We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Long Term” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Save
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
303 Columbia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2R7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for Long Term”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I arrived in Vancouver in April 2011 and stayed til October 2011, during which I had booked month to month acco. here at the Columbia Hotel. I had booked while since in Australia, not having seen anything other then google street view and the hotel's website. Now im not the backpacking type of person, but this place was awesome to stay at. Yes, there is a bar downstairs but stay on the 3 -5 floors and you won't hear a thing, with the windows closed. And it does close at 1am Friday and Saturday nights. Its an inexpensive place to live as its only 2 km's to the other side of downtown Vancouver (walking). Buses and skytrain are only footsteps away from the front door to the hotel. Your room is cleaned each week and wifi is included. The location is in the middle of Gastown and Downtown Eastside, but the homeless do in fact keep to themselves. And the homeless are everywhere in Vancouver, not just in Downtown Eastside. It's a little unknown fact that travel guides and books will not tell you about. But this hotel was great for me, I finished work at 11pm in Yaletown and catch the bus or skytrain home and then walk 4 blocks to hotel, without any problems for my safety. (29 year old female, travelling by myself). The staff are so nice and friendly and to this day still talk to them via facebook. It's an old beautiful building with lots of charm and you'll meet a wide range of different people from all over the world living there all on working holiday visas. Overall it's inexpensive (compared to other rentals in the downtown area), basic quality, awesome service and in a good location (walking distance to everything downtown). Get to know the staff, their very nice people and will look after you.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd to 5th floor for a room. I stayed on the 5th floor, it had less people sharing the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
3
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is too expensive considering the fact that there is a bar downstairs where they play extremely loud music. You would not get any sleep! This is how I experienced this hotel, and the owners didn’t want to do anything about it. I would never recommend Columbia Hotel as long as the bar is downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The facilities here are pretty great - linen, clean rooms, kitchens, room service every week or so, secure premises, free WiFi, laundry facilities. The price for us was perfect - we wanted 'somewhere to live' in Downtown Vancouver for a couple of months. Everywhere else was either out of our price range or located way out of town. Our one-bedroom suite is spacious, clean and well appointed. Sure, it's pretty basic but it's fine, warm and centrally located in Gastown which is cool. If you have issues with homeless then this area isn't for you, but I've been to Vancouver 3 times and never ever felt unsafe or hassled, so although the situation is sad, on a personal level I've never been negatively affected (safety wise etc. ). The area can be a little noisy, but again for the price the hotel is unbeatable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Being that there hasn't been a review on this property since 2010, I felt it was our duty to let people know that this property is not too bad at all - exceeded our expectations. Also, there's supermarkets, coffee shops, gym and downtown facilities all within EASY walk.

Room Tip: Choose a one-bedroom suite - good value for money. Includes fridge, microwave, tv etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, or
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Pretty run down facilities with crude remodeling, except for pub. Elevator is iffy. No linen service. Location is in high density homeless population area, but just a few blocks from the gastown area. No air conditioning, which can be uncomfortable and very loud in the summer. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullins, sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife has always wanted to visit Canada. So, I planned a long weekend to Vancouver, BC. It was pretty nice place to stay for a last minute trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 303 Columbia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2R7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you a student or young professional and looking for a nice and clean accommodation in downtown Vancouver? We offer private spacious furnished rooms with shared washrooms and shared kitchen. The room has a queen sized bed (linen provided), a sink, a desk with chair as well as cable TV and internet. Weekly room cleaning. Cheap laundry is also available inside the building. It's a safe place (24 hours staff at the front desk) with happy tenants. Walking distance to all the main transits including buses, sea bus and sky train and there are cheap grocery stores nearby. In walking distance schools like VFS, SFU, VCC and various language schools. Long and short term are all possible. Security deposit required. All inclusive rent between $550-$700/month for single occupancy and between $780-$850/month for double occupancy. We also rent suite rooms with microwave, fridge and private washroom on a daily basis for $100 CDN per day for 2 people. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.