We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus, Vancouver, Canada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #37 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Best Western Plus, Vancouver, Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Good downtown Vancouver location at a reasonable price. Well kept and clean, comfy bed, good internet and TV, comfortable room temp., nice shower with lots of hot water. Quiet room. Optional bike use available (complimentary).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Helen B from Vernon, Canada,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Vancouver. I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. I am happy to learn that your enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and Vancouver soon.

Sincerely,

Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    296
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
117
243
57
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel and our room was clean and quiet, which are my biggest concerns in a hotel. That said, the Internet access was below what I expect in a hotel and would impact my decision to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mark M of Victoria, Canada,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your time in Vancouver. I am delighted that you found our hotel and guest rooms to be clean and quiet. However I was dismayed to learn of your internet experience. As an added convenience and comfort, we offer complimentary high-speed wireless internet access throughout the hotel for guest use. Please rest assured that I will be following up your internet experience with my team so that it may be improved upon.

Thank you again for sharing your recent experience with us. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me, by e-mail: shannon@bestwesterndowntown.com or by phone at 604-633-4340.

Sincerely,

Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

First thing location is very good to explore Vancouver down town and other areas of GVRD. Hotel shuttle service is also a plus several levels of underground parking available but stalls were narrow. I would highly recommend for the business trips

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mirza B from Surrey, Canada,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience, noting that your business stay with us was enjoyable. I am delighted that you are able to recommend our hotel for business stays. I am also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary Downtown shuttle bus service, which is readily available daily for drop-offs around the Downtown area. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This used to be a pretty 'tough' part of Vancouver's downtown, but all that has changed. The hotel was very reasonably priced, excellent location, easy parking. I was surprised to find rooms available here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Ian W from Victoria, Canada,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, nothing our convenient Downtown location, parking amenities and overall good value. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and Vancouver soon.

Sincerely,

Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amazing! We hadn't stayed here for nine months ... we walked into the lobby on New Years Eve and immediately the same front desk associate that helped us in March greeted us by saying, "Welcome Here Again. I remember you!" It being New Year's Eve we expected some noise but generally it was a quite evening and night. We did call once to the front desk to inform them of our extremely loud neighbours. Hotel staff very quickly came up and spoke to the people. All was good after that. The free parking and breakfast package with our room was a fantastic value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Allan R from Chilliwack, Canada,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, it is our pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us. I hope that you enjoyed the New Year’s festivities. I am also happy to hear that you found our Bed & Breakfast Package to be of great value. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and Vancouver soon!

Sincerely,

Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The room was small, quiet and clean but we had issues with the air conditioner as it was noisy. The bathroom was OK but got steamed up really quickly as the fan was not working properly. Internet worked well. It is a bot of a walk to downtown for visitors, but the Granville Bridge does have a lot of buses.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Anna B from Victoria, Canada,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your overnight Vancouver accommodation. In addition, we appreciate you taking the time to share with us how you stay was. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our corner Queen room was quite small but bright, spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and well equipped, with a small fridge, coffee maker, kettle and safe (big enough for a laptop). The bedding is good quality, and though our windows overlooked busy streets, we heard no traffic noise (or noise from any other source), so we enjoyed a good night’s sleep. The in-room wifi connection was strong. If you don’t have your own computer, there’s one in the lobby for guests’ use.

The hotel’s location is very convenient for those using public transit, as it’s just a short walk to the Yaletown/Roundhouse Skytrain station. From there the Canada Line will take you to Waterfront, to YVR or, for the ferry, to Bridgeport with a connection to Tsawwassen. We were in town for the Cavalia Odysseo show at False Creek, just one stop away from the Olympic Village station on the Canada Line. The next day we took advantage of the hotel’s free downtown shuttle service to get dropped at the Vancouver Police Museum in the Chinatown/Gastown area. Had it been a bit warmer, we might also have used the loaner bikes.

The hotel does not serve breakfast, but there’s a White Spot restaurant onsite, accessed via the lobby. For something lighter, the omelet and fresh fruit is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Tripsterchick from Victoria, BC,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your Vancouver getaway accommodation. In addition, we thank you for your kind and detailed review, and happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Address: 718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning full-service hotel most with microwaves and fridges, free downtown shuttle drop offs & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.