We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway in the heart of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wedgewood Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little getaway in the heart of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Wedgewood for a 'date night away from the kids'. and had an incredible relaxing time. The bellman and frontdesk staff were super friendly and attentive. We loved our beautiful suite...it was elegant and luxurious - with wi-fi, ipod station and 2 flat screens. The bathroom was truly spa-like with a walk-in shower and we had a great balcony overlooking the gardens at Robson Square. We loved the big, comfy bed and the special touches like the delicious freshly baked cookies that were delivered to our room in the evening.

We went to the Bacchus Restaurant for dinner and found a great selection of wines and dinner options. My husband had the halibut and I had the signature risotto. Both of us had amazing meals – not surprised that this restaurant has won so many awards. The staff were attentive and the ambience made us feel like we were truly 'out' for the evening. A nice, fun energy but not too loud.

We treated ourselves to the Spa the next morning. We arrived early and enjoyed the eucalyptus steam room and then had a couples massage which was incredibly nice.

We really love this hotel. It's the perfect combination of old world charm and modern comfort. Felt like a real getaway and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    100
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
83
392
37
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The location, room size and complimentary breakfast were all wonderful. The best thing was really all the personal attention and friendliness of the staff.The staff took a lot of time and trouble to let us know all the best attractions to visit and how to get to them. The attention to detail throughout was really great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Wedgewood has the best hotel location in Vancouver. The art gallery, cinemas, live theatre and shopping activities are all nearby. The staff are friendly and accommodating; the hotel is clean and the bar and dining room are popular. However the rooms facing the alley offer no view- a deadful view- and the hotel's sound attenuation for street and alley noise is poor. The most distressing aspect is that the interiors are very dated and in this respect the hotel is tired and needs sprucing up. It bothers me that an otherwise very good to excellent boutique hotel in the heart of Vancouver is coasting on an early reputation/ambiance and management seems too concerned with continued income to renovate. Clients deserve better..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street. Do not accapt an alley room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

LOCATION: Couldn’t be better. A couple of blocks to the great shops and restaurants of Robson Street. Walkable to Gastown, the waterfront, Roger’s Arena, Queen Elizabeth Theatre and BC Place.

There was a Starbucks just a couple of doors down, making an easy and affordable option for breakfast (although the hotel’s Bacchus lounge/restaurant looked utterly charming.)

ROOMS: Not huge, but lovely and with everything you need. There were only eight rooms on our 9th floor. The wi-fi was free, but sometimes slow. Hall noise occasionally a problem.

My sister, our two daughters and I reserved a room with two double beds. We would have preferred two queen beds but that wasn’t an option. Fortunately, we got a free upgrade to a one-bedroom suite. My daughter slept on the comfortable pull-out couch in the living room and the rest of us shared the two double beds in the bedroom. The beds were pushed together almost like one enormous king-sized bed. This worked fine for us, but the four of us in the two doubles would have been tight!

The bathroom was spacious with a large shower and a big soaking tub. They had generous portions of soaps, shampoos and other toiletries. We had four cozy bathrobes and disposable slippers, too.

A nice-sized box of chocolates awaited us in our room at check-in. This complimentary gift made our female quartet exceptionally happy.

We had a huge outdoor patio with two chairs and a small table, making a nice place for breakfast.

We enjoyed the efficient housekeeping and evening turn-down service with cookies and bottled water. Need a couple extra pillows or somebody to make up your pull-out couch? Our call instantly delivered a staff member.

VALET: Such fun to be greeted by the smiling valets out front! One even wore a top hat. We stayed only two nights, but everyone seemed to know us at the door and the front desk right away. The staff seemed exceptionally friendly and eager to please.

PARKING: No problem--they grabbed our bags and whisked our car away before we knew it. The parking fee was $19 per night. (With tax and fees, our room totaled about $300 per night for the four of us, not counting the parking.)

AMENITIES: We checked out the spacious gym with plenty of modern equipment. Off the gym we found a large, leafy terrace with several outdoor tables.

Down the hall there was a small but efficient business office with computer and fax machine. We didn’t use the spa, but it smelled and looked inviting.

OVERALL: The Wedgewood has all the advantages and class of any big high-end hotel, but with the charm and warmth of a smaller place. I’ve stayed at Vancouver’s Hyatt for business many times. This trip was for pleasure and we picked the Wedgewood. I preferred the Wedgewood, hands-down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is warm, welcoming and excellent in every regard. We checked in late but there was still a full desk staff on duty and a doorman. Suite was lovely, beautifully appointed. Every detail was perfect. The complimentary breakfast served in the lounge was excellent. We had cappucinos, granola parfait, juice and a pastry choice. Service staff was extraordinary...friendly, polite and prompt. We highly reommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Forget the Fairmont which is a block away & stay here instead. Great rooms, all with balconies and every amenity. Service here is extraordinary. Bar, restaurant & room service all excellent. Great location.

Room Tip: Rooms in front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed in april 2013 for three nights. everything was great. room had small balcony. clean. older, but very well kept. charming. great restaurant and bar in lobby. service excellent. comfy bed. good central location to walk to everything in downtown. would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Chateaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.