We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Part of Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastown

Gastown
Waterfront between Granville and Main Sts. | North of Hastings St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2K7, Canada (Downtown)
604 683 5650
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Gastown like an insider
Special Offer
$34*
and up
Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #51 of 335 things to do in Vancouver
Activities: Shopping, City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The oldest commercial district in Vancouver, best known for its beautiful Victorian-style architecture.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint Part of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This area, made me want to not to move right in! Nice a quaint area of town, still accessible to all other spots. Loved the bricked streets, the little shops and souvnier stores. We have a friend that lives there we were visiting and loved that though on one corner of the city, you still get a nice unobstructed view of the mountains. It was a joy to walk down these streets day and night, even at night you see quite a number of people walking the streets. The bars and restaurants are nicely designed to keep to the existing structures...we ate at The Flying Pig, which was pretty delicious!
Though it seems like it's full of young hipsters, at night it's nice and quietand still carrys it's charm over from day.
Would visit again and recommended all visting to make sure you make a stop in Gastown.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    314
    147
    36
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Gastown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice little area with shops and restaurants. Saw the steam powered clock that's there. They had some cool bars there but could not enjoy them since we had our kids with us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“five stars for gas town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I Enjoy Gas town, its shops, streets and pubs. You can really get a sense of the old town era This place had before downtown took over. Its one of my favorite places in Vancouver. Shop, dine or stroll. Take it all in at Gastown

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute but dodgy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Aussies and Kiwi's in particular will be put off by the drunks and homeless openly shaking you down every five paces in this area. This is not something we are accustomed to and takes the shine off a quaint area with restaurants and tourist souvenir shops in historic buildings.
I must admit that tipping is also something foreign to us Aussies and while it has it's place I have never seen such intimidation by waitresses for tips as in these restaurants.
In the end we avoided it and went a bit further to the lovely (and safe) restaurants in Robson st.
I struggle as to why the businesses in Gasworks and the police don't clean up this area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a lovely little part of Vancouver Gastown is. Had a lovely meal in The Old Spaghetti Factory. If you like loose tea then David's teas is a must to bring some home with you. Lovely helpful young chap who served us. Not rushed and new his teas. The shops were great, best part of Vancouver. Several souvenir shops and specialised shops. You will not be disappointed with this district.The history attached to it was good. Loved the steam clock.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastown also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.