We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, I didn't know service like this still existed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis Hotel to your Saves list
St. Regis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Hotel
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Meansville, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW, I didn't know service like this still existed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I don't usually do this sort of thing, but the experience of visiting Vancouver and staying at the St. Regis this weekend has impressed me so much, I can't imagine not acknowledging the service and hospitality shown by the staff. All of the staff we came in contact with were extremely polite and service driven. I was born and raised in south Georgia, so hospitality is part of my roots, however, I know that the service one receives in today's society is considerably diminished in general. I am proud to advise you that hospitality is alive and well at St. Regis.
As often the case, there is always one individual that stands out in the crowd, and the St. Regis has one such employee. Mr. Craig Lundgrea has to be the most courteous, polite, giving, and personable person I have encountered in my 30 years of travel. I'm not sure what Craig's job description or title is, but he seems to be everywhere and does everything, and he seems to be here ALL THE TIME! He has made us feel as if we are the only patrons here. Of course, I am sure all the other guests would say the same. His friendly and outgoing personality draws you in and he does everything in his power to make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. "It's not my job" will never cross his lips, he personally handles any and every request. Thank you for an extremely memorable stay, and thank you for having top shelf associates such as Craig.
For any reading this review and making plans to visit Vancouver, do yourself a favor and make reservations at St. Regis, you won't regret it!

P.S. Tell Craig we said "hello".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    348
    51
    25
    7
See reviews for
198
876
128
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel was reallly nice, rooms seemed to have new furniture - everything was really clean and stylish. The hotel is a bit hidden and you have to use a public parking garage nearby but it's safe and just a block away. The hotel is walking distance to Chinatown and gastown but that also means it borders an area where you would see homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk. They had a nice continental breakfast in the morning and the staff was very friendly offering tips for restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to our room which was large and comfortable. The hotel had recently been refurbished to a high standard and is in a very central location in downtown Vancouver making for easy access to many attractions. Breakfasts, which were included, were excellent and could set you up for the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Fantastic hotel in the heart of downtown. 3 blocks to ship terminal/Seabus. 4 blocks to Gastown. 1 block to Skytrain (ride to airport for $3.75 in 24 min.) Very nice room with soft, comfortable bed. Large, well equipped bathroom. Adjoining restaurants, pub & Starbucks were all very good. Included cooked-to-order breakfast was very good as was the buffet. The staff made you feel like family. Kudos to Craig, Breanne and Benjamin for their help. Sightseeing busses picked us up around the corner. What's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We only stayed a night. Our room was very clean and tidy. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West LA, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis for 5 days as part of our first trip to Vancouver. All in all, the experience was excellent.

Upsides:
The room itself (including the bathroom) was clean, spacious and modern. The staff were incredibly helpful, very capable of providing directions sights and recommendations. One member of the staff even dug into his own pockets to help us make change for bus fare. Other great perks were the location (just one block from the metro), free local phone calls (amazing in this day and age), and free wifi.

Downsides:
The breakfast which was just o.k., mainly because some of the wait staff are not good communicators. (Example, my wife asked for TWO fried eggs, "over-easy." The waitress asked what that was and we (assuming that perhaps fried egg terminology was different in Canada than the US) explained that it means to flip the fried egg over halfway through cooking so both sides of the white are cooked and the yolk is cooked slightly. Her response, "oh, that's called a fried egg." She returned a few minutes later with one fried egg, over hard. Go team!)
Breakfasts aside, the stay was just about perfect. The only other thing that could have been improved is that the low-flow showerhead was very weak -- the kind that requires you to rise off one inch of your body at a time.

Overall:
But in the grand scheme of things, the St. Regis is one of the best hotels of this class that we've ever stayed in. Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Great place to stay ,particularly, if going on a cruise as Canada Place Ship Terminal is 3 blocks away. Great shopping in Gastown streets also 3 blocks away. Free, full, made to order breakfast. Very Tasty! About $30.00 cab fare from the airport and $6.00 cabfare to Ship Terminal IF you have too much luggage to walk. ROOM 201 was extremely nice and quiet ! Large walk-in closet with bath robes! We wish we could duplicate the room and especially the bathroom here in our own home in Pennsylvania.
The manager, Jerimy, and his staff were extremely helpful and accomodating !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.