We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but lost a bit of its charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver to your Saves list
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location but lost a bit of its charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Westin Bayshore is right by Stanley Park and a great location for walking to the park or going downtown. I have stayed there several times over the years but it has sadly lost a bit of it's charm. No longer do the doormen wear uniforms like they did, and in fact it was often without a doorman. The entrance was sterile. I remember a fireplace many years ago that added some character but that is now gone and the walk to the tower rooms was like any hotel in North America, sadly.

Room Tip: get a room that looks over the Park or the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    526
    122
    59
    27
See reviews for
292
405
69
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our stay was due to a conference, which this hotel was well equipped to accomodate. Rooms were equipped with the expected amenities, and although no "wow" factor, the quality, comfort and cleanliness was top notch. Ensure to get a room in "The Tower" to get a harbour view.

The hotel was ideal for a 300 attendee conference, and only criticism was buffet lunches were very average. Location is great for walking to great shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Get a room in The Tower for views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I finally had an opportunity to stay the Westin Bayshore again. The last time I was here was in 1994. Needless to say, it has since been revamped and upgraded. Located right on Coal Harbour, the Bayshore is only 2 blocks from Robson Street and 2 blocks from Denman Street, easy walking distance to shopping and eating. The front desk was superb at check-in, very friendly and helpful, courteous. The valet parking personnel were also very nice and efficient. Special requests to the room were handled expediently. I wanted real glass to drink from (they only provide plastic cups, which is a peeve of mine because it feels cheap) and I also needed a bandage for a small cut.
I always sleep well at a Westin in the Heavenly Bed. I don't even want to get up for meetings in the morning!
They now offer extra Starwood points or $5 off meals if you choose not to have housekeeping services on a daily basis, which was nice. The day I did decide to have housekeeping come in and take away used towels and clean up, the service was okay, just minimal. Cups were not restocked and the carpet was not vacuumed. I should have just not had them come in and accumulate the extra points on my account.
The tower rooms with the water view are spectacular. You can watch seaplanes taking off and landing. Yachts and boats with Christmas lights were cruising around as well. Stanley Park and the Coast Mountains were in the background. It was worth paying a couple of dollars more for the view.
I would definitely recommend the Westin Bayshore to people visiting Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Bayshore while in Vancouver to see the Cirque du Soleil. The location is great and an easy walk most places, especially Stanley Park. Unfortunately the facility is in need of maintenance and once you leave the ground floor lobby. The rug in the hallway was shabby and stained and the hallway walls were chipped and faded. We had a room on the end corner with a wonderful view of the yacht harbor and park which would have been perfect had the windows shut properly. Since they didn't and we were there December there was a constant freezing breeze blowing through the room. Also, any smallest noise on the walking path below seemed to be amplified when it reached the room. We didn't mind the early float planes since we are early risers but the late night party boats were a bit bothersome. Had the windows actually closed, it probably would not have been such a problem.
Although my wife was able to sleep on the bed, I found it to be overly firm and woke several times during the night stiff and painful. Having the December winds in the room probably didn't help. The room was clean and not quite as shabby as the hallway but generally not up to what I would have expected from a Westing. The corners of the shower had bad caulk lines with mold visible behind them. The only amenities provided were a small bottle of shampoo, a small bottle of conditioner, a small bottle of lotion, and two bars of soap. Oh, there was one robe, too. There was no closet as such but an area for hanging clothes in the bathroom instead, so don't think of hanging anything that shouldn't get damp. There was also no ventilation fan in the bathroom so it really did get damp.
Although I have gotten used to hunting for outlets in most hotel rooms, I can usually find at least one somewhere within two meters of the bed so that I can plug in my phone which I use as an alarm clock. But all the outlets at the Westing were not only already used, but over used with three or more devices plugged into one outlet. I had to plug the phone in at the desk and hope I would hear it (although the float planes actually worked just fine and started at about 6AM which was when I wanted to get up anyway).
We were also bitten by the $36 a night parking which we were not warned about in advance and not prepared for. It seems that the hotel does not have any of it's own parking and had never made any provisions for it even though it was surrounded by open land when it was first built. As a result, they have to rent spaces at nearby buildings at market rates.
The one saving grace was that the staff was outstanding. They were helpful and very polite. I agree that the "Green" program is a sham and shame on the bean counter that thought it up. They give you a $5 voucher so that they can employ less people when they charge $28 for breakfast. Most hotels ask people to reuse towels to save water but no room cleaning at all? For $5?!? That's insulting to both their customers and staff. The desk clerk seemed embarrassed to even mention it.
I think that next time I got to Vancouver I'll probably look at other nearby properties first.

Room Tip: End rooms have a great view but are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed top floor corner unit overlooking the harbour--excellent view. Very clean rooms and nicely decorated. Enjoyed that it was a bit out of downtown so it was quieter--heard more seagulls than cars. Great staff, though I didn't have any problems that required them. Excellent location for a nice walk around Stanley Park. Highly recommend and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Nice corner units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I just stayed at the Westin Bayshore for business and an extended weekend getaway. The hotel is in a great location, right on the water, close to downtown shopping, dining and night-life. Hotel looks to have been updated within the last year or so. The rooms are well decorated and you can’t beat the comfort of a Westin Sleep bed. The first night we got in late, check-in was quick and efficient and the clerks were friendly and helpful. We unpacked and headed down to the pool/hot tub to unwind. The outdoor pool was closed (as you would expect in November) but it looked like it would be great for summer use. The indoor pool was small but adequate for lounging and the hot tub was hot but we could not get the jets to work. The pool area could have been a little cleaner but it was the end of the night and probably had a lot of use throughout the day. The workout room is well equipped and cold towels are provided during your work-out.

We ordered room service breakfast at night for delivery in the morning, the food arrived right on time and was hot and nicely presented. Don’t be scared of the cost on the form as you get your monies worth in quantity and quality. If your not interested in room service the restaurant in the lobby is excellent as well and the service is great.

The only drawback to the Westin is that they nickel and dime you to death on the extras that other hotels offer for free ,,,, local phone calls $1.50, internet access $16.00/day, parking $33.00/day after taxes and levies.

I highly recomend this hotel for a nice getaway but be sure to check the rates against several comperable hotels in the same location such as the Marriott, Fairmount and Delta.

Room Tip: If you want to head into downtown for some shopping, talk to the front desk and they will provide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed the weekend of the McCartney concert. Front desk staff, porter and other employees that we encounter throughout the stay were all professional, friendly & helpful. Stayed in one of the towers, 10th floor, room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, view was beautiful overlooking the marina, Stanley Park, Sea Wall and toward the mountains. Parking is slightly less if you park yourself. We did not eat in the hotel but passing by the restaurant the food did look very good. Area around hotel was clean and felt safe for walking about at night. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the coastline, distant mountains, and Stanley Park. Connected to the historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall, you're just moments away from unspoiled nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.