We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast great ,location lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver to your Saves list
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“breakfast great ,location lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

great location at harbourside but a bit further from the shops. quiet, lovely outside pool, inside pool a bit dirty. breakfast terrific room with harbour view great and near to stanley park

  • Liked — relaxing
  • Disliked — indoor pool busy and a bit worn out and dirty for quality of hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    576
    129
    65
    30
See reviews for
311
440
72
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Stayed overnight at this place for a Christmas party. As anohter review said, the lobby etc is nice but the rooms are old. The concierge grabbed the keys out of my hand to "hang on to them" for me when I went in to register. The guy behind the desk had such a thick accent he could have told me to dip noodles in the pool and then square dance for all I understood. He was not friendly nor did he smile.

The rooms are old and the bathrooms are poor. Our marble counter top had a piece of marble about 3 inches long a d 1/2 ince deep guoged out of it. The caulking and grout around the tub was covered in Mildew. COuld not for the life of me figure out how to close the plug in the tub. The "heavenly" beds are nice but no nicer than I've had in many hotels this year.

FInally, they did not provide the correct size of coffee "Pod" for the coffee maker, we were given no key to the mini bar and the bottles of water we were told were "provided"in the room were $6 a piece! Other than the lobby and the location it was not much more than any Best Western.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

I stayed here with my wife and two boys on the way to a vacation in northern Vancouver Island. We had a room with view of the coal harbor, the mountain and Stanley park. Really nice. The boys liked the pools. The location is great because, while you can have the view, its also a short walk from the streets with nice restaurants. The service was good, but I got the feel that this is more of a business/convention hotel, rather than a vacation hotel. I will stay here again when I am in Vancouver.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

The Westin is a nice hotel. It is spacious and has the amenities one would expect. It's right along the water so you can take a nice morning stroll along the walk path. You're also near Stanley Park, which is a cool place to visit if you have a chance (I didn't this time).

It's a little off the main strip but you're a short cab ride away from almost everything. And really, you can walk as well, it's really not that far - most things are walkable in Van if you're willing to put the effort into it.

The hotel restaurant was good for brunch.

I paid extra for the "Traditional Harbour View" but was a little disappointed with the view. Sure I was facing the water but all I saw was the marina and the parked boats as I was on a low floor.

Overall, my experience was good at the Westin.

ps. I was there for business so price/value really wasn't that big of a consideration but I usually try to be cost conscious nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Vancouver is a beautiful city and the views from this hotel epitomize this statement. We stayed in a tower room in October 2007, and you would have to see the setting to believe it! The room looked over the bay, Stanley Park, city buildings, distant mountains, and lights in the distance at night.

But aside from the views, the location is incredibly convenient for all that Vancouver has to offer, and is also convenient if you are a business traveler and attending meetings.

The service delivered by ALL staff members was superb - from the housekeepers to bellman, everyone was genuinely interested in caring for their guests. One thing I really thought was nice was that several members of the staff would say hello and remembered what you may have mentioned the day before when you talked to them (e.g., where you went for the day) and would ask how your excursion was.

All in all, if you are looking for a wonderful place to stay to experience such a vibrant, urban city, then this is the place to be.

And yes, they are renovating the rooms. As with all Westins, the hotel lives up to a high standard. Yeah, some rooms may be in need of an update, but they are working on it. One thing I think many travelers think is that all hotels should be in a perpetually new state, like they should renovate their rooms every three years or so. This hotel was probably built 30 years ago. I think they have done a good job keeping it up. Let your vacation experience guide you and concentrate on other things rather than if the faucet looks old or the furniture may have a ding on it...

Just a piece from a frequent traveler.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

The hotel is under renovation (October 2007) and it is really needed. The lobby, dining and registration has been udpated and is really nice. The rooms needed to be updated 10 years ago, still smell like smoke (from before the Westin chain became smoke free in 2006). The location is nice (on the water) but it does not make up for the expeience in the room.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

I have stayed at the Pan Pacific in Vancouver and many fine hotels all around the world. Whilst the Bayshore is not exceptional it would definitely be my choice for my next visit to Vancouver. Especially since it is due for rennovation in September I think. We were upgraded from a traditional to a deluxe room which is much more spacious. Had we stayed, as a family of 4, in the tradtional room we would have been too cramped. The position of the hotel is the best in Vancouver, water front and near Stanley Park. What more could anyone want? Breakfast was good abeit not the best buffet I have seen -the pancakes were ready made and left to wilt way too long but there was lots of nice fruit) the outdoor and indoor pools were a bonus and the small gym was well equipped. Our view was the best with a corner room. I found front desk and concierge very helpful and overall it was an efficiently managed booking. Downsides? Impersonal, this is not a cosy boutique hotel, tradtional rooms are way too small, one of two lifts serving the main building was not functioning as everyone else has said, I thought the breakfast buffet layout did not lend itself to hygiene - the yoghurts and muesli were too exposed to all the users, the gym was a little grubby (sweat droplet marks all over floor, running machines and windows), Seawall restaurant and bar a little uninspiring (however, lots of choice nearby, try Cadero's) and internet charges too high. Sometimes one just needs to check emails and a $5 dollar minimun with a .30cent a minute charge is absurd. I went to one of the many Vancouver internet cafes where I accessed my email for $2. However, as I said, this hotel gets my vote.

  • Liked — Position, views and the fact it was a great base for everything.
  • Disliked — Rooms are outdated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the coastline, distant mountains, and Stanley Park. Connected to the historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall, you're just moments away from unspoiled nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Starwood, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.