We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great like I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Okay but not great like I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came to Vancouver for the weekend and I had wanted to stay at the Sutton for quite awhile we usually pick a different 4 or 5 star each time and although our stay was good I expected it to be great the rooms were quite dated and small I just expected more and some of the 4 stars Ive stayed at ealily compare and for quite abit less money although the location was fantastic I dont think Id stay again with such tough compitition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to learn that your stay was less than satisfactory. Your feedback will help us better understand your expectations. We value your business and hope you will allow us an opportunity to win you back as a customer. Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    870
    515
    179
    65
    33
See reviews for
262
706
107
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Sutton Place with my wife and 10 year old son in mid October for 4 nights while in town volunteering for We Day. Took a chance on a 4.5 star 'mystery' hotel on Expedia. The rate was great for downtown Vancouver, at $106 a night.

We arrived at 9:00 PM by car, and as I checked in I got a surprise. The room available for us had 2 twin sized beds. The only way to accommodate my son was with a rollaway bed. I hadn't seen twin sized beds in a hotel since I was in Europe - so I was not impressed. The front desk 'manager' showed no sympathy - but did offer upgrades at significant additional cost. His attitude matched what I have read about in other reviews of this hotel - that people booking on Expedia are treated as second class citizens.

We did settle into the room, and apart from the sleeping arrangement it was quite nice, tasteful though reminiscent of the late '80s when the hotel was built. Renovations are underway. Well soundproofed, nicely furnished and comfortable. It was an unusual shape and quite large. It also had a dynamite view of downtown, although it was over an alley :-) My wife did have one issue the first night though - a squeaky bed kept her up - but it was fixed promptly by the staff.

The pool and hot tub are nice enough, but oddly placed. You need to traipse across the whole lobby (for those who don't know, in your robe), up an elevator, then down stairs to get there. Also odd that it closes relatively early at 9:45 PM.

Parking is massively expensive at $40 a night, and staff are very good at not suggesting other places to park. Surface parking in the area is reasonable overnight, unfortunately you need to plug the meter again around 6 or 7 for most spots. Best suggestion is tp park at the nearby Scotia Theatre complex with underground safe 24 hour parking - It was around $12 overnight.

Bottom line - this hotel is well worth the money if you get a deal on Expedia, Hotwire, etc - but be prepared for snobby service.

Room Tip: Beware the twin bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay with us. Our team and management are constantly working on making our guests’ stay a wonderful experience and providing a warm and professional service. We value your response and have shared with our Front Desk team. We apologize for any inconvenience and mis-understanding this caused and will be sure to revisit training on guest requests.

While our hotel encourages our guests to make reservations on our partner portals such as Expedia to take advantage to some internet packages. However, should you prefer to secure specific room type and amenities that you are interested in; please consider making the reservation on the Sutton Place Hotel’s website or contact our Reservation Department so we can better serve you. Once again thank you for your business.
Very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonymous
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Readers of Sutton Place reviews must be confused: Either great or very disappointing.

The reason is simple. Sutton Place Vancouver is two different hotels. Both share the upscale lobby, the snappy attendants at every turn, and one of the best locations in Vancouver for area shopping and dining.

The problem emerges when one does not specific book the premium rooms of the hotel, if that is what you are after.

Be aware that the hotel is OLD, although the externals do not look so. It went through an entire previous cycle as a Meridian hotel. Current management is engaged in a renovation cycle that appears to be fairly slow paced. While upper floors and rooms have received upgrades, many more on lower floors have not. These rooms, mainly with twin beds , have very tired carpets, decor, TVs, and unbelievably old and hence less than hygienic looking comforters.

Let me be clear: the rooms appear to be meticulously kept. Old does not equal dirty. The problem is that old sometimes LOOKS dirty and can impact an otherwise enjoyable stay.

With our fifth floor queen room, the card key box was rusted, the carpet and comforter were well past worn, the door of the TV cabinet had to be propped open by a chair. The bathroom, amazingly large with a full size tub, and equipped with great lotions, notions and towels, didn't have a safety bar to aid entry and egress from the tub. The room did sport one of the better night lights we have seem.

The king bed had a very firm mattress, which would appeal to some. Too few pillows with fresh pillowcases to prop up for watching the old non flat TV. The remote did work, unlike that of many reported on this site. Lots of old comfortable furniture. Excellent digital control thermostat.

Many on this site have complained about the room obtained when booking through Hotwire.
To do so, one should assume an automatic assignment to one of the old twin bed rooms on a lower floor. We were offered an upgrade to a 'renovated ' king room on a top floor for $40.

But if you did this, and paid for parking ($40), and for internet connection ($15), the Hotwire bargain begins to slip away. Perhaps better to peruse the hotel internet site for inclusive bargains.

Conclusion and Advice:

One of the best locations in Vancouver for shopping and entertainment. The hotel can be a 3+ or 5 star hotel depending on what you request and what you pay for. Top floor, renovated king rooms are likely, in conjunction with the top quality 'front end' of this hotel, genuinely 5 star. The bulk of the older rooms, mainly lower floor, and most often twin bed rooms, render a 3+ or at best 4 star experience for guests.

Still, if you get a good enough deal either directly with the internet or with a discount site like Hotwire, this may still be the best deal in town.

Room Tip: Tips contained within the text of the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your response regarding your stay at The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver.
We are honored in receiving your review. I appreciate your observations about our hotel and amenities. It is definitely an opportunity to always better our services and products when receiving feedback like yours.
Although we did not completely meet your expectations during your recent visit, we would like to thank you for your comments and assure you that we strive hard to improve all areas to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting your stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Friendly and comfortable, though very 1970's in style and decor - could do with a total redesign and revamp. Breakfasts were rather unimaginative and wifi a little slow, but on the other hand, staff were very friendly and conscientious, lunch and dinners were good, location excellent. So overall, I think I'd stay there again (though I might just search for something a bit more exciting)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel. We have taken notes of your feedback and will make every effort to improve the areas that you mentioned and provide the level of service that will set us apart from other hotels. We hope to be of service to you in the near future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel in Vancouver. We were celebrating our 30th Anniversary, we were greeted every time we entered the hotel, doors were held open for us and everyone on staff was very, very polite, as we entered our room, 4 Chocolate covered Strawberries were on the table in honor of our Anniversary. Very nice surprise.

Room Tip: Mention to the 'in house reservations' if you are celebrating an Anniversary and you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Congratulations and thank you for choosing to stay at The Sutton Place Hotel to celebrate your 30th Anniversary. We are very grateful for your feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to creating more memories for you in the near future.
Thank you for staying with us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We toured Vancouver for a few days before an Alaskan cruise. This hotel had an excellent package for people taking the cruise. Nice rooms. Good breakfast and fitness facilities. Central location. Staff very helpful with some excellent recommendations for dinner and touring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a nice experience at our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times and it is still one of our favourites. Over the years the rooms have gotten a little tried but still very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoy Gerard's pub after a long day of sightseeing or shopping ( did I mention great location) it is great for a quick bite or a relaxing drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is an honor to have you staying with us regularly. We value your feedback and will identify the areas that we need to upgrade. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Gerard Lounge and thank you for the compliments for our employees. We value your business and hope to be of service to you very soon!
Very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.