We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Wedgewood Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #7 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying here and again we were amazed at the impeccable service and attention to detail. We were upgraded to to a room with a corner soaker tub and balcony. Very beautiful room and decor. The decor is European so if you are looking for modern edgy look this hotel is not for you. The staff at this hotel is amazing. Great attention to the smallest detail. They come every night and make your bed pretty and give you fresh water and cookies. We also ate at the Bacchus restaurant and can honestly say it was one of the best meals we have had. I can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    86
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
69
310
34
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scole, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Comfortable room, beautifully decorated and spacious, staff very helpful and pleasant. Had a continental breakfast which was more than enough for us. The dining area was very relaxed with comfortable armchairs and coffee tables as well as the more formal tables. Centrally located but not in a noisy location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been staying at the Wedgewood since they opened about 29 years ago. It is charming, elegant and in a good location. It does not seem quite as perfectly run as when Eleni Skalbania was around. The continental breakfast was way below standards I have come to expect. The pastries were poor. Where did they get the croissants? They did not flake and were rubbery. The decaf coffee at best was served luke warm,even after a second cup was requested.
The room I had booked was not what we got, but the manager made nice and sent up some wine and a cheese plate. In fact the staff was very accommodating.
Housekeeping missed picking up dirty washcloths from the shower and the bulb in the tri-lite lamp was not fixed although we had requested this. The television is a bit dated and not user. friendly.
We will be having dinner in Bacchus tonight. I am hopeful that it will be far better than the breakfast.Dinner was very good and again excellent service , but the room did not have the turndown even though I left the service required card on the door. So the hotel is not what it was unfortunately and certainly not up to the Relais et Chateau standards that we have come to expect.

Room Tip: The view on Robson Square is nice especially with sunrise..the construction site across the way is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Wedgwood hotel near robson square in Vancouver. This hotel met every requirement for us. The front office staff were simply wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was centrally located near transport and restaurants. The rooms were beautifully appointed and we had great views over robson square. This is a home away from home.

Room Tip: Request room with a view over robson square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuan Islands,Wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Wedgewood several times and i cannot say enough about it. I was a died in the wool Hotel Vancouver fan but on one occasion could not get a room there, was told about this and gave it a shot, have not stayed at the Hotel Vancouver since. This trip was a business trip that took me to New West, I knew nothing about hotels there and since it was my partners first time in Vancouver I booked us into the Wedgewood. Upon arrival I was told they couldn't find my room reservation, they never missed a beat, they informed me that the room I requested was sold out but they would upgrade me free of charge to a larger suite as i had stayed with them often. This is precisely why I love this place, it is about customer satisfaction first and foremost. Granted, I have only stayed there a half a dozen times but in makes no difference to them, in my experience they treat everyone very well. Great bar for happy hour, I have never eaten at Bacchus as I am always on the lookout for ethnic food but have been told it is one of the city's finest. Do yourself a favor and give it a shot, look for off season deals on their web site, you can definitely save yourself some money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is an excellent hotel; warm and inviting with impecable service. We booked a delux excecutive king room and when we arrived were lucky to be upgraded to a beautiful suite on the 9th floor - room 901.

The quality of furnishings and decoration in the rooms were excellent. Gilchrest & Soames toiletries, large fluffy bathrobes and comfy slippers make the experience even more enjoyable.

The bed is large and comfortable, with divinely soft down pillows and excellent bed linens. The bathroom, although fairly small, was well fitted, with lovely Frett towels. The sitting room area was very spacious, with a large sofa, comfortable chair, ocasional tables and an LG flat screen TV. There's a desk in both the sitting room and lobby area, so there's plenty of space for two people to work if necessary. We also experienced good (free) internet service.

There's a second TV in the bedroom and two separate wardrobes, so plenty of space for luggage. There's also a bar with bar stools and a fridge, plus tea/coffee making facilities.. There are sliding doors that lead out from the sitting room on to a lovely balcony where you can sit and enjoy the views overlooking the city.

In the evening we enjoyed sitting in the warm and inviting piano bar, where you can also take breakfast and dinner. Highly recommended hotel in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Wedgewood Hotel & Spa and found it to be a small, intimate hotel of high calibre. We were lucky to have a room upgrade and were a bit surprised to find a spa bath in a corner of our bedroom! The decor was classic and a bar-type area at the other end of the room from the balcony which looked out over the street and the city of Vancouver. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the city and we walked all over town with no trouble at all. Downstairs is a lovely restaurant called Bacchus where we enjoyed a late night hot chocolate after our city wanderings and adelicious breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately we did not have time to have a proper meal here, we ran short of time, but the menu looked delicious and the atmosphere is very inviting. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa makes for an excellent base in Vancouver with Stanley Park, Granville Island and Gas Town all walking distance away (admittedly you need to like walking!). A delightful stay which we hope to repeat in the future.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel,the street and the city. A little noisy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.