We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night of luxury for reasonable cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Robson Street | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rates
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Night of luxury for reasonable cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was our night of luxury on a budget holiday and didn't disappoint. Got rooms on the 22nd floor with excellent views of the mountains, downtown and ships. Underground car park on site which was available to us until 3pm allowing us to leave car after check out to explore downtown. Very good sized rooms, quality finishes (nice curtains for those of you who like that sort of thing). With the poor exchange rate we paid c£100 for the night which seemed pricey, however when compared to others of similar rating it's about average. One of only two hotels that didn't provide complimentary continental breakfast (the two most expensive!). The only small downside was that the lady on reception wasn't dressed smartly, didn't match the quality/price of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    667
    95
    24
    25
See reviews for
302
695
111
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, U.K.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I first booked this hotel when trying to keep costs down for a work trip to Vancouver, and it was a very good decision indeed! The hotel itself is right on Robson St, so it's literally in the heart of the city making it easy to get to the convention centre, train station or anywhere in the centre on foot, plus there are bus stops all along the road to take you to places further away.

The room itself was large, clean and well-maintained and had good tea/coffee facilities in the room. While there is a restaurant in the hotel, I only used this for breakfast (tasty)although there is a REALLY good cafe just across the road which does great fresh pastries, coffees, juices and sandwiches etc.

This is built as a sort of skyscraper so you don't have access to endless communal facilities, but free internet was a plus. I thought this was great for finding somewhere safe, modern, clean and central to sleep, and still being in the heart of all the action. I have been to this hotel twice and would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - even better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a two night stay at the blue horizons after much debate and researching other similar hotels in the area. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms; less than impressed with the ikea style decor and furniture in the room. The drawers that the tv sat on did not open and the bed could have been mistaken for a sheet of plywood, house keeping explained the beds were "firm" which did not describe the reality of the situation. Also upon check in the front desk informed us of a pool and hot tub located on the second level... We were appalled at what saw. The pool and sauna had to be from the 60s and there was a prehistoric tredmill located in the corner.

On a good note the staff was welcoming and always eager to help. The front desk tried to make out stay as comfortable as possible and the bellman were very knowledgable of the area and activities. Though the staff was great we will not return and instead stick to the chains.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located on Robson St, about a 10 min walk from a train station that can take you to/from YVR airport. It was a about a 15 min walk to the Vancouver Convention Center. The hotel is a skyscraper with only eight rooms per floor. Each room has a balcony and you can get great views of the city from them.

The hotel and room were clean and overall quiet (it depends on who your nextdoor neighbors are). It had free Internet; the ethernet connection worked fairly well (they provide a cable), not so the wifi. The room had a flat screen TV and a coffee maker + free coffee. All the furniture and other appliances were in good working order and good shape. I didn't get to interact much with the front desk but they were nice and helpful when I spoke with them.

Room Tip: Best views on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge Ca
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

There were 10 of our friends and family that went on a cruise together and the last stop was Vancover so we decided to spend an extra 2 days there. We stayed on the 17th floor with a beautiful view of the city. The rooms are hugh and the bed and pillows were so comfortable. You get a small frig, coffee, iron, blow dryer and a safe. The only weird thing we had in the room is the TV was on a small dresser and we didn't realize if the drawer wasn't left about a half an inch open the TV would go out. The location of the hotel is fabulous you are right in the middle of everything from great shopping to restaurants. The best restaurant we ate at was right in the hotel. Also tour buses stop right in front of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again. Some of the staff at the front desk were very nice but a few didn't seem to know much about the city or even when the restaurant opened in the morning when we asked but it was just a minor annoyance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our 5th visit in about as many years still shows this hotel as the best all around. Perfectly located within walking distance of virtually everything worth seeing, shopping and dining. (Including a huge new liquor store now just around the corner.

Some people at the hotel deserve special mentioning as they do make your stay as enjoyable as possible: The General Manager, Dannette Kynoch, runs a great show from the professional reception, even with some men (some smiles could make it perfect) to the large, clean, airy rooms, almost suites. Dee Montero, the Reservations Coordinator, who has done a great job over all those years to get us the room we like best to Loretta, the Maid, who greeted us by saying, "I missed you last year." And the year before she remembered us even with the room we had stayed in. Wow. A great staff. A sign of a well-run operation.

The only suggestion: The entrance hall would benefit from some re-doing.

Can highly recommend the hotel. Will go there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very big rooms with balcony and OK views. However, hotel seriously needs updating - corridors are from the 1970s and there is an odd smell throughout the place that you can't describe. Rooms are comfortable although we were woken up early one day with very noisy demolition works going on next door. The internet was not easy to work so gave up and had to use nearby Starbucks

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson Street | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.