We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fading beauty... thin veneer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save 40% | 72 Hour Offer
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A fading beauty... thin veneer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ended up here with a PriceLine hit. The intake area and common areas were lovely. The check in staff were polite and very "no so big city"... it was a pleasant experience. We weren't in the hotel proper, rather our room was a suite in the apartments. Decor was a bit of a hold over from the 70's and there was a bit of musty odor to the rooms. Maybe its a seaside hotel issue. While the rooms were clean they were in need of updating. Perhaps the hotel proper side is a different issue. At any rate, 'twas expensive at full price, while nice perhaps a tad overvalued. Absolutely usurious rates for parking.

Room Tip: higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    606
    214
    75
    37
See reviews for
321
845
128
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice hotel, suitable for both leisure and corporate clients.What I liked the most was big comfy bed, almost wall to wall panoramic window and the spa with the indoor pool lit by plenty of daylight. The only downside I experienced was a constant need to re-enter the password while using the WI-FI.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Don't get me wrong about this being 'average'. It is only average among luxury Vancouver hotels. This is a very good hotel with a great location, though lacking the views of say the Pan Pacific, or the two Fairmonts near the cruise ship port and Canada Place.

The service is impeccable and friendly. The main restaurant is truly excellent. Their long-stay wing, with kitchen suites (Grand Residence) and full hotel services, provides a wonderful upscale option.

So- what's wrong? Three things.

First- some structural design flaws. For example, while the hotel layout is quite standard, little thought was given to the location of, and access to the pool area. One has to traipse through the lobby in one's robe, go up a level, enter the spa/fitness portal and reach the change room/showers. Then you have to go back out, down some back stairs to reach the pool.

The pool itself is indoors, and with the sliders to the adjacent patio closed, was claustrophobic and reeked of hyperchlorination. The pool itself was nice, but the hot tub was pretty generic and angular- not that comfortable.

Second- the rooms. I had a standard room overlooking Burrard Street. Very little street noise, so full marks there, but there was a hugely noisy heating/ air con. fan. Turning it off led to zero circulation and stuffiness within a few minutes. I guess I prefer a back room with opening windows or a small balcony.

I am not a big fan of faux French Provincial- spindle post beds, heavy golden drapery with tassels, matching style furniture. But that is a personal taste- others love it. But it seemed dated to me, with lots of nicks and dings. Very heavy chairs to move around....

A big new flat screen tv, but with genuinely counter intuitive and inaccurate operating directions. Nice new carpeting. Soft, comfy bed with excellent linens.

The bathroom was pretty standard for a luxury hotel, but not 'wow' in any way. In fact, looking closely it was clear that the marble/ travertine tiles had discoloured or missing grout, the fixtures twenty years old, and tub enclosure pretty tired. That sums up my third beef- which is 'dated decor', and that pervades the whole place.

At the front desk, there is a Fodor's? plaque, giving the property four stars. They are elsewhere rated as 5 star, but I would give this place a 4 to 4.5 star instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Older established hotel that's well maintained and centrally located to many popular tourist attractions. Rooms are slightly upscale with windows that span the entire wall. Rooms on higher floors facing East will not only see partial mountains in the distance but an impressive view of the downtown core. The indoor heated swimming pool and jacuzzi were just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I only stay at the Sutton when I am in Vancouver :) Sometimes I make a trip to Vancouver just to stay at the Sutton because I always feel pampered and taken care of in everyway. The staff are friendly, efficient and always there to help in whatever way they can, the hotel is gorgeous from top to bottom!!! I love it there it truly is my home away from home I would suggest this hotel to anyone and everyone, you will not be disapponited I guarantee it!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently was booked for a conference in Vancouver, and I invited my husband to join me. We chose the Sutton Place because they provide one-bedroom apartments (with complete kitchens and living rooms) in addition to traditional hotel rooms. The larger space of the one bedroom suite allowed my husband to have a 3 day writing retreat while I was a short distance away at the conference. We had breakfast together in the dining room, he made his own lunch and ate it on the balcony at the patio table/chair, overlooking the city. Then we were able to eat out for dinner when I got back, with a myriad of great restaurant choices right in the immediate vicinity. This made for an affordable little romantic getaway, during a normal work period for both of us. The Sutton had good deals on 3 night packages, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our particular package discounted the 2nd and 3rd nights, and gave us valet service and wifi included. The one bedroom suites are in the process of being renovated -- ask for one of the updated ones when you book. Not all of them are done yet. Ours was still waiting for refurbishment, so the bathroom looked tired, and the heating wasn't working properly --even with help from maintenance. The thermostat wouldn't shut off, so we needed to keep opening the window to cool things down. (Not a big deal, but it's part of what they need to fix). The only other negative was the WiFi. We weren't aware that there were a number of alternate bogus hotspot options that LOOK like the Sutton, but aren't. Be sure to get clear instructions from the front desk on which choice to select when you are trying to set it up. All in all we had a great time. The staff were lovely -- friendly, helpful, engaging. The area is great -- lots of good shopping, restaurants, and you're right in the heart of the city, so there's lots available right within walking distance. Good amenities in the hotel; we didn't have time to use them all! I would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites that have already been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in late September. When we arrived their systems were down and they were unable to electronically check us in. The staff was very kind and professional, even though they were not electronically able to check customers in.

We booked through the AmEx Fine Hotels and Rates program. We were given an upgrade upon check-in to a very nice suite on the ninth floor of the hotel. The room was nicely appointed, and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was more than adequate.

We had the daily AmEx breakfast downstairs. That was okay, basically a way to fill up before the day, but nothing spectacular. We did have dinner in the lounge one night and that was really good.

The staff we encountered were very friendly and there were plenty of times the concierge had to help us out.

The hotel is centrally located and it is possible to walk to many of the attractions.

The only downside, I left the hotel with little holes in some of my brand new clothes. I can only assume that maybe there was a moth living in one of the closets in the room. That is the reason for the four stars instead of five.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.