We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #37 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Qualicum Beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here because it was convenient to the doctors office and hospital we were going to.
Off Granville Street we were worried about the noise but should not have worried. The rooms face Drake and were soundproof. The bed was really comfortable and I am fussy! Luke and Young were very helpful and upgraded us to a room which had a microwave which I wanted because my husband had had eye surgery and we didn't want to go out for dinner the day of his surgery.
We ate in the White Spot Restaurant the second night and enjoyed our dinner and the staff were very nice.
We stay in Vancouver hotels regularly since moving from Vancouver to Vancouver Island and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Dawn I from Qualicum Beach,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your medical appointments in town. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel to be good value and conveniently located. In addition, thank you for complimenting Luke and Young. I am happy to see that they were able to accommodate your requests for a room with microwave. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable and memorable; thus we are happy to provide you with an upgrade so your husband can rest well after his surgery.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon for a leisure stay next time.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    298
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
119
243
57
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This Best Western is a bit further from most of the action downtown, but you can still easily walk to Robson and West Georgia Streets. This hotel has rooms with kitchenettes which are nice. The room was quite comfortable and quiet, and the staff were friendly. The hot tub, fitness centre, sauna, and ping pong table on the top floor are nice, although the hot tub looked a little dirty when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Minke from Victoria Canada,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay with our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found the room comfortable and the staff friendly. However, I do apology that your hot tub experience was not quite satisfactory. I will ensure to pass this information on to my maintenance manager to ensure we provide an satisfactory experience for all our guests in the future.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Easy public transit access from airport (Skytrain to Yaletown/Roundhouse, then C-23 bus to Granville St) which means you can get to the hotel for under $10 or so. There's an unofficial taxi stand outside so getting cabs for urgent trips isn't a problem. There's an in-house hotel restaurant but plenty of inexpensive places to eat within walking distance, as well as a 7/11 for sundries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear ChristinaSF from San Francisco,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver. I am delighted to see that you found great value in choosing our hotel, as well as found our location to be convenient. And we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here in early December. Huge bonus was being able to check in early after a long flight from Australia. Room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom a little dated, but clean nevertheless. Location was fabulous, close to the city centre and Yaletown Roundhouse Skytrain. Station - super convenient coming from YVR.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear epmc from Devonport, Australia,

I am very happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay and we were able to accommodate your early check in. After a long flight from Australia, of course you deserve to get to your room right the way. And I hope you had plenty of time to enjoy the rest of our beautiful city.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel for those on a budget who won't believe that they can get a clean, well appointed room for less than $100 in downtown Vancouver, minutes from either side of the ocean. The staff are informed, professional and good people. The bed is outstanding, clean and firm with lots of pillows. And the room is clean, for anyone who has seen the expose about hotel rooms, don't be worried about this one. Free shuttle service, and did I mention the price of less than $100 in February for a room? We were impressed. We slept well. The downtown is noisy, but that has nothing to do with the hotel. Check it out if you want quality so can spend your money elsewhere. This is a great Best Western. We plan to return. I suspect the competition has no idea how good this place is.

Room Tip: Go higher to avoid noise. Use the shuttle - it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear bjlStonyPlain_AB from Stony Plain, AB,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! I am delighted to see our price was right for your budget and the services and amenities were to your satisfaction. And we hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Address: 718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning full-service hotel most with microwaves and fridges, free downtown shuttle drop offs & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.