We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would definitely go back again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We would definitely go back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Friendly staff; clean, comfortable and spacious room; had a great dinner in the hotel restaurant/bar and a great breakfast in the same room. It is a two minute walk to Stanley Park and the Seawall Walk as well as being situated in a multi-ethnic community with a wide array of interesting shops( no cookie-cutter stores here) and ethnic restaurants. We would definitely go back to this hotel on our next Vancouver trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building. They are doing very noisy renos across the street and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We are all pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    368
    118
    45
    19
See reviews for
167
359
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

They gave us a filthy room with no heat, in exchange for extra fees for pets. Paid premium price even as a BW rewards member, for threadbare room. Fuses blew with ONLY the coffee maker on. Tiny bathroom, toilet practically in the tub. Have no idea why it is rated highly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our pet policy is clearly stated on our web site as well as Best Western's web site. I welcome all opinions on our hotel and hope that future guests who are reading these reviews will see that the majority of guest reviews view our property otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

one block from English Bay, walking distance to Stanley Park and Granville Island ferry. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great restaurants and neighborhoods nearby. Would stay here again. (our stay was 11/5 to 11/7 2012)

summers might not be as good as they have window a/c units that could be noisy. windows do open

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A good walk's distance to a number of excellent restaurants, Tim Hortons across the street, Stanley Park near by. Staff are friendly and helpful. They are slowly upgrading the hotel. Excellent value for your money.

Room Tip: 5th floor, Bay view, somewhat blocked by other buildings but worth the request. Note: Do not recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the review, its always a pleasure to hear that a guest enjoyed the hotel and the area.
It is very true that we don't sell the front side of the hotel as full ocean view it is only partial ocean view only, but have a partial water view is still a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent one night in this hotel Oct 27th 2012 to attend a formal dinner in nearby Stanley Park that evening. My last contact with this hotel was way back in the late 70's. At that time, and well before it joined the Best Western chain, this place was a bit of a flea bag and people frequenting this premises were less than savory ( to explain: I was a policeman in those days; this location was a frequesnt trouble spot ). On checking into the Sands, I was able to park in the close-by covered lot and I was immediately struck by the transformation that had taken place in the lobby, the hallways and the room. Though small, the lobby was neat and well appointed, the staff were polite, profficient and friendly. I noticed there was a convenient restaurant attatched to the lobby area ( prices a tad high but normal for a downtown hotel in Vancouver ) as well as a night spot beyond, all within the same building. I was also pleasantly surprised by the clean and well furnished hallways above, with the latest security hardware on my room door. Inside, the room was fully the equivelent of any well rated hotel for downtown Vancouver, complete with a superior type coffee maker ( pressurized hot water and coffee cartridge system ); fully equipped batroom, lotions, etc. As expected, the bed was very comfortable; clean and well done up. Furniture and w/w rug was modern and free of stainls or odor. The only detraction: The windows could stand better sound-proofing.

Room Tip: If checking in on a weekend night, attempt to avoid the rooms over the street ( Davie St. side ) - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review and thank you for returning to the hotel. I am sure that there has been many changes and upgrades since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights; it's a great location, a few blocks from English Bay and lots of inexpensive ethnic restaurants. The room itself was fine, a bit crowded with two double beds, but the cost was less than a King bed. We had both a refrigerator and microwave which I really appreciated. I agree with other reviewers - the breakfast in the attached restaurant was very expensive. The restaurant has music starting Wednesdays and the Celtic duo we heard was fantastic.
I would certainly return at this rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of our property, we hope to see you again soon. Just an FYi we vary our live music in The Park, so the next visit may very well have a different band that you will enjoy equally as much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and can recommend it for its location and relative quiet. It is right across from English Bay and the entrance to Stanley Park (although there's only half a chance you'll get that view). There's not much of a lobby, but don't let that put you off. The rooms are modern, and I found the bed incredibly comfortable. My room faced the carpark behind the hotel, so it was very quiet. There were nice bath toiletries, and I was impressed to see a complicated recycling bin set-up (or is this the law in Canada?). Up Davie street about 5-10 minutes is the West End, which is a lively gay neighbourhood. Just around the corner on Denman Street is a vibrant array of ethnic eateries. There's also several cycle rental places. A walk, run, or cycle ride around Stanley Park is highly recommended. Definitely worth a stay here for its location near to so many things and the peacefulness. My only quibble: just because I purchased the room with a hotel website doesn't mean I shouldn't get Best Western points. By giving my points, I have more incentive to stay here again or in other Best Westerns.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room facing English Bay. If you want to ensure quiet, ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#52 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mt. Pleasant
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#35 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Downtown
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#50 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.