We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location for enjoying Robson St.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added The Listel Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer in the City
Ranked #30 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous location for enjoying Robson St.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked The Listel Hotel in Vancouver for a layover so that I can relax on Robson for a day. The hotel is in an excellent location situated right on Robson Street. Shops and restaurants galore.

Signage is a bit smaller so those unfamiliar with the hotel location may easily miss it, especially if wandering at night. Best of all, I used public transportation from the airport and did not have to incur the horrid high parking expense. I recommend this place for walking/public transit users with light luggage, not so much for those with vehicles if parking fee is an issue (around $36/day).

I got the most basic bedroom with bed, flat screen tv, small work desk, minifridge and coffee maker. The work desk had sufficient amount of plug-ins. Bathroom was clean but a bit outdated in decor. One of the more interesting touches was the inclusion of an anthology of Canadian short stories in the bedside table drawer. Some were pretty interesting

I noted that there wasn't much art in the basic room. A few pieces are enclosed in glass cases facing the elevators on each floor and there were some unique pieces out front in the lobby... red men in some sort of crouch/squat position. A visit to the Museum of Anthropology is still warranted as the pieces there will not do justice to the actual Museum from where the artwork is curated. I think there may be more artwork in the meeting rooms but I did not have a chance to look through them. One of the more interesting touches was the inclusion of an anthology of Canadian short stories in the bedside table drawer. Some were pretty interesting.

I did not have a chance to use the fitness centre but did order room service breakfast from Forage, their restaurant downstairs. Food is decent but the menu is limited. On the bright side, they are able to accommodate my gluten free needs.

Staff were friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    383
    108
    38
    11
See reviews for
126
394
78
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wanted to give this hotel a try as in a prime location but charging $36 for parking was a very rough start to our stay. Quite the rip off. Sandman downtown does not even charge me when I go there. We brought our HDMI cord to be able to watch a movie to settle in for night and the tv is so old and dated that we could not get the tv to switch to video and tried for over 30 mins. We were told by front staff to simply turn to channel 58, how is that possible?, so that was not helpful at all. Had to move out the huge tv stand to get at back of tv as the tv was so tightly tucked in that it was a real pain in the rump. Room is just ok but small in size for the regular rate and the fridge will not even fit one wine bottle. Back to the tv situation...picture was fuzzy, tv is small and hardly any channels at all. No pool, no hot tub so why can they not offer free or parking at a good rate and have updated tvs that allow you to plug in your laptop using an HDMI cord as we are living in the year 2013 now! ???

Room Tip: Book Sandman Inn or somewhere you know that will allow you to plug in your laptop to watch Netflix e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_M0ckf0rd, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and further to my telephone call to you following your departure please know that some of our flat-screen HD enabled televisions do not work with laptops; however most of our flat-screen HD enabled televisions will work fine with laptops. Please make the reservations agent or guest service agent aware of your TV needs and you will be provided with an appropriate room. Parking in Vancouver is expensive, not as expensive as many cities, Seattle, San Francisco, Toronto, New York etc… but still – expensive. Our hotel charges $29 per night plus taxes this is a typical price for overnight parking in the popular Robson Street area. I checked with the Sandman Hotel and found that they charge $18 plus taxes for overnight parking they are located in a less popular area of Vancouver near the edge of the downtown core.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked the book, bed and breakfast package on September 29, 2013. Fantastic room, incredible restaurant, and one of the stories in the book was written by Alice Munro, the Nobel winner for literature.

Room Tip: All rooms are set back from the street by the lobby and restaurant. We had a front facing room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed here a few times before and always enjoyed it and this trip was no different. The location is perfect most attractions easily walkable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant and all the food we had was outstanding. The dinner was probably one of the best we had on our trip. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Clean rooms, interesting art exhibits, and right in the middle of Robson Street, which gives you plenty of access to local nightlife. Much more affordable than most properties around town. I would totally stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome on arrival. Very helpful with directions and booking restaurant for evening meal. Excellent location for sightseeing in Vancouver. Rooms very comfortable. Ate breakfast in adjoining restaurant, Forage, and food was very good with friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here two separate nights on our way up to Klemtu and on our return before our flight home.
It's at least 40 minute drive from the airport which seemed a waste of time on our first night as we arrived late and left early but on our 2nd stay we were central to the shops and only a short walk from Stanley Park.
The staff were welcoming and friendly and were very helpful when we had some queries.
Not sure about value for money as our travel agent booked it.
The rooms are comfy and clean, with great black out curtains but don't get a room near the service lift on a Saturday night as its very noisy!
Breakfast was served in the forage restaurant and there wasn't a great deal of it so you may go hungry! We also had an evening meal here which was nice but the portion size was more of a starter - try one of the restaurants opposite, much better value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the service lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Address: 1300 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Listel Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.