We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guilty Pleasure for Business Travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Soleil to your Saves list
Hotel Le Soleil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Guilty Pleasure for Business Travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel Soleil is a boutique hotel in the downtown business and shopping district of Vancouver offering the attentive service and little luxuries that matter to business travelers at a very good value. The staff are well-trained and quick to assist. The doorman and front desk staff remembered my name. I never had a wait for a cab even at 5am to the airport. The quiet rooms all have separate sitting and bedroom areas appointed in a beautiful but understated French grand hotel style. The heat and air is controlled separately in each room and very quiet. Wi Fi is free in room and lobby. There is an in room refrigerator with fresh cream for your French style Keurig coffee and Aveyda products in the bathroom. The on property Copper Chimney Restaurant produces generously portioned room service breakfasts delivered in less than 15 minutes after my call. I am an admitted foodie and very much enjoyed my dinner there as well. The rates for such a first class experience were significantly less than the surrounding big hotels. I used my AAA Travel Club discount. I would have been very happy in this hotel travelling with my husband or girl friends as it is an intimate and gracious atmosphere. Families might better choose a different environment with a pool and more spacious public spaces to fully embrace the enthusiasm of children. I agree with the other reviewers. This is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    226
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
112
327
43
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our visit. The room was nicely decorated with all the amenities we wanted and there was a separate bedroom with a comfortable bed. We had a good breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant with good service and attended a family get together in one of the hotel meeting rooms in the afternoon. There we had a nice buffet and all the privacy we wished. The staff was helpful and we were allowed a late checkout to accommodate our times as well as late parking privileges. A very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

close to everything , just 300 meters from the waterfront. and also close to the shopping area.
staff is very friendly.
the rooms have a window which is for me very important as i don't like the air-conditioning, thus when i passed there i turned off the air-conditioner and would open the window for comfort.
each day you are given 2 capsules for a good quality coffee.
there is a safe in the room, an ironing bord and iron. & an umbrella to use in case of rain i was there in October.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a great place with charming well equipped rooms. The staff is pleasant and goes the extra mile to make the stay as perfect as possible. We were visiting for pleasure and enjoyed coming back to our lovely suite each evening. We stayed fopr 3 nights but wished we were there longer. We will be back !

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views, but they all appeared to be very well maintained and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

GREAT VALUE! This hotel makes it convenient to walk around during the day. Its also about 3 blocks from the city center metro stop that comes from the airport. However the younger nightlife areas of yaletown/granville st/Davie require a short taxi cab unless you want a long walk to your nightly excursions. After booking the hotel, I checked the pictures and was worried because it looked very victorian/old fashioned. It was not. The rooms were charming and spacious. Also note that their fitness center is very small but you can access the YWCA next door for a discounted rate through the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our first ever visit to Vancouver in October 2013. Compared to the luxury hotel properties nearby, this place is priced competitively. The overall value is excellent, especially the location which is in the middle of downtown. The luxurious décor is done tastefully in a faux-fun way, not annoying, and help distract from its spatial shortcomings.

I was a little disappointed to find out this building was built in 1999. I thought rooms this small must have been from a historical building layout! We stayed in a queen bed suite. It is a suite alright: first you enter a living room with couch and TV, then the closet area with bathroom, and at the end is the bedroom. But the bedroom is very small, just enough for a queen bed and some oversized furniture. Mirrors are cleverly placed on one wall to make the space seem larger. But I cannot help but feel we are sleeping in a cute gift box (the wall paper is yellow ribbons), some giant will open the lid of the ceiling in the middle of the night! Window wall is nice feature.

The shower is very large in comparison to the rest of the room, and the water pressure is excellent. Lights in the restroom kept humming, so just used the heat lamp instead. Small living room is very nice feature, gives a different place to hang out in the suite. There are 2 TVs: one in the living room and one in the bedroom.

Service is excellent. The concierge always friendly and helpful. There is always a taxi ready at the door. The lobby gives a very good vibe with its high ceiling.

All in all, this is a cute place that offers excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLS567, General Manager at Hotel Le Soleil, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for making me smile this morning after reading your review. You are correct in saying some of the bedroom spaces are a little tight - but it was nice that you referred to it as a sleeping in a cute gift box. Not all our rooms are the same size, they vary from 350-425 sq ft, but it sounded like you enjoyed having the extra space in the living room and our generous sized bathrooms. I hope you enjoyed your time exploring our city and that you may come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a lovely european styled boutique hotel in the middle of downtown. The suites has separate bedroom and seating areas. Staffs were friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby has fruit at the front for you to grab on the go and uses Aveda bathroom proudcts! YWCA is literally 10 steps away. This is defintely one of the best hotel I ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Soleil

Address: 567 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to details have given the Executive Hotel Le Soleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an exeperience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.