We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fluffy Robes and Amazing View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save 40% | 72 Hour Offer
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fluffy Robes and Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We had a great time at the Sutton Place. It's within easy reach of a lot and really does have a fantastic view. Service was great and overall I would have no complaints. If I were to return to Vancouver it would definitely be on my list of places to stay. Go for it!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    605
    213
    75
    37
See reviews for
320
844
127
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, AZ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Sutton and while it was a very nice hotel, it certainly did not live up to the quality of other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. The rooms were smallish and the amenities were just so-so. I also was surprised by the lack of turn down service and lumpy too -soft mattresses and pillows. The location was great as we were able to walk practically anywhere we wanted to in the city. Also just as a heads up the cost for valet is the same as self-park. While we did not eat at the restaurant, we did have drinks in the lounge which was nice, but again, for a 5 diamond hotel I would expect a better selection of wine and certainly expect the drinks to be served in nice glassware, not the freebies they get from the distributer. We did consder getting the dessert buffet, however, for $25 per head I would expect more than 4-5 selections of pie, etc. So if you get a great rate you can't beat the location, but if you are looking for and willing to pay for 5 star service and amenities I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The location of the Sutton Place Hotel cannot be beat when it comes to proximity of great restaurants and shopping. Each member of the concierge staff was helpful, friendly and able to provide us with great dining and tour reservations. Every time we ate in the hotel restaurant, the wait staff was attentive and the food was good. Room service was also quick, the food was good and the delivery presentation was nice. The staff member who delivered our room service was also pleasant. I was surprised that the only AAA 5 Diamond property in Vancouver does not provide turn down service. Our guest room had a strong smell as if someone who had stayed prior to us had spent days upon days smoking in the room. Housekeeping really should not have released the room in such a manner. We had a limited time in the city and chose to spend our time exploring, rather than complaining to the staff and switching rooms because the front desk staff had made it quite clear at check-in that the hotel was sold-out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The only negative I can see with this hotel is the mushy bed. They really need to upgrade their mattresses (and maybe change out that flat screen tv in the armoire to a flat panel, but not that big of a deal). Other than that, the concierge, restaurant, location, cleanliness, housekeeping, amenities are outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Stayed at this hotel twice while on a tour. Friendly staff, nice size rooms and close to Robson Street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I was very impressed by the Service upon arrival. Very friendly staff. The decor in the rooms isn't my style, so I would say it needs updating but it was of good quality. Bathroom was really nice.

We were on business and were not prepared for the heavy rain that greeted us in the morning. The hotel keeps umbrellas on hand for just such an occassion. Even though we checked out of the hotel at noon, they let us keep the umbrella until we left for the airport (6 hours later).

My biggest complaint is that my colleague made some long distance calls home and to the office, and she was charged outrageous amounts for these long distance phone calls. what amounted to a 1 minute voice mail incurred a charge of about $5. The front desk did remove about 1/2 the cost of the calls, however, they failed to mention at check-in that they offer a special flat-rate package for uliminted long distance.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Located right in the heart of downton with plenty of stores and restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

I frequently travel to Vancouver and I've always been satisfied with my stay at The Sutton.
First and foremost, you can't get a better downtown location with restaurants, coffee shops, movie theater, shopping, etc... within steps of the hotel.
The room service is impeccable, the rooms are spacious enough to accommodate a business traveler or a couple traveling for pleasure, and the walls are thick enough to isolate sound. The only downfall is a mooshy bed and soft pillows, and a king size bed which looks more like a queen bed.
If the rate is within your budget, consider adding the extra charges for Internet ($20 per day) and parking ($30 per day) which are very expensive and can add up quickly if you're also planning on ordering breakfast.
If the price is within your budget, you won't be disappointed with your choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.