We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One major sore point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One major sore point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Location is not bad, 10-15 minutes walk to Yaletown-Roundhouse Skytrain station which is on the Canada line that connects direct to the airport. It is also about 15-20 minutes walk to Granville Island, which is a boring little collection of shops and an expensive public market. Rooms are comfortable, clean and reasonably-insulated from the busy roads around it. You should have a good quiet night's sleep.

However, the biggest problem is the internet access. Not sure why a fundamental experience is so poorly implemented. Speed is extremely slow and sometimes not moving (I think my dial-up 10 years ago does a better job). Every time the mobile device or tablet powers down, you have to log-in again ie. check disclaimer box, enter room number, key in password. Every time. It gets really irritating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear babykailan74 from Singapore,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. However, I do apologize for the internet speed in your room. Upon reviewing your feedback, I have contacted our wifi provider to further investigate the issue. Therefore, thank you for letting me know and we look forward to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, Shannon Gu + BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    371
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
170
314
63
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arrived in Vancouver and found the hotel, unfortunately weren't aware that in order to check in to a hotel in north america you must produce a credit card! Highly frustrating and unfortunately due to this and lack of sleep the young lady on reception got a lot of huffs and puffs from us - however she was fabulously professional and did all she could to help us out, including emailing forms to my cousin to be signed so we could use her details to check in.
The room itself was lovely - big comfy beds, clean bathroom, quiet... no complaints, only minor note would be that there was no milk sachets to go with the teabags.
The restaurant next to the hotel did a lovely breakfast and as the same lady was on reception when we checked out we had the opportunity to thank her for her help and apologise for huffs and puffs. Again she was fabulous and a real credit to the hotel.
Would definitely be happy to stay here again. (but will get a credit card first!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear kirsty-b007 from St Andrews, United Kingdom

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Vancouver accommodation, as well as providing your kind review. Despite the confusion during check in, I am glad to see that you found our front desk team to be helpful and had an enjoyable stay. Wwe look forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I am surprised that some reviewers rated this hotel only average. I found it excellent, by comparison with the two other hotels I visited in Vancouver. The staff at the reception was helpful and friendly. My room had a king-size bed, was wide, and located at the top floor (see photo). Besides, I had a jacuzzy bathtub, which I truly enjoyed. The hotel also features a small terrace overlooking downtown roofs. True, breakfast (reasonably priced) is not included in the base price of the room, but what IS included is local phone calls and a free shuttle to downtown areas (almost as good as a taxi!). Besides, also included is a bicycle “rental” for three hours, which I used straight after check-out to ride downtown and then around Stanley Park, along the Seawall (that took me two enjoyable hours, at a very leisurely pace). And what is included too is a ferry ride to or from Granville Island, which I did not use because I was too cold when returning from my bicycle ride, and it was dark by then (first day after time change from daylight to standard). Before that, I had also enjoyed walking through the town sights in the morning (not detailed here)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Ruddy L from Chambery, France,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Vancouver accommodation, as well as providing your feedback on your stay. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, as was able to use our complimentary bicycles and shuttle service to sight see around town. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to stay downtown at a reasonable cost, then this is the place for you. But be prepared for small rooms & even smaller bathrooms. The beds themselves are nothing special and unfortunately my stay was during a heat wave and the AC didn't work.
All in all, the only selling point with this place is the location, affordability and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear kait h from Vancouver


Thank you for choosing our hotel for your short stay in Vancouver. I am happy to see that your found our location to be central and our team members to be helpful and friendly. However, I do apologize that your AC in room did not work properly during your stay. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agassiz, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice clean hotel to stay in,staff was great. Beds where very comfortable. Breakfast was good in restaurant. Walked every where, close to ferry for Granville Island. Was a very pleasant stay. Thank you Best Western once again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Bonny L from Agassiz, Canada


Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your family vacation. I am happy to see that you and your family had an enjoyable holiday in Vancouver and our amenities and services did not disappoint you. We hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

the place was clean, reception courteous, and the room while not large was more than adequate for one person. There isn't a breakfast included with the rate, parking's extra but within walking distance there are places to eat. Just not too crazy about the area in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Marilynn M from Calgary, Canada,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Vancouver accommodation. I am happy to see that your stay was enjoyable. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed one night here at the Best Western. Not centrally located, but the hotel does offer free shuttle services to anywhere downtown which was nice. It was clean which is imporant and the room was also comfortable.
Be aware that there is a $20/per day parking fee if you have your own car. It would have been nice if I was informed of that prior to coming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear e_moshun from Calgary, Canada

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Vancouver accommodation. I am happy to see that you had a good stay and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Address: 718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning full-service hotel most with microwaves and fridges, free downtown shuttle drop offs & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.