We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Staff! Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Robson Street | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rates
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Staff! Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It is great value for money! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel looks a little dated but you get a great view of the bay and there are great restaurants just across the road. Highly recommend the Chinese restaurant Chongqing next to the Samsonite store. There is also Breka on the corner of Bute and Robson Street which is a fantastic 24 hour bakery! Would definitely stay in Blue Horizon again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    667
    95
    24
    25
See reviews for
302
695
112
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bcchik
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Maybe it's because I insulted the person at check-in by commenting that the hotel wasn't my first choice, but I think I must have been given the worst room in the hotel. When I stepped out of the elevator, I was facing directly at my room door. My coworker was gicen a room with a bit of a water view, while mine faced the noisy street. I saw rooftops and parking lots. The standard room is very basic - no mini-fridge, no bottled water, no ipod docking, etc. At least it was clean and somewhat newly decorated. Despite my initial interaction, the staff were friendly (but then, when aren't they, since they live off tips?). It was cheap, though, so I guess I can't complain too much. If I wanted all the frills, I could have paid the extra and stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't face Robson Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear bccik,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased you found our hotel to have friendly staff, good location, clean rooms and great value.

We wish we had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you while you were here.

Our February order for iPod docking stations / radios has recently arrived and we are busy programming the devices and placing them in our guest rooms, this will be complete by mid-May. All of our guest rooms have amenities such as fluffy bathrobes, in-room safe large enough for a lap top computer, movies on demand, Keurig coffee brewer, kettle and a mini fridge discretely located in a cupboard under the coffee station. All guestrooms have double glazed windows to neutralize the outside city sounds.

Each floor has only eight guestrooms, so no long corridors from the elevators. All of our rooms are corner rooms with a balcony and windows on two walls. While our standard rooms are on lower floors, our superior rooms offer fabulous city, water or mountain views for only a few dollars more - great value.

Our friendly Guest Service Agents are ready and willing to answer any questions or concerns and to assure our guests an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We chose the Blue Horizon on trip advisor based on price and rating. We were more than impressed with our stay. We were there for one night and our room was great. The rooms are large and had windows on one and a half walls. There was a small balcony where we could go out and see the city. It is in the best part of town and close to everything. It is not a chain hotel so we were a little skeptical but once we went through the city we realized the usual hotels were in bad parts of town. I would stay here the next time I go to Vancouver. The only downfall to this hotel was parking with a large vehicle. We had a GMC Yukon and it didn't quite fit in the parking garage. If you stay here you will be close to shopping, food and the convention center. The Bellman Oliver was awesome also! He helped us with our bags and then made sure they were stored and secure until we returned. He was very personable and so willing to help. The elevator has funny pictures of an old lady also.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently had the extreme pleasure of spending one week at this hotel for a very busy business trip. When you arrive at this hotel you will be greeted by smiling front-desk staff. The front-desk manager Paul is such a caring man, it is so evident he genuinely loves his work and is so suited to his chosen profession. An amazing group of people are working for the Blue Horizon Hotel! I was very early arriving due to my flight time, and they not only stored my bags, but moved my check in time up without hesitation. I had chosen the location of this hotel due to it's close proximity to first-class shopping, restaurants, grocery, entertainment...and most importantly for my stay the convention centre at the waterfront was a short walk....Traveling for business or pleasure, I prefer a location in an area such as this versus staying at a convention centre hotel, because a city centre location offers the city at your doorstep without the need for a car. When I checked into my room, I was absolutely stunned...It was on the 20th floor facing the harbour and I have no words to describe how beautiful the view was...the sun coming up in the morning, and the sun setting at night...just breathtaking. The amount of windows in my room and the walkout balcony made this room one that I actually hated leaving everyday!! Not to mention I was genuinely saddened leaving the hotel when my week was complete. The food and beverage staff are equally as fantastic as the front-desk staff. They are friendly, caring, prompt and efficient. I have absolutely nothing to complain about regarding the restaurant, and I am really a tough critic. The food that I ordered was terrific and the location of the restaurant offers inside and outside (patio) dining and a great feel for Robson Street and the entire Vancouver experience. I cannot comment too much from first-hand experience regarding the housekeeping staff as I try to conserve environmental resources particularly during hotel stays. So I did not use the housekeeping services at all during my stay other than to request a couple of supplies, which were delivered very promptly by another smiling staff member. I cannot wait to return to the Blue Horizon Hotel, and next time I am hoping it will be a pleasure only trip so that I can have the opportunity to experience all that Vancouver and this amazing hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: A room or suite on a higher floor will offer you amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Wonderful hotel, great location, good value and friendly service. Free shuttle in front to Capilano Suspension Bridge. The room was very spacious but the bathroom was small (although bigger than many places we've stayed).

Negatives
Not enough lighting (ceiling).
Parking is an additional charge ($16/day) in a small lot with tight spaces.

Suggestions
Need curved shower rods.
A throw blanket for sitting in the chair.

If we were ever to return to Vancouver, we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Located in the centre of the main commercial street in Vancouver, the Blue Horizon is convenient to many attractions. An avid walker, I enjoy the easy access to the waterside and Stanley Park. The hotel has rather small elevators and narrow corridors, but more than makes up for that with the spacious rooms. I've stayed there several times and every room I've been in has nice views, including balconies. The rooms are nicely furnished and kept very clean.

Meeting rooms on the top floor have spectacular views and are well equipped, though the last one we used never got warm on an early spring day, even though we had pushed the thermostat up as high as it would go,

Staff are very responsive to any request for help I've ever made. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I found this hotel and my family was delighted! The room was spacious with two comfortable queen beds, Keurig coffee maker and mini fridge. It was very clean and comfortable. I couldn't believe how affordable this beautiful hotel was! It was a better deal than hotels in Washington during our spring break, which worked out great because restaurants are a bit pricier in Vancouver. We were right on Robson street and enjoyed walking up and down the street anytime of day. There was an abundance of great restaurants and shopping right around the hotel. It was hustle/bustle, but we felt perfectly safe and comfortable. Everyone is so polite and nice! Park your car in the hotel's parking garage and walk! It was great.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor, included a balcony! What a view of the city! Very quiet room and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson Street | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.