We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Soleil

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Soleil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Soleil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room and Breakfast for 2
Ranked #16 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in downtown Vancouver, close to shopping and restaurants. It is old-school stylish and the rooms are charming and mindful of a time past. Our room had a small sitting room separate from a bedroom with a queen-size bed. I also like that the bathroom is big. It is a little pricey, but the service is completely worth it to me. Check-in is a smooth process, the staff are friendly, and the valet guys are kind. I've stayed here twice and can recommend it whole-heartedly.
There are 2 reasons why I'm not giving it 5 stars.
1. The rooms are "noisy". I don't mean that you can hear other guests (you can hear other guests if they are noisy, but this is true in most hotels). I mean that the room itself creaks or rattles, especially if the wind blows very hard. And because it is downtown surrounded by tall buildings, any noise on the street below is amplified on the 8th floor, so conversations, yelling, garbage pick-up, etc., can make it hard to sleep. One of our stays was a corner room, and this room was extremely noisy compared to the non-corner room we had before.
2. When we asked for directions upon check-out, the staff failed to tell us that the main street leaving the city would be blocked off. We made a few right turns trying to get back to that road, but found it blocked every time. Unfortunately, there are no left turns on many roads in Vancouver, which made it extremely difficult to get back on track. It took us over 45 minutes to get back to the road we needed to be on. Road blocks, festivals, etc., are things that a good hotel should know and warn guests about, in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeSoleil, General Manager at Hotel Le Soleil, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Ntptr,
Appreciate you taking the time post your comments on TA. I am glad you enjoyed your stay & the service you received from our guest services team. I just wanted to address a few of your comments; we are currently replacing the HVAC system in our guestrooms, and not knowing exactly what room you were in, it is quite possible this room is one of the designated ones for replacement, so my apologies for some of the noise created from it. As it relates to the road blocks - it caught us by surprise as well. This was during the Canada Day Parade celebration and the streets leading to and from were scheduled to be closed at 2PM but the City started the process at 9AM - which we were not made of aware of until it actually happened.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    202
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
93
276
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a nice stay recently. The hotel is in a convenient downtown location. Our room didn't have a spectacular view that we have had in other Vancouver hotels (we were on a low floor so not sure about higher floors). We were pleased with our suite that had a living room and bedroom connected by a hallway. We loved our huge king sized bed (although we have experienced more comfortable mattresses). The bathroom had a walk in shower and large sink. There was a large closet, minibar, safe and small fridge (but no microwave).

We found the valet staff to be exceptional. The front desk staff could have been more resourceful though. There was a nice looking restaurant on the main floor - we only carried out a couple of breakfast items so we can't attest to the quality of the dinner/lunch experience. There is a small fitness room with three cardio pieces. They have agreements with the nearby YWCA and Steve Nash fitness centers with an additional fee required.

In general we had a good stay and would consider staying here again due to the large suites, decent quality and central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked a standard room but ended up in a suite.......which is always a nice start. The room was fantastic, comfy bed, large bathroom (shower, no bath) and living room. Very clean, nice decor, excellent staff. Free wi-fi with good coverage in our room. Best of all, it was so quiet. No noise transfer from the corridor or adjacent rooms whatsoever. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeSoleil, General Manager at Hotel Le Soleil, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Blindlemonpie,

What a lovely review of our property. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TA community.

Very happy the you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip over from the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillliwack
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was met truly every expectation we had. From the friendly staff to the lovely room with the gorgeous view. The location was so central to the beautiful city. The food was likely the best Indian we have experienced. The tandoori ovens in the kitchen were amazing as was the staff showing us the sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited Vancouver in Aug 2011 and again Jun 2013 and we had a good experience with this hotel both times. The room is divided as a suite, placing a door in the sleeping area, while the living area is comfortable and has its own TV. The sofa may be converted to a bed. We liked this hotel's prices, location and service. It's in the heart of downtown Vancouver, also near Canada Place (the cruise ship terminal). A short walk and there are plenty of restaurants and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here on our final night in Vancouver. Lovely hotel in a great location with the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in. Booking online at booking.com saved us $40 on the price. Easy walking distance to Gastown and the Waterfront and all the attractions contained there. The Skytrain station is also only a five minute walk which means if you are coming from (or going to) the airport you are only looking at a 30 minute journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay. There is a lot to see and do within walking distance of the hotel and the staff is very helpful in recommending things to do. My wife used the concierge to book a massage and it turned out to be one of the best she has ever had. The only downside that I can think of is parking is a little difficult with it being downtown. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Soleil

Address: 567 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to details have given the Executive Hotel Le Soleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an exeperience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.