We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Grand Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Grand Vancouver to your Saves list
Westin Grand Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Robson Street and Homer Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is situated in the centre of Vancouver, it is ideally located to let you explore Vancouver. We found the staff most helpful with any queries we had. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. We had a suite and it was more than adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments Pauline! We hope your travels bring you back across the pond soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    370
    101
    36
    17
See reviews for
211
378
76
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the Westin Grand several times as a couple. We just returned from our first family vacation there (June 30 - July 6), where we used it as home base for ourselves and our 7 year old daughter. It was an excellent stay. The suite is spacious, and we loved our little balcony for morning coffee. Having a kitchenette is awesome when traveling with kids - we undoubtedly saved money eating cereal and fruit in the suite each morning. The hotel is very centrally located - we walked to Yaletown to take the ferry to Granville Island, and could easily walk down Robson Street to shopping, restaurants etc. (Granted, we live in New York City so an "easy" walk to us could seem a bit far to someone else). The outdoor pool, hot tub and deck were great - we swam most mornings with our daughter, and alway found another kid or two for her to play with - people were friendly and the vibe was very relaxed. Everything is clean and comfortable, not super luxurious but certainly upscale. We need to give a special shout-out to Lisa, the concierge. She did 2 extraordinary things: (1) got me an appointment with her own personal dentist when I had an unexpected dental issue on vacation; and (2) made friends with our daughter and looked out for us during the week. She was great and we will definitely be back to the Westin Grand Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear patchNewYork,

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome your family! We're delighted you enjoyed Vancouver so much, and that Lisa, our start Concierge, was able to make your visit so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Grand Vancouver at the beginning of our vacation in Vancouver, just before we went over to Vancouver Island. The hotel is very nice and in a really great area of Vancouver. We could walk to the water shuttle to take us over to Granville Island as well as nice places to eat. Our room was very nice with a very nice view of the city. We would definitely stay at the Westin Grand Vancouver again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher level room. It was not very expensive, gave us a corner room and a very nice su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Eyedoc44,

Thank you for visiting us! Great choice taking the Aqua Bus to Granville Island, it's one of our guests' top favourite attractions! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've got back from a stay in Vancouver in the Westin Grande. I was so disappointed with the room I could not wait to get out of it. The pictures show fabulous views of ceiling to floor windows, well not in 908. We booked a superior suite with queen bed 4 months ago for 4 days, so I think they had plenty of time to get us a decent room. The furniture and fittings I can't fault, however this room has view of the rooftop a floor below, is right at the back of the hotel, is hemmed in by high rise and certainly does not have 'picturesque windows highlighting cityscapes or mountain views ' as advertised. We were too tired too complain or move rooms, having arrived from travelling in the Yukon, so just put up with it. It was not what I was looking forward to. The air con vent in the bedroom was pointed directly at the bed making it very uncomfortable to sleep with it blasting in the face, and the wardrobes were basically 2 cupboards, one of which was in the living area. Also an ice machine in the corridor was on a connecting wall next to the bed and could be heard filling up with water constantly, which sounded like a flushing toilet all night. Finally, as other reviews, the lift was impossible to get without at least a 10 minute wait, ridiculous to have just 2 small lifts for a hotel with 31 floors. I'm not one to gripe normally, but this room was just not acceptable. I only wish I'd had the energy to complain, but I did not want to ruin my trip of a lifetime by getting into a confrontation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Joan85,

Thank you for your review, my sincere apologies that the room you were placed in did not offer the view you were expecting. While we certainly try to place every guest in the view suites, unfortunately this is just not possible. I'm so sorry that this ruined your experience with us.

Our staff is here to assist, I wish you had called, we may have been able to offer you some alternatives to the room you were in, our staff our excellent and care deeply about your experience, there would have been no confrontation.

Please if you return, I invite you to reach out to me, this way I can provide you with some options regarding your room.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful, from great dining recommendations to service in the restaurant to directions to local attractions. The hotel is close to many great Vancouver attractions, including the AquaBus, BC Place, Yaletown and Library Square. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had a nice view of the many high-rise buildings in the area. Even though our room was near the elevator, we experienced no noise. The fitness center was crowded in the mornings but there seemed to be enough room for guests to do yoga, lift weights, and use the cardio and weight machines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments svd92708! It looks like you really got to experience the best of Vancouver during your visit.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

1) room furniture was frayed
2) no wifi anywhere in hotel without paying
3) ran out of set of towels when they did our room
4) nothing else to say but there is a 200 character minimum which does not make sense nothing else to say nothing else to say

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear e a,

Thank you for your review, I apologize that your stay did not go well with us. We actually do offer complimentary wifi in our lobby/restaurant space, I'm sorry that you were not made aware of this.

I will certainly follow up with housekeeping regarding towels, we have a full stock so even if the particular housekeeper did not have enough, more towels should have been sent to your room after the fact.

I certainly hope that you will consider staying with us again should you return to Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I really loved the location of this property. It's right in the heart of everything....quick bike ride to Stanley Park, great shopping and restaurants, quick drive to the Capilano Suspension Bridge, highways, etc, etc. Fantastic concierge service. My only complaint is the ridiculously slow elevators!! They opened slow, they closed slow and the wait time was insane.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite, it gives you a tiny bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear jkarr,

Thank you for staying with us! We especially appreciate the comments about our Concierge Team. They're the best in the city and we feel so fortunate to have them. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Address: 433 Robson Street and Homer Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Grand Vancouver offers stylish guest suites. Downtown location on Robson Street at the edge of Yaletown near hip shops, exciting theatre, vibrant nightlife and tantalizing restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Grand Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.