We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Five Star B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bee & Thistle Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Save
You added Bee & Thistle Guest House to your Saves list
1842 Parker Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
“Excellent Five Star B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our Lions Den room was perfect in every way - the most comfortable bed ever with luxurious sheets that provided the perfect sleeping temperature and coziness, heated floor in the bathroom, kitchen, and a gorgeous view of the mountains and of the city through our private balcony, use of laundry was available if we needed it, drinks and snacks were available in the fridge in our kitchen, wifi and notebook, travel pamphlets and dining guides, home baked fresh cookies every night, and a bottle of chilled champagne as it was our 13th year wedding anniversary. Local natural artisan handmade soaps smelled wonderful and every little detail in the room and the house was just beautiful. Even more memorable were the fantastic breakfasts that Lynn made every morning - they were just amazingly delicious! Lynn and Michael were excellent hosts - they made us feel so welcome in an intimate setting, yet provided us the perfect balance of privacy that we wanted. It was just an amazing bed and breakfast. We would pass a five star hotel and book Lynn and Michael's Bee & Thistle if we are in Vancouver again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
174
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We love Bed and Breakfasts and Bee & Thistle is the ultimate comfort experience. Mike and Christine are so heartfelt. Mike even picked us up at the train station and brought us there . We got the Ivy Room which has king size bed, armoire, even a laptop flat screen tv and heated bathroom floors with its own balcony and the mountains can be enjoyed under the stars right in front of the suite.! The first night huge cookies are left on a plate along with a typed personalized menu and weather report and information for the next day which is presented in a folder. The breakfasts are like being at a 5 star restaurant. There is a small dining room with several tables set with freshly cut flowers and candles .They even have a friend who makes them specialty soaps for the guests. I feel like when we left we had made new friends. I cannot wait to recommend Bee & Thistle to my friends back home.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am a TA loyalist -- and when you see a # 1 rating for B&B's in Vancouver AND a perfect 5.0 score -- you know there must be something very right and very special about this place.
The Bee & Thistle did not disappoint. We would stay there again in a nano second and will recommend it to anyone who will listen. Lynn and Michael told us they actually rely soley on word of mouth and the web (and these great reviews on TA!)

All the photos posted of Lynn's fantastic breakfast creations tell the story far better than any words I can write down. Breakfast here is a special treat. Beyond the BED and the BREAKFAST - two key elements of a memorable stay, which the B&T handily delivers on... what made our stay so memeorable was the genuine, sincere, gracious Innkeepers. Lynn and Michael are special in their own right. It is very apparent that they really care about the comfort of their guests; yet they are careful not to intrude on your privacy. This Inn is a labor of love for them and it shows everywhere.

We had a great experience from the moment we sent our first email inquiry. Lynn responded promptly and inquired if there was anything they should know to make our stay with them as comfortable as possible... food allergies, pillow allergies, directions from the Ferry port etc.
I let them know that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary (which coincidentally happend to be the same day day as theirs :) When we arrived, they generously upgraded us to the Ivy Room. When we returned after an all day excursion on a Sunday, they had left a bottle of wine on ice for us in our room (see photo.)

The Inn is in a great location, just 2 short blocks off Commercial Drive -- a "hipster" spot with every kind of restaurant imaginable within walking distance; we highly recommend Havana for great Cuban inspired food. There is a SkyTrain stop about a 20 minute walk if you wanted to take that into downtown Vancouver. We drove, as it's just across the river - a 5 minute drive.

If you have any hesitation about booking this B&B, know that you can believe that this property truly deserves all of the glowing reviews it receives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Michael said to be a B and B you need a good bed and good breakfast... And boy did they. Michael and Lynn offer the best in hospitality and accommodation. Our room (the lions den) was lovely, they made us feel really welcome by upgrading us to this room and giving us a bottle of fizz as it was our honeymoon.
The breakfast each day were different and ultra tasty, you can tell how much love goes into them. I suggested Lynn wrote a cook book. Honestly we have never had breakfast like it, even the presentation was something else.
As hosts Michael and Lynn went above and beyond to make us feel at home and suggest places to visit whilst in Vancouver. Thank you so much for a great experience and you truly deserve all the praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lynn and Michael offer the best Bs (Bed and Breakfast) we've experienced in quite some time, and we've tried many over the years between the US and England. On various review sites this B&B has one amazing review after another and after staying there we know why!

We had the opportunity to have two mornings of scrumptious breakfasts that included amazing tastes such as brandied strawberries in lace toffee cups, blackberry oatmeal muffins, eggs benny, honeydew melon ribbons with lime honey drizzle, and chorizo potato petals. Every morning since then I've been wondering what is being served to guests and wishing I was there to sample!

The room was stocked with goodies such as in-room coffee and tea, a fridge with complementary drinks and snacks, a corkscrew, free wi-fi, bath products for the soaking tub, and an awesome fireplace. Luxury sheets and duvet on the bed, along with thick yet soft towels in the bathroom, all made for a wonderful stay.

The beautiful and comfortable accommodations in both the common areas and bedrooms, and warm hospitality from the hosts add up to memories we'll always look back on with smiles. I would come back to Vancouver just to be able to visit more with Lynn and Michael and once again enjoy their fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Michael and Lynn are fantastic, softly spoken, mild mannered people with a warm and considerate attitude. Their welcome is just what is needed after a long flight or a busy day. They leave no room for improvement. The Bee and Thistle Guest House is faultless. We stayed in Florence's room and the bathroom is gorgeous. There are hand made soaps, a personalised welcome pack with the menu for the following day's outstanding breakfast, tips and advice and plenty of local knowledge. I really don't think it would be possible to find the same level of perfectionism, cleanliness and style in an expensive top class hotel. They are very reasonably priced in a great area, and you get more than value for money, you get personal service and great passion for hospitality too.

Room Tip: Florence's room has a fab bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

All I can say is... this B&B is amazing!

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bee & Thistle as we have some close friends who live in the area and were doing renovations on their house when we went to visit in Feb / March. We couldn't stay with them so we booked at the Bee & Thistle. Initially, our expectations weren't that high (as it was down the street from our friends place) however when we read some reviews online... we got a little more excited.

I will be honest and say that all the reviews are accurate and truthfully, don't even do this place justice. It is better than words can describe and it is all because of the owners (Lynn & Michael) and how they treat you.

I have worked in the restaurant industry for my entire life and can honestly say that Lynn is a Red Seal caliber chef without the Red Seal training. Her breakfasts are absolutely amazing and her portion size is so large that you will not want to eat any more food the rest of the day. I actually took pictures of the food items and showed them to my chef when I returned from my holiday as the items were that good!

The accommodations are cozy, comfortable and old school elegant. Lynn and Michael make sure your needs are always met and the B&B is a short cab ride to downtown.

I would highly recommend this B&B over most hotels (both mid range and high end) located downtown Vancouver as the price, service and food is far superior if you are comparing the amount of money you will spend.

Great job Lynn and Michael, you deserve all the praise you get!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Address: 1842 Parker Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1908 heritage house located near downtown Vancouver, Canada, with views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have min. queen beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver
Bee And Thistle Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bee & Thistle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.