We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere, food and wine first rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joey Bentall

Joey Bentall
507 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V7X 8A8, Canada (Coal Harbour)
+1 604-915-5639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Coal Harbour
Description: Really long bar. Right in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring a taking-care-of-business vibe without pretence or posturing. Plus there's the Wine Room with its own entrance off Pender, an Enomatic wine system offering lots of great wines by the glass, and the full menu.
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, food and wine first rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic vibe. Always busy with great staff and superb food. If wine by the glass is what you want, best place in town. This is Joeys test kitchen so things here have to excel before they are sent elsewhere...the beef dip is SPECTACULAR...do not miss it!

Can't go wrong here as menu is broad and all good!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our first time at Joey Bentall only because we always come too late to get a table for noon - this time we came for a later lunch at 1 pm. Our drink order was taken immediately and our food order right after the drinks arrived. It took about 20 minutes for the food to arrive which I guess isn't too bad considering how busy the place is but again it was standard bar food we ordered.

My friends had the beef dip and the mini beef sliders which they said were both good. I had the Italian flatbread which was OK. The pepperoni wasn't the traditional kind - it was more like a cured meat you'd find on a charcuterie platter - it just tasted strange having it heated. The flatbread was a bit dry so it could have used more tomato sauce or even some cheese but overall it wasn't bad.

My friend asked for horseradish which never came so we spent about 10 minutes flagging down someone to order it again - after the food arrived no one came back to ask how it was or if we needed anything else.

Some of the staff was very friendly whereas some of them seemed a bit disinterested. That being said, I will go back again as I don't believe in judging a restaurant solely on a first visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinner at Joey Bentall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, offering excellent Thai food in a beautiful part of downtown Vancouver. The server was awesome.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Go for the Apple Pie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife loves the apple pie here so we have to drop by once in awhile. Its always a bit noisier here as the bar is adjacent to the dinning area. It is a standard issue Vancouver chain restaurant with decent food, cute waitresses in short skirts and always a bit overpriced. We usually have the Ahi Tuna Tacos as they are actually pretty good and this time I had the ribs (Could have used a finger bowl though) and my wife had the Steak and sushi which she really enjoys. Overall nothing special here, but at least the quality is consistent throughout the chain. Finish off with the Apple pie and the experience is a better one ;)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ahi Tuna Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Been to this Joey location several times, on this visit I tried the Ahi Tuna Tacos as an appetizer and the Blue Cheese Sirloin for the main, both were great and I would have them again. The fully loaded crisy mashed potatoes was a nice side to the Blue Cheese Sirloin. Very good dining experience except that it took several minutes to get seated even though there was no one else ahead of us waiting for a table; perhaps we caught them when they were short staffed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Bentall also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joey Bentall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey Bentall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.