We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pre/Post Cruise Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $145 | Savour Sutton
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Pre/Post Cruise Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family (there were 8 of us) spent one night at the hotel prior to boarding our Alaska-bound cruise ship. The location was perfect--lots of restaurants and shops in the neighborhood. We had lunch in the hotel restaurant which was good but way overpriced. Standard rooms are quite small. If there's more than three of you, I recommend the suite, which is what my brother-in-law got.

The continental breakfast is ok. $5.00 more gets you the hot breakfast buffet, which was so-so. The scrambled eggs weren't good.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you are traveling with more than three in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    570
    197
    68
    34
See reviews for
296
789
119
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel feels opulent and romantic. It's very beautiful. Rooms have a great view of downtown Vancouver since it is located on Burrard Street. Great location right by Robson street, for those who love to shop. Close to restaurants and nightlife. There is a wine store on the ground floor outside the hotel. There is the Scotiabank Theater to watch movies right across the street. There is also a bus stop a few feet away in case you wanted to use the transit system, which is exceptional in this city. Would recommend this hotel for travelling in style.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel does not do itself justice on the website, at least I do not think so.
Sutton Place was much better than we expected it to be, and it already gets good marks.
We got a hotwire deal on internet, so our price was lower for the quality we received.
Our flight was early morning, and we were able to check in by 9am (lucky because the place was booked).
The front desk was friendly. The concierge desk was friendly.
The restaurant had good food and good service (we ate there once for dinner).
The facilities are nice---pool area, laundry, fitness room.
The location of this hotel is great. It is in close proximity to all of the main areas of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are privileged to receive your precious feedback and inspiring compliments. We value your business and it leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites in a higher floor, and it was perfect. We got into Vancouver late in the evening. The hotel staff were expecting us, and had everything set up, including the extra bed we had requested. The room and bathroom were extremely clean. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Mints were set out, and the Wifi internet worked. Nice City view from the windows of our suite, with tasteful elegant decor. The hotel staff were courteous and polite. We booked through their website, and spoke to the night manager in advance of the trip. The room looked just like what was shown on the website. The hotel is centrally located downtown, close to the harbor where our cruise started. The hotel is also close to shopping grocery, and a free shuttle to the Capilano Suspension Bridge, which we visited in the morning prior to the cruise. We previously stayed at other Vancouver hotels, I discovered this one when I was planning this trip. We would definitely return to the Sutton Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Sutton Place Hotel. We thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to Vancouver and The Sutton Place Hotel soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Sutton Place is one of my favorite hotels. My most recent stay was in Vancouver, BC, Canada on 06/29/13. Rooms are great, property is attractive, staff is great, location is fantastic. One complaint: In this day and time for a first class hotel not to offer free WiFi service is unacceptable. The cost charged by the hotel is totally unwarranted and verges on price gouging.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in La Grande Residence on two separate occasions during our trip. Once for 4 nights and the other for just one night. We had the same type of room during our two stays which was a One Bedroom Modern Design Suite. It was very spacious. It had a nice kitchen with everything you possibly need which was quite convenient especially since there was a nice grocery store right next door. The pull out and the bed were very comfortable. Check-in was also very quick. Scott, the bellman, was kind and friendly and the concierge was also very helpful. Breakfast, Wi-fi was included in our deal and we added the valet parking. The pool and the gym were very good. Another great thing about this hotel was the location. There was a delicious Japadog stand a couple seconds away, a movie theatre next-door and harbour front was a 5-10min walk. Robson Street was also near so there were good shopping stores and the Canada Day Parade was also very close. Overall a top notch hotel with a great location and great staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in total in Sutton Place Vancouver. It's a very nice and classy hotel. The breakfast was superb. The beds were soft and comfy. The bathtub was a bit downturn though. We stayed in 2 different rooms and both tubs looks dirty and tired.
The location in busy Burrard street was very good. It is so near to everywhere. And there is a very decent Thai Restaurant just across the street.
I sincerely thanks the staff and hotel management for their good lost and found department. My 5yo left his stuffed animal during our first stay. Yet almost 2 weeks after, when we checked in back to the hotel, the doggie was returned to us safe and sound inside a laundry bag.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable. I have shared your compliments with our housekeeping department. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you and your son back soon. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.