We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you liked the Cannery, you'll LOVE Pink Peppercorn for the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant

Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant
1485 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-569-3626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Food is delicious; prices are reasonable for seafood; only about 2 months old. Chef was from The Cannery. I'm a very happy customer who wants them listed.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you liked the Cannery, you'll LOVE Pink Peppercorn for the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

For anyone who knows me, I'm a "foodie" at heart. Some of my favourite restaurants include: Vij's, Tojo's, Cioppinos, Hawskworth, Rim Rock Cafe in Whistler. This helps qualify my review for those of you who are also foodies. I went to the Cannery as a kid of my birthdays or for other special occasions and always loved the view which Pink Peppercorn does not have. However, the food is just as impressive as Eddy IS the daytime chef from the Cannery. The best part of it is he saved up every dime to open up this restaurant and runs it with his family trying to give his kids a great education and life - a very admirable thing to do.

But I know you're not eating there for charity, but this IS the original Cannery menu - maybe with less fancy plating but the servers are from the Cannery and they are so happy and pleasant and really love what they do, the drinks are reasonable (have the Caesar as there is fresh prawns on it!) and the food is top notch. If you're expecting fancy and pretentious, this ISN'T the place for you. If you just want want unbelievably rich lobster bisque, a perfectly balanced trio of tartare (scallops, salmon and tuna) and a Salmon Wellington that melts in your mouth with mashed potatoes that have no shortage of cream or butter (yummmm!), GO NOW! I'm a big fan and have been going for awhile now, but I highly advise give it a try. We had a 3 course meal with a drink for under $100!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Salmon wellington from the Cannery is AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

When the cannery closed down, the talented head chef came to Pink Peppercorn and brought with him his little magic book of recipes. All the classics from the cannery are here, and just as good, albeit without the view. The restaurant isn't the best atmosphere, but it's clean, tidy and comfortable.

I've been here on several occasions. I almost always get Salmon wellington, which is always perfectly cooked and served with a mushroom duxelle sauce that's just incredible (I nomally won't even touch mushrooms!)

Other memorable dishes are the Lobster bisque, which is excellent aswell. Only downside, it used to be garnished with a bit of lobster meat on top, now it's a few fresh shrimp on top. Doesn't ruin the dish, but would be nicer with the lobster.

All the meals start off with complimentary bread, served with lobster infused oil. It's very delicious.

I would highly recommend a visit to the Pink Peppercorn. While it's out of town a bit, it's actually much easier for us to get to now, compared to when it was the cannery. I love it here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Killer chef, awesome food, and more people need to know about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were visiting from the States and found out about Pink Peppercorn through Trip Advisor. We decided to go for it and took a cab ride from our downtown hotel to the restaurant when we were completely unimpressed with the service while getting drinks and an appetizer at some trendy overpriced place whose name we can't remember downtown.

We'll just repeat what some of the reviewers have already stated: the decor leaves something to be desired, but the seafood is absolutely incredible, and the chef is really fantastic. We love seafood and really enjoyed the freshness of the food and the subtle spice twists the chef gave to what we ate. We appreciated that he came out and talked to us about the food during our meal, which was probably somewhat easy for him because there was only one other table filled besides ours - a real shame. We did tell our foodie friends the next day about this terrific restaurant, and they went that night and had the same great experience. We would definitely return the next time we are in Vancouver.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very nice restaurant - food is like the Cannery but not quite there.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great quality and value in food and wine, easier to get to than The Cannery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

In short, I would recommend this restaurant for its five-star food and three-star pricing (not so much for the three-star decor thought!)

The food was fresh and tasty, the service was professional, and the prices were VERY reasonable for both the food and the wine (the most expensive bottle was $65, most were around $40). The decor does leave something to be desired (as does the website design), but at least the lights were low and the big-screen TV wasn't on so the ambiance was OK.

As mentioned in other reviews, some of the staff (including the chef) and the recipes are direct transfers from The Cannery. While The Cannery was a destination restaurant in the working Port of Vancouver, Eddy's Pink Peppercorn is in a mixed commercial/urban neighbourhood. What it lacks in the view is made up for by ease of access. There are parking spots in back if you drive, or you can take the 22 bus from downtown to Kingsway, or the 19 bus from downtown to Knight Street. Back when they were in the Port, the only option was to drive.

We went on a Sunday night in August, and it was over half-full; many of the tables seemed to be larger groups celebrating birthdays or anniversaries. As a smaller group, we were seated in a booth and it was very comfortable.

There are virtually no seafood restaurants of this quality in the neighbourhood, and very few of this quality with such good pricing in Vancouver. We were impressed with the overall experience, and have added Pink Peppercorn to our "must visit" restaurants for guests in Vancouver.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Peppercorn Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.