We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% off + EXCLUSIVE Perks
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sutton Place for 3 nights in September. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The room was comfortable and well appointed. We didn't have any meals at the hotel as Robson Street is loaded with wonderful places to eat. We parked the car and walked everywhere we needed to go.

Which brings me to the cost of parking: $39.50 a day (valet or self) so be prepared for that. Internet $15.00 a day. We're starting to feel a little nickle and dimed to death here.

The part that makes up for it all is that on Hotwire I was able to get this hotel for $130.00 a night rather that Expedia or Hotel rates of $200.

But it is a lovely hotel in an excellent location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    605
    212
    75
    37
See reviews for
319
844
127
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels through out my life some large some small. I have generally found the larger hotels to be less personal, but not the Sutton Place. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We found the rooms to be very good, comfortable with excellent bathrooms. The hotel is also well positioned for Down Town Vancouver

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I guess I was expecting some thing a little more modern.
Checking in was fine. We were asked if we wanted a paper each morning of our three night stay, we replied yes, and not one morning was there a paper.
We had two of us staying in a room with 2 twin beds - this is fine, yet there was only 1 robe provided. A little agravating. Also, the blankets seemed to be dated. The TV was not a flat screen, and the picture was not all that great. Very Lound a/c vents. Each time it kicked on, which was often, it was loud. This hotel all around needs a facelift.
FYI, if you are heading to the pool area, note that you have to take the elevator to the lobby, walk through the lobby and then to another block of elevators that will take to you the lower level pool. This should really be advised at check in. Not cool when you realise that you need to trapse though the lobby in your robe.
The lounge is rather boring and dated. Should be out in the open not at the back of the restaurant. Never spent money in there as it wasn't very inviting.
The staff are very helpful and kind, but no one stood out from the croud.
The restaurant on Sunday breakfast, only had half the tables open... does that make any sense for such a busy time of day. We couldn't get a table and didn't really know how long it would be. We ended up again, eating elsewhere as the hotel was not accomadating.
As mentioned, it is close to lots of things down town, but there are also, as lot of nicer hotels in the area with better amenities and a more modern decor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

very close to Burrard /Georgia.... 2.5 blocks to the Canada Line......very nice room..... Clean....staff was very helpful and polite.....Only downside...we were at a convention with a cash bar = $9 drinks. Ouch !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is my second visit to Sutton Place and it continues to impress.
The hotel is in a central downtown location and walking distance to many amenities. My girlfriends and I stayed in the newly renovated suites. It was modern, spacious and comfy. We received exceptional service from check-in to check-out and I would not hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Friendly and uncomplicated staff. Got a free upgrade to a suite and enjoyed the spaceous appartment for 3 nights. As we had a kitchen we didn't try breakfast which we would have to pay extra. A supermarket is just on the next corner, so is Robson Street. Walk to Canada Place takes you just about 7-10 minutes down the street. What would make the place perfect - free WIFI. 15$ per night is not an option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had guests visiting from NY who wanted to see Vancouver, BC. We could not have
stayed at a better hotel! Shopping, tour buses, restaurants, all at our front door.
The hotels staff were very accomodating, bed extremely comfortable and rates
very competitive. The only negative is that the rooms are small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.