We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Balfour Inn

The Balfour Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Balfour Inn to your Saves list
The Balfour Inn
1064 Balfour Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1X1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Terrace, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't like the fuss and bother of downtown hotels, not to mention the cost. The house is old and lovely and the surrounding area is quiet and beautiful. It's a quick walk to VGH and transit is just down a half block with Starbucks on the corner. My bed was super comfy and the room clean. The common bathroom upstairs is unique in that I have never had the pleasure of using a water
closet separate from the sink and bathtub :) Fun. I plan on staying again soon.
Kathy C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had the hilarious pleasure of staying at the Balfour Inn Vancouver recently. It can only be described as Fawlty Towers of the north, which I am sure the owners would laugh at. Staff often don't have a clue, literally, of what is going on and guests can't understand them, leading to some very entertaining moments of total miscommunication - but no rats in the dining room. Very entertaining and a pretty nice clean environment. in a great location. Very close to transport and in a great area for walks and biking. It's friendly, disorganised , frankly chaotic at times though everybody means well and anything goes, they are definitely non-judgmental. Lovely garden to relax in, and a great bubble tea place round the corner. If you are lucky they will forget to bill you as they did me...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Terrible mattress (could feel the springs), musty smell and mould growing in our basement suite room. Window won't open to ventilate for fresh air. Staff are friendly and rooms clean. However, lodging places must have decent mattress, ventilation and clean smell (without mould) before I would want to stay. We had booked two nights but checked out after one night stay.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Its not one of those fancy hotel, but it is very nice and clean. Its right in the middle of the city and BC Children's hospital was just a stone throw away. Staff was very thoughtful and nice. Will surely recommend to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Smelly rooms, bad bed's totally not what you expect for this price. left after one horrible night (snoring came true the floors!) We left to a other place just $20 more per night in DT vancouver!
My advice, don't go there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I chose this B & B based on the beautiful website, however, it dod not live up to my expectations. My room was so small, that the door opened outwards. There was a stale, musty smell in the room and wireless did not work. Honestly, I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms and beds where ok and clean, the breakfast was ok but not special. 'Shared bathroom' was indeed shared, but not with 2 rooms but minimal 5 and the shower didn't worked to well. The house was very old and for that reason, noisy. The management was not that friendly, the people who worked there, were.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balfour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balfour Inn

Address: 1064 Balfour Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Balfour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balfour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.