffee shop was a bit on the blase side of things and could have been a lot cooler, but certainly not a deal braker.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burrard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.