We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - apart from room 400!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis Hotel to your Saves list
St. Regis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Hotel
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good value - apart from room 400!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Got a good rate for this hotel and stayed 4 nights. We were put into room 400 at first and it was TINY!! (See photo). The TV cabinet was in front of the window with a chair in front of it so that you couldn't open the drawers. If you moved the chair out of the way, you couldn't get into the bathroom! We could barely walk round the bed and couldn't put our suitcases anywhere that didn't block the door. Not a very good start.

We complained and were told that they were full that night but they could move us the next day. We moved into a much bigger room with a fridge, large bathroom and two double beds. It was lovely, and we then started to really enjoy our stay.

The hotel is in an excellent location with a great bar next door and a starbucks the other side. The free breakfast was more than adequate and a bonus for a city centre hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel but make sure you're not in room 400!

  • Liked — The location and the rare free breakfast.
  • Disliked — The tiny room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    348
    51
    25
    7
See reviews for
198
875
128
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of August. Great central location without being too noisy. The hotel was great value (booked through the internet for about £57 a night B&B) - other hotels seemed to be considerably more expensive and weren't any better located. The rooms were fine. Breakfast was a bit busy around the 9:00 deadline, but not a problem.

  • Liked — Location, Price
  • Disliked — Breakfast - a bit busy.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell,WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

We only stayed over night, however to my surprise the hotel was great. The location is central to everything, clean and quiet. Service was GREAT. We had breakfast at the hotel (although not a lot of food choices) the staff was very kind. They offered to run my son's sippy cup through the dishwasher. Worth the stay.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Disliked — AC is very loud.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

We spent two night here in July 2007. The hotel is in a lovely heritage building very close to Robson Street and all the other central parts of the city. The rooms were quite small but the decor was modern and the air conditioning worked! The hotel is real value for money in a city where you can pay a lot of money for a hotel room. Breakfast is served in the basement area and is a help-yourself affair. My husband was disappointed that there was no hot food but I really enjoyed the continental food on offer (toast, yoghurt, fresh fruit and muffins). Staff were very helpful. We walked from the hotel to the bike hire shop close to Stanley Park and spent most of the day riding around the park and the city's sea wall. This was a highlight for us as you get to see most of the city and see all the health-conscious Vancouver residents as they roller-blade past you. Would stay at this hotel again if we return to Vancouver.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Our group had to book a lot of rooms last minute because our previous reservations fell through. This hotel is not ostentatious, it is actually difficult to find their front entrance, but the staff is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable, particularly for the rates they charge, and it's a good downtown location. They know what amenities are needed and how to keep costs down. All the rooms are labeled "suites". There are down comforters, and large pillows. We had a double room which included 2 full size beds (some other hotels in Vancouver have double rooms with twin size beds), a couch, bureau, TV, and desk. Shampoo and soap are in dispensers attached in the tub. Our room was decently sized, but I think all the room layouts are different. The rooms have window AC units, which is difficult to use, because you have to keep the curtains open to get any airflow, and there was an office building across the street, so you have to weigh the options between a cool room and privacy. We had brought a little mini fan which helped to circulate the air.

You need a key card to access the elevators and the stairwells are locked most of the day, so the building is pretty secure. Breakfast is included in the morning in a lower level eating area. It is the same everyday: assortment of breads and muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee, hot chocolate, and tea. If you want something hot, there is a Tim Hortons across the street and Starbucks attached to the hotel.

The hotel is within walking distance to Gastown, Pacific Centre Mall, and the convention center/cruise dock.

The only negative thing about this hotel is there is no onsite parking. They recommend you park your car at Pacific Centre Mall, which is the most expensive place (though secure) at $22/day (if you park on Sunday it is only $4, but you have to move your car by 5am the next day). I found many lots within walking distance that were considerably cheaper around Gastown, where I could park my car for $12/day (near Cordova and Cambie).

  • Liked — price, beds, and location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

The St Regis Hotel was perfect for our 5 day vacation in Vancouver. The location is excellent, less than 10 minute walk from shopping, the museum, and several outstanding restaurants. The hotel is extremely clean and we felt very secure the entire time. All rooms are no-smoking, beds were very comfortable - bathrooms are a bit small but very nicely up-dated. (We'd recommend the 4th or 5th floor if you are a light sleeper.)
Front desk staff was cordial, but not overly knowledgable or helpful (with the exception of Prisca - she was excellent). Free continental breakfast was not elaborate but was a nice touch. No parking at the hotel, but paying $10-15 per night to park one block away in a very secure garage was not overly inconvenient.
The hotel is flanked by a Starbucks, a Convenient store, and Jesters pub putting all of life's necessaties 60 seconds away!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the action!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Just recently arrived back from a great trip to Vancouver where we stayed at the St Regis Hotel. Managed to book this for £48 per room per night on the Internet which also included a complimentary breakfast.
The breakfast consisted of toast, fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt. It was a self service affair - to be honest it wasn't the best breakfast I have ever had, the breakfast room was OK, a bit dull but clean and tidy and the food was of an average standard but for the price we paid we were more than happy with it.
The hotel staff were very pleasant and the our room was a good size, plenty of storage space, very big bed and a good sized bathroom. Also the maids were in every day to change towels and tidy up and the air conditioning unit worked great.
The location is also great, there is a good pub (Jesters) next door and a Starbucks - also very close to the Skytrain (a few steps from the front door) and we were within walking distance of lots of restaurants and attractions.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.