We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and timeless - great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save 40% | 72 Hour Offer
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Professional and timeless - great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great service, friendly staff and very clean rooms. The location on Burrard Street meant the whole of downtown Vancouver was on our doorstep, and we found it very easy to get around.

The kingsize bed was pleasingly big and extremely comfortable, and the room from the tenth floor was fascinating, a lovely height to survey the city below. The whole hotel exudes calm, the room was pleasantly dimly lit and made the whole place feel very relaxing after sightseeing and shopping all day. Lovely big TV too!

We were particularly impressed by the service delivered by all the staff we met, from the friendly doormen, the knowledgeable concierge (who recommended a lovely restaurant) to the staff who helped return a dress we'd accidentally left in the room after checking out. Recommended.

Room Tip: We thought the tenth floor was a great height for viewing the city - high enough to feel aloof but l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    606
    214
    75
    37
See reviews for
321
845
128
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Over the years we have stayed at this Hotel, including when it was Le Meridien. The appearance of the Hotel on the exterior and the interior convey a strong sense of attentiveness. This is really quite impressive considering how many years the Hotel has been operating. The special "offer" available for an early two night January stay did not impact the service and attention we received. Our good friends also stayed in the Hotel and they were similarly impressed. I particularly enjoyed access to the steam room so felt quite pampered. A late night cocktail with our friends was enhanced by the gracious server who wished us much happiness in the new year . . . a nice touch. We shall return!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor which was a requested upgrade to a king size bed. Our friends also staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community. I am so happy to learn from a loyal customer that how they enjoy their experience at The Sutton Place Hotel. We take pride in keeping our highest standards in maintaining our products as well as services. I cannot be more proud of our team members who help to make your stay an enjoyable one and thank you again for your compliments. We value your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future. Best wishes for a healthy and happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked New Years Eve here and it was a great location to be everywhere in Downtown Vancouver. We were able to walk Robson Street and see all the shops, walk to the comedy club where we went for entertainment. they have a nice wine shop and the prices are quite reasonable. Beds very comfy, no free wifi and standard pricey servi bar. Check in was fast and they were able to accomodate us with adjoining rooms for our friends, which was very good considering the hotel was booked solid. all in all a great experience. would not hesitate to stay here again. we paid 145.00 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Sutton Place is ideally located to explore downtown Vancouver, the rooms are very clean and well appointed. The bar is also very atmospheric and ideal for a drink after a day of sight seeing. My only gripe would be the cost of parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Has a European look and elegance. Efficient check in. Rooms well appointed. Quality bed and pillows.
Nice bar (didn't have dinner there). Convenient for business as easy walk to key downtown offices. Nice Irish pub across the street. Recommended Hotel for central downtown Vancouver.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Sutton Place Hotel is a decent spot to spend a night. It has a convenient central location, and is plenty comfortable.

However, if you're looking for an unforgettable Vancouver getaway, don't be swayed by the Sutton's 5-star rating. Go for one of the hotels right on Coal Harbour, like the Westin Bayshore (with it's outdoor heated pool nestled against Stanley Park with breathtaking views of the mountains) or the spectacular setting and super chic rooms of the Pan Pacific Hotel. You can find a hotel like Sutton Place in any city. When visiting Vancouver, go for one that lets you soak up the city's stunning landscape.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver as party of a "Staycation" in Downtown Vancouver. As it was just before Christmas, the hotel was beautifully decorated with Trees in the Lobby. The Service was first class and the attention we received right from the start with valet parking and luggage assistance. The location is fantastic for shopping along Robson Street and Pacific Centre close by. We stayed in a very spacious 1 bedroom Suite to accommodate my son and his needs. Staff was very polite and courteous. Restaurants are all within walking distance and Joe Forte's was recommended by the concierge. Thanks for a wonderful day away at Christmas time and my family and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Spacious 1 bedroom suites are very comfortable for a small family with a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Happy New Year!
I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying in the one bedroom suite at La Grande Residence. We thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.