We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Balfour Inn

The Balfour Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Balfour Inn to your Saves list
The Balfour Inn
1064 Balfour Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1X1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst ever!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Smelly rooms, bad bed's totally not what you expect for this price. left after one horrible night (snoring came true the floors!) We left to a other place just $20 more per night in DT vancouver!
My advice, don't go there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I chose this B & B based on the beautiful website, however, it dod not live up to my expectations. My room was so small, that the door opened outwards. There was a stale, musty smell in the room and wireless did not work. Honestly, I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms and beds where ok and clean, the breakfast was ok but not special. 'Shared bathroom' was indeed shared, but not with 2 rooms but minimal 5 and the shower didn't worked to well. The house was very old and for that reason, noisy. The management was not that friendly, the people who worked there, were.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We were glad we chose the Balfour. We had been looking at lower-priced places near Chinatown and Gastown, but it was not that far (we had a car) to get to this beautiful old neighborhood and it felt relaxed and quiet. Our dog-friendly room turned out to be in the basement and was a little bit oddly furnished, but it was roomy and comfortable enough, and had a refrigerator. There was actually a full kitchen in the basement too though we didn't use it. Breakfast was simple but adequate and the lady who cooked for us couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed chatting with fellow guests over breakfast, but that was the only time we ever saw anyone. There were nice outdoor tables in the pretty garden where we spent time on the laptop planning our next moves. There were dog parks within easy walk too. All in all a nice base to explore Vancouver from, and very affordable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

It's a charming old place that has a great deal of potential but is really pretty dirty. The bedding was clean but the carpets were stained, blinds broken, dead ladybugs all over the place and just a general feeling of grubiness....not the kind of place that I would walk around without shoes on. The staff are lovely but speak very little English, which makes booking by phone very difficult! When I booked I was told that my room had a shared bathroom but that they would never book someone into a room that shared the same bathroom unless they were booked solid or if it was a group booking, the next night a couple was sharing my bathroom and we were the only guests there. Also the bathroom that we shared did not have a shower...just a tub. Under the current ownership I would not book again and it's really too bad because the place could be great with a little love.

Room Tip: Get one with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I visited Vancouver General Hospital for a few days.adn this B&B is located in a safe great area, close to the hospital and has a reasonable internet connection. Everything else about it is substandard.
The beds are squeaky and broken, the sofa in the room was filthy (we could not sit on it). Our room was not cleaned for 3 whole days. They did not provide enough towels and on days no towels at all!!. We had to buy out own soap.
I will not stay in this place again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

This is not a flashy hotel- it is the opposite. Probably set in the most exclusive neighbourhood in Western Canada... About 10 mins walk away from BC Children's Hospital - which made it really easy for us to visit our niece. They offer a discount for those who need a room to visit loved ones in hospital. Having stayed in many bed and breakfasts in England and Italy - you get a very average breakfast here - but it is in such a safe neighbourhood and we love to walk! The internet was a bit unreliable but it is such a big house... We found that sitting in the main reception room had good signal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balfour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balfour Inn

Address: 1064 Balfour Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Balfour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balfour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.