We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wedgewood Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Christmas 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had out Company Christmas Party at the Wedgewood Hotel and I can say without a doubt, the food and service was absolutely outstanding. They catering manager came around several times to make sure all is well, the room was beautifully decorated and we had that Christmassy feeling with the fire place going and nicely decorated Christmas Tree.
I stayed over in the hotel and the room was great, bed was comfy. Turn-down service with cookies and water, and newspaper in the morning. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    96
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
80
364
34
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

From arrival to departure, this place is first class all the way. The bell men are terrific--not only with baggage but also with ehlpful suggestions for shopping, restaurants and entertainment.
The newly redesigned exercise room is a great addition to an already excellent place to relax for a few days.
When checking out recently, my daughter realized she left some jewelry in the room safe. We called the front desk(several hours after checking out) and asked if they would go to the room and see if still there. Not only did they check but they promptly mailed the jewelry to us. Thats good service.
We could not be happier

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I drove to Vancouver from Los Angeles, and this last leg of the trip was by myself. My travelling companion went AWOL so I ended up having to spend 2 days in Vancouver alone--a sad turn of events but for the Wedgewood Hotel!

When I pulled up in the rain, the valet was ready with an umbrella over my head. They whisked the bags out of the car, and by the time I got to the front desk, the check in staff was waiting for me. The service was really impeccable and they ended up giving me a pretty room with chocolate chips cookies waiting inside. The bellhop who took me upstairs was super friendly (and forgiving when I had to tip in US dollars since I didn't have any Canadian ones).

The room was slightly dingy but the bed was very very comfortable, the lighting was great, and the work space was perfect. I even had a huge balcony...but at 40 degrees outside, I didn't much feel like sitting out there. The room included complimentary water and a coffee maker plus a newspaper in the morning. All little touches that added up! The only downside was that the Wifi (free) was too slow to stream anything on Youtube or Netflix.

My room included breakfast--a continental one down in the lovely dining room. The server there was incredibly friendly and did not make me feel weird for eating alone.

Then I had a whole day ahead of me by myself, so the concierge (Christine) mapped out plenty of things for me to do--she was terrific!

I should mention that the bathroom was the best part of my room by far--huge bathtub, wonderful amenities, and tons of space.

I don't think I'll go back to Vancouver--really, I didn't have a good time in the city--but I'd go back to the Wedgewood for sure. It is top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Not to repeat the many good things said about this wonderful establishment here in T.A., I can only second all the recent Excellent reviews given here about this hotel & restaurant. Every staff member in this hotel goes out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. One particular experience on Oct 27th 2012 after a delicious birthday dinner, prompted me to return with my lady to experience the hotel & spa facilities. I would especially like to say THANK YOU to Tristan, one of the many courteous bellman working the front door. At the end of our meal around 11pm, while waiting in vain for a Taxi during a rainy night in Vancouver, he offered to chauffeur us back to our hotel in his private car, 8km out of his way. It was the end of his shift and he surely wanted to go home, but instead literally went the extra miles to help us.

While it's a well-known fact that many celebrities stay at this hotel, no one here name-drops or asserts any kind of elite status. You are made to feel like a celebrity, no matter who you are.

While summer-peak prices for their rooms are a little out of my personal budget range, I very much applaud them for offering special deals during the winter months so that average income earners can enjoy a little bit of that royal treatment.

On to their Spa:
The deep-tissue massage was executed with great skill and knowledge of the human anatomy. Ask for Melissa if you have a sore shoulder or sciatica problems. On the island where we live, my RMT doesn't even do as good a job as her. Don't forget to visit the hot-steam room afterwards to really enhance the rejuvenating experience.

A quick comment about the food. While it's no trouble sitting down for a 5 course high $$$ meal, you can also sit in the lounge or in your room and simply order a duck-confit flatbread for just $15 that will blow you away.

I've stayed in Relais & Chateaux hotels in Europe, and this rarity here in Western Canada, lives up to those high standards in every aspect. Go on, spoil yourself once in a while.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a higher-floor room facing Robson Square, if you enjoy a city view like we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in a lovely city. The position is perfect in downtown Vancouver so that all the amenities of this city are within easy walking distance.The ambience of the hotel lounge and restaurant is superb. The bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and the beds to die for with lovely cotton sheets and all the top of the range amenities that you expect from a first class Relais Chateaux hotel.The restaurant provide a truly memorable meal with lovely wines in a very relaxing atmosphere and excellent service.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly.We had breakfasts in our room and we had exactly what we wanted and ordered down to the last letter.
We have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and when we are in Vancouver we always stay here and they actually note that we have been before which is always appreciated.
We did not use the Spa but It looks very good.

Room Tip: All the ones we have stayed in have been excellent I don't think they do bad rooms !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Recently my husband surprised me by booking a night at this magnificent home away from home. From the moment we stepped out of the car i felt like we were royalty. The front desk staff greeted us by name and welcomed us warmly. We stayed in a suite which was gorgeous. A box of chocolates and a personalized note welcoming us is such a beautiful touch. We experienced the lounge and the restaurant and the food and service was exquisite. i guess the most impressive detail of this hotel is the ability to find that line between making guests feel warm and welcome from beginning to end, but also delivering a polish and sophistication that make one feel like royalty. Thankyou Eleni, you must feel so accomplished <3

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Wedgewood for 2 nights in one of the suites. Superb facilities, service and food. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was spacious. It seemed that every time we left the room and returned the staff had left us a "gift", cookies, chocolates etc...! Great location. The breakfast was superb. All in all one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Chateaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.