We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Pacific Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pan Pacific Vancouver to your Saves list
Pan Pacific Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C3B5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the Pan Pacific for 5 nights in August and we were more than happy with our stay there, the location is excellent, it's right on the waterside and close to shops, bars & resturants, our room was on the 18th floor, it was very comfortable and we had a great view from our room, I cannot comment on the quality of the food as we did not eat in the hotel due to the cost as we found the food and drink was quite expensive, however we did use room service once and it cost us 29 dollars for a club sandwich!! The staff were very helpful and courteous and the hotel itself is kept very clean, we did not have time to use the pool in the end but we did pop up there to have a look and that also looked very clean and well kept. I would recommend the Pan Pacific to anyone and would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    560
    160
    52
    23
See reviews for
413
756
72
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Highly recommended, great location to enjoy sight seeing around Vancouver. Only downside was no Wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed in the Pan Pacific for one night before embarking on Alaskan cruise.

Slightly odd entrance, in that you have to take two esculators to reach reception on the second floor , however, nothing will beat puling back the curtains and taking in the superb view over Vancouver harbour @ 6am as daylight breaks

Our room was very comfortable with all modern facilities including a 32inch LCD TV. The bathroom was really nice with Aveda toiletries provded..

We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food

The staff were very helpful and polite.

We booked this hotel for the added bonus of being attached drectly to the cruise ship terminal. The lift to the right of reception took us directly down to the check in centre.

Hassle free and very convenient stay

Well recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Although not generally a fan of large "convention" hotels, the Pan Pacific in Vancouver was a great experience during our 3-day stay. The property literally juts out into the harbor, so most of the rooms have nice views of the water. We woke up the first morning to discover a huge cruise ship had bearthed on the bulkhead right below us, and the continual activities in the harbor (e.g., sea planes landing, yachts, ocean vessels moving) were really interesting.

The property is "right in the middle" of activities in the downtown Vancouver area, with plenty of sights, restaurants, etc. within easy walking distance. Although the hotel is part of a convention center (Canada Place), and is pretty caverous, its modern nautical flair architecture is pleasing. The staff was universally friendly. As an example, when the rooms we reserved were not available, we were upgraded into a luxury suite. After the first night the kids preferred to have two separate rooms (which we had reserved), and the staff cheerfully moved us into those. All of our rooms were very nice with great views. The buffet breakfasts (complimentary with our package) were fabulous.

One of the bellmen (Peter, I think) was especially friendly, giving us friendly (and accurate) advice on restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The hotel is modern right on the waterfront which is convenient to pretty much everything.The cruise ships (mostly) leave right from the hotel . For Holland America they take your luggage directly from the room to your room on the ship. The boarding is on the bottom floor of the hotel.
CAVEAT:: Be sure you book a waterfront view, but be careful that one side of the hotel looks over the commercial docks, while the other side looks over Stanley Park. Be sure to get a higher floor since floors 9 & 10 (lowest room floors)have obstructed views.
Breakfast is very good but expensive. Easily $100 for 4 adults and 2 children.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the Pan Pacific for our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful.

Check in was quick and the front desk person was very friendly and said Happy Anniversary to us. We also received a little chocolate gift in the room which was a thoughtful touch. The room and washroom were clean and tidy. The room looked a little dated compared to the newer/trendier hotels, but that's ok.

The view was the best part. At night or in the morning...it was so beautiful! The lights, moutains, water, buildings, float-planes and boats was breath-taking. If you stay in a hotel in Vancouver, you should definitely stay here.

We then went to Spa Utopia and had relaxing massages. My favorite spa in Vancouver. Gorgeous setting, wonderful facilities and amazing service.

After the spa and dinner, we decided to use their rooftop pool. Love it! It was a warm night and it was very romantic to swim and use the hot tub under the stars. There were plenty of towels out for guests to use and the whole pool area was very clean.

We had brunch the next day at Cafe Pacifica and it will always be my favorite brunch. They definitely have the best brunch buffet in Vancouver. A little pricey, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I usually stay at Four Seasons or Opus, however due to some major conferences and event both of them were fully booked. So I picked Pan Pacific, despite some warning about it being a cruise ship hotel (it is on top of the Canada Place, a national landmark where most of the Alaskan Cruises depart). But it definitely was a surprisingly pleasant stay. 4 things I have to mention.

1) The View: Upon reaching its lobby level, the beautiful view of the Vancouver harbor, Lions Gate Bridge, and the mountains range to the right of it dominated my view. Harbor facing side of the lobby had a 5 floor high uninterrupted and expansive glass wall. And I booked an inner harbor view room with basically the same stunning view. The room was large with a king and a lounge chaise. Clean, comfortable with a decent bath room.

2) The pool: it is said to be the best pool and jacuzzi in town, not because of it's size or depth (not large and very shallow), but for it's view and tanning potential. Facing the same harbor view on the 8th floor terrace and with ample lounging chairs for tanning and people watching, I would probably have to agree (Four Seasons and Shangri-la only have indoor pools and Opus doesn't even have one). Only thing is if you order drinks, you might have to wait for awhile, their room service department seems to be a little understaffed during the tanning hours.

3) The Sunday brunch: I'm not usually one for the buffet, but from what I've seen, the Sunday brunch is all fresh supplies (not your usual let's-get-rid-of-week-long-left-over Sunday brunch). It does reminded me of a luxury cruise ship brunch. You might want to book ahead, the seats filled up rather quickly.

The only downside is if you want to sleep in after a long night of partying, you might have some trouble if you are a light sleeper. There is a float plane terminal right next to the hotel, the first flight could be as early as 9 am and the cruise ships might blow their horns around noon. But for me, I throughly enjoyed my stay and with my corporate discount, I ended up saving my company close to half of what usually the other 2 hotels (yeah, the other 2 don't do have discount in their vocabulary) would have charged me.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C3B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Pacific Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.