We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver to your Saves list
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Deer, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Recently got back from a stay at the Westin Bayshore in Vancouver, BC. Was quite impressed with the property; a beautiful hotel, on the water, in a good location. My room was a little on the small side but the service i received more than made up for that. The staff were friendly and accomodating, and to my delight there was a Starbucks right in the hotel. (HUGE bonus for me.)
I am a big fan of the Westin properties, the Heavenly Bed is amazing.

  • Liked — the Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    575
    129
    65
    30
See reviews for
311
438
72
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

I stayed at the Westin Bayshore while in Vancouver for a conference. The lobby was well maintained, with a new fruit juice for guests throughout the day. The staff was helpful and friendly. Guest services, including restaurants, gift shops, and a Starbucks were convenient, but expensive. My room had a gorgeous view of the bay and runners and bicyclists heading to Stanley Park. Heating/cooling was controlled by a convenient thermostat with both C/F scales. The room was decorated in an average fashion. I enjoyed the comfy beds with down comforter and the large flat screen television. I was definitely not a fan of the remodeled bathrooms that included a glass wall that only enclosed half the shower. It made for a chilly shower and concerns of making a wet mess on the shower floor. I was also annoyed with the ways they try to nickel and dime you. There were no vending machines. Bottles of water were $6 in the room and $2.50 in the gift shop. They charged for the business center, which is free in many hotels. 30 cents a minute for internet, plus an extra charge for printing. It was an additional $20 a day for internet in your room.
Overall, I would stay there again. The beauty and comfort of the hotel outweighed the annoyances.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Cost and the shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I stayed at the Westin Bayshore for 5 days while attending a conference. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the bay. The "heavenly bed" really was exceptionally comfortable. Food in the hotel was as expected -- over- priced and boring but there were many many cafes and restaurants within walking distance so there is no need to feel trapped by hotel restaurants.

Our only problem occured on the last night when they turned our floor over to a film crew that was setting up a set in one of the large suites. The equipment, wires, lights and props took up almost all of the elevator lobby and hallway and created dangerous conditions for guests going to and from their rooms. The next morning we had trouble getting by all of the actors and production crew and they were very rude to us, acting as if we shouldn't be in THEIR way. I complained to the manager who was sympathetic and gave us a little discount off our last night's room rate. They should never have assigned guests to that floor knowing that they were going to have a film crew there.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I was at the bayshore for 3 nights and it was a lovely experience. the location was nice, check in was pleasant, and the recently remodeled room was clean and comfortable. i found the beds and pillows comfortable and the room pleasantly quiet. the only complaint (given the new remodel) was the fumes from new carpet/ furniture were a little strong. overall a good experience.

  • Liked — The Westin Heavenly Bed
  • Disliked — expense of local phone calls
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We had a room on the 18th floor and the view of the harbor was awsome. I thought the hotel room was comfortable and the property clean with good upkeep.
However, they do nickle and dime you with everything else. They charge off the wall prices for dining, parking and wireless internet. It's a bit too much for the quality of stay in my opinion

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Country, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

I enjoyed the view from my 16th floor balcony and the staff was extraordinary, but the hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. Perhaps until that happens, they could knock 20 percent off the bill!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

The Westin Bayshore steals the best location on the waterfront in Vancouver, but it is an old, tired damsel desperately in need of a makeover.

It never ceases to amaze me how a company like Starwood can portray the image of a brand such as Westin as a five star upscale hotel and still leave tired old places like this one using the brand. Don't they have an alternate brand that caters for old dungers?

For sure, the Westin Bayshore is a great location, and yes, if you time it right, there may be a doorman, and yes, the lobby is spacious, and yes, the reception staff are wonderful. But oh dear, the rooms..... and the noisy old clunky lifts.... and , and , oh dear.

I'll probably go back there, and you probably will too. Because it is in the best location, but imagine what it could be!

  • Liked — Location & proximity to great restaurants
  • Disliked — Tired old rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the coastline, distant mountains, and Stanley Park. Connected to the historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall, you're just moments away from unspoiled nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotel.de, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.