We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Soleil

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Soleil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Soleil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #19 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Would highly recommend!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with our 3 month old baby - we had a king suite room, on the 11th floor. The hotel set up a crib with bedding for us, prior to arrival, all we had to do was ask. The bath products are aveda, there is timothys coffee for the keurig coffee maker, the bed is incredibly soft and comfortable and best of all the hotel was located within a 5 minute walk in one direction to Robson St and a 5 to 7 minute walk to the waterfront! Free WIFI. The copper chimney was also very good - the service was impeccable and the food was quite good for indian.

Would definitely stay here again, great for couples or a family!!

One small thing that was rather irritatiing was that the hotel website shows pics of the YWCA which is next door, and you pay a drop in fee to use (so essentially, it has nothing to do with the hotel). In some ways, it seems like false advertising, as they should indicate on their website that this is the facility close by and not complimentary. With that being said, they have 3 cardio machines on the 2nd floor with a TV and bottled water, which was nice.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you have kids or want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    200
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
91
274
41
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nicely appointed room with sitting area, separate bathroom and bedroom. Fridge and coffee machine also in room. Location is right downtown and close to lots of activities (walk or take the train or bus).

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Le Soleil is a very nice, old European style, boutique hotel in downtown Vancouver. It is walking distance from the harbour, most shopping centres and Robson Street. The rooms are relatively small but well divided with a living room and a separate bedroom. It is surprisingly quiet and the bed is excellent.

My stay, however, was not perfect. I was first put in a room on the 5th floor that was really warm. I realized that the thermostat was not working and called the front desk. They sent someone within 5 minutes and he did some work to try to repair the issue. That did not work and an hour later, I had to call again the front desk. My room was at 25c (76F) and could not get any cooler. They sent again someone who realized the issue was bigger than expected. At the end, I got moved to another room on the 12th floor but it took more than 2 hours to resolve this issue.

Here are some small other drawbacks that I noticed:
- The lack of parking. Valet parking is the only solution.
- There is also no swimming pool or fitness centre but you can go to the YMCA next door as a walk-in for a very small fee.
- My room did not have a bathtube but a very large shower instead

Le soleil has Groupon coupons available on a regular basis during the low season. It’s a great opportunity to discover a very nice, stylish, well located hotel at a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel both times I've visited Vancouver in the last two years and they have been consistently stellar. I honestly don't know the room rates, as my father-in-law paid both times, but the quality of rooms and service are top notch. I've stayed in many hotels around North America and I don't think I've stayed in a nicer place. The location is also quite central to everything I would want in downtown Vancouver. Just a few blocks over to Rogers Arena for the Canucks' games, three blocks to the waterfront, two blocks to Eaton's Centre, SkyTrain/Seabus, etc.

Room Tip: Both times I stayed in a room that faced the street (fifth floor, I believe) and the street noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Le Soleil is a charming hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver. It is splendidly located, and has a delightful staff. My room was a mini-suite with an excellent view. The staff was very helpful (the doorman not only remembered my name by the second day, but made enquiry about the restaurant where I had dinner).

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bath products were plentiful. I enjoy boutique hotels, and Hotel Soleil is everything you would expect.

By the by, the restaurant/bar next door is quite good. I had a Tandoori-style lamb chop appetizer that I am still craving more than a month later. I cannot wait to book it again.

Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel has a great location, clean and quiet rooms and friendly staff. We didn't hear a peep from neighbours on either side of us which was great! Our room was up on the 15th floor, so we experienced minimal noise from the road as well. Aveda bath products were wonderful, as was the Keurig coffee. The beds were very comfortable.
The small suite was appreciated as we have a young son who was very comfortable on the sofa bed. The only thing that would keep us from booking this hotel on our next trip to Vancouver was if we had more free time on our agenda in which case we would definitely feel the disappointment in not having a pool and exercise room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Close to shopping and restaurants and great for walking and running. Really enjoyed it and would stay there again. Friendly and helpful staff. Interesting restaurant with really good food. The rooms were specious and updated and extremely clean. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Soleil

Address: 567 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to details have given the Executive Hotel Le Soleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an exeperience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.