We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'd have to say I had an excellent experience in this hotel. It's situated in the middle of Downtown Vancouver, so it's very easy to get around. We didn't deal with the staff much, but from what little dealings we had with them they were very friendly. The room was not only very clean but quite modern, and the pricing was quite affordable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear JacksonCooper,

Thank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel. We are very excited to see that you had a great stay at our hotel. It is comments like yours that motivates our staff to serve our guests better and exceeds their expectations. In addition, thank you for recognizing that we have clean rooms. Majority of our housekeeping team have been with our hotel since we opened in 1997, and they are very proud of the rooms they service. To better serve our guests in the future, we will soon be certified by Best Western Chain with I CARE 2 training, which is a program that targets an even cleaner environment by using a UV wand to sanitizing high touch areas in our guest rooms.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we would love to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    339
    97
    19
    10
See reviews for
144
288
60
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently visited Vancouver with family and was overall pleased with my stay.

Pros:
- Within walking distance to some downtown attractions (stores, restaurants, malls)

- Very helpful front desk loaned us an umbrella and went out of their way to exchange USD for CAD

- Shuttle bus service provided (we were unable to use it though because it stops running at 6:30pm)

Cons:
- Parking is $20. This isn't terrible, but they seem to try and hide the cost of parking. Even when I called Best Western's 1-800 number they could only tell me there was a "nominal parking fee."

- Breakfast has some sort of confusing coupon deal at their in-house restaurant. A review that I had read earlier said you could eat there for $5, but the price was higher and less attractive during my visit. I did not partake.


Overall a good stay and recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Allan E from Anacortes Washington.

On behalf of the Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver team, thank you kindly for the thorough comment on your recent stay at our property. We are very happy to see you had an enjoyable stay and found our services and amenities to your satisfaction.

Due to our downtown location, our hotel does have a parking fee at $20 inclusive of all taxes and fees. However, parking fees in our neighbourhood are general higher than what we charge. I do understand that this is addition cost on travellers’ budget; thus we welcome you to visit the packages we offer as majority of them do include parking as well as breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and would love to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Convenient location to downtown and Granville Island (walking distance) . Bus service up and down Granville street very good (bus stop next to hotel ) , easy travel to Main Station and Canada Place for free travel to Capilano & Grouse Mountain.Our 2nd stay here , for 5 days . Easy to operate from.Staff always friendly and willing to assist.

Room Tip: Currently have construction next door , could worry you if on that side of building .Construction on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear JEFFREY BRIAN S from Brisbane Australia,

Thank you very much for choosing Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel again for your 5 nights stay. We are always excited to welcome back our repeat guests, especially form overseas. We hope our hotel will be on you agenda for your next Vancouver trip.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Used the hotel as a base to go to see a concert at Rogers Arena and to visit the Home Show at BC Place Stadium. The hotel was comfortable and good security as you needed a key card to access the rooms above the lobby. The only complaint we had was a couple of girls who decided on the second night to go in and out of their room several times late at night..

Room Tip: We had a room on the north side and it was very quiet. It rained the whole weekend we were there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello there,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel for you base accommodation to see a concert at the Roger’s Arena and the Home Show at BC Place. We are very centrally located where both these locations are within walking distance. If you did not walk, I hope you were able to take use our of complimentary shuttle drop off service for both locations. In addition, thank you for your room tip as they are always helpful for future travellers. We hope to welcome you back soon for future events you will be attending in downtown Vancouver.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were pleased to find this hotel in such a convenient location. Having parking was important to us. The staff was very helpful. Having local transportation made it easy for us to visit several places. The breakfast was adequate and our room was comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear barbgoodkin from Ann Arbor Michigan,

I sincerely thank you for the positive review and recommendation. We are very excited to see that you found our location convenient and staffs were helpful. And we would love to have another opportunity to host your stay in the near future.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu + Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a great hotel, for good value in downtown Vancouver. The staff were really helpful.

The rooms were clean and reasonablely comfortable, with all the stuff you'd expect from a hotel.

The best thing about it was the central location and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Smita S S from London United Kingdom,


Thank you very much for your feedback in recognizing our central location and helpful staff. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay. Hopeful, we will be able to proving our services and amenities to you again in the near future.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Convenient hotel for Granville Island and downtown. Dont think there is much parking round there but otherwise very convenient for town centre. Rooms are as expected and there is a small spa area with great view at the top of the building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDT, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear ankjohnson from Godalming,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel. I am very happy to see that you found our location convenient and enjoyed our rooftop view. We hope to welcome you back for another stay with us soon.

Sincerely, Shannon Gu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver

Address: 718 Drake Street (at Granville), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning full-service hotel most with microwaves and fridges, free downtown shuttle drop offs & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.