We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic for Cannery food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant

Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant
1485 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-569-3626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 2,935 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Food is delicious; prices are reasonable for seafood; only about 2 months old. Chef was from The Cannery. I'm a very happy customer who wants them listed.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Nostalgic for Cannery food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We came here with another couple trying to relieve the unforgettable Cannery restaurant experience since upon the closing of the Cannery the chef moved here. Definitely a very different venue from the elegance, vista and hum of the Cannery, the place looks quite dated. But the food was quite ok. For appetizers, some of us had the white clam chowder, quite good but too large a portion. The calamari was also huge, but really excellent. I had the trio of tartare, it was tasty but a bit hard to fork out of the small containers. It is hard not to order the Salmon Wellington as a main course if you yearn for the Cannery, and so some of us did - it was quite good and again the portion was huge. The rack of lamb apparently was very good, but the John Dory was quite soft and unfortunately overloaded with sauce. While the food was overall quite to very good, the accompaniment of vegetables consisting of giant crude broccoli pieces was quite out of place - would have expected some more refinement in this sector. Service was a bit too jovial. Quite pricey for the ambience.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN VANCOUVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This place will surprise you. To look at it you might not think your about to sit down for one of the most mouth watering meals. Every item on the menu is amazing,the staff members are super nice, make you feel like your at a dinner party at your best friends house. Meal size is prefect. I felt full when I left, and fully satisfied. Try this restaurant out, you'll be happy you did.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My husband and I booked weeks early for 6 pm dinner on New Year's Eve. When we arrived there was a sea of long tables all set and ready in front of us, and other parties in another section. That's where we were to go a deux, and there was no table ready and waiting. We were seated in a drafty area to wait - a half hour. I guess you can't throw patrons out, but having made a reservation we expected to be seated within at most 10 minutes. The head waiter did come with menus and explained specials while we were waiting. Would have been to have been offered an appetizer or a drink . . . Once our table was ready everything went smoothly, and they did expand on a single cocktail order to compensate somewhat. The food is divine. The lobster sauce on the unusual fish offerings was scrumptious. Let's see, I had John Dory (sp?), somewhat like halibut, and hubbie had Escalard (sp?) from S. America, somewhat like tuna in consistency. The vegetables were perfectly a point. The wine list a fine one. The service impeccable. We will go again as it's one of our favourites (the head chef comes from the now closed Cannery Restaurant).

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good food with good service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I took my wife here to celebrate her birthday on Friday.
We were greeted right when we walked through the front door. We were seated by the window. The restaurant was not busy at this time. The waiter was quick to get us our menus and let us know what the favourite items on the menu were. I ordered the prawns and papaya salad and my wife ordered the lobster and blue crab meat salad to start. We both ordered the salmon Wellington b/c that is one of the dishes they are known for.
The waiter joked by saying that he hoped we were hungry. We thought he was kidding b/c most of the restaurants that I have been to in this price range, the salads are a medium sized portion as well as the entrees.
We were wrong. When the salads arrived, they were both a good sized portion. They were very tasty.
The bread with the lobster oil was also very yummy. We wished that they would have given us more.
When we finished our salads, the entrees arrived. The portions were much bigger than I expected. The salmon was moist and the filo pastry was nice and flaky. We only managed to eat half of our entrees. The waiter was good in that he checked in on us often and kept our water glasses filled.
The waiter added a nice touch by bringing a complimentary creme brûlée for my wife b/c we were celebrating her birthday.
We were very happy with the food and service.
It is a little expensive but once you taste the food, you will feel satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine dining seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This new version of the old Cannery had a lot of the old favourites on the menu including Salmon Wellington and Black Alaskan Cod. Both are outstanding. As others have said in past reviews, the service was a little slow but that gave us the opportunity to chat among friends. If you want McDonald's like service then this is not the place for you. But quality food takes time to prepare. Our server was very friendly. The Chef came out at the end of the night to ask us about our meal. Good touch. A little pricey but recommended.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.