We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Love Hate thing....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rocky Mountaineer Train

The Rocky Mountaineer Train
369 Terminal Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 4C4, Canada
+1 604-606-7245
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$2,355*
and up
5-Day Rail Tour of the Canadian Rockies...
Ranked #30 of 197 Activities in Vancouver
Type: Scenic Railroads, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Rockies by rail! Rocky Mountaineer offers five luxury rail routes to discover the beautiful Pacific Northwest!
Norfolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It's a Love Hate thing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was so excited about this journey.

It was a considered purchase and once in a life time opportunity . I took the Train in Gold leaf class from Jasper to Vancouver with an overnight stop in Kamloops.

It started on a freezing cold platform very early in the morning at Jasper, although the Train was at the platform it seemed to take ages, before they allowed us to board by which time everyone waiting was virtually frozen.

The carriages were spacious, seat pitches excellent and the staff reasonably attentive but breakfast was a long time coming (11am after having boarded at 7) even though your given some nibbles. The dining arrangements are made per carriage in 2 halves and they swap this around on day 2 so if your 1st sitting for breakfast/ Lunch on day one then your 2nd sitting on day two.

The quality of the food is mind blowing its not how much food is on your plate but its the quality .. of this no one could possibly complain.. however the dining car is underneath the seating area so you basically go down to the lower deck which is incredibly tomb like and very small and cramped & dark. Although there are picture windows either side to allow you to continue to take the view, they are tinted along with the very low ceilings it makes for quite an oppressive experience.

The journey is delightful and the scenery does just take your breath away but my observations are that although you have the glass domes all around you they are not anti reflective making it very hard to actually see clearly . Down on the lower deck there are outdoor viewing platforms each end of every car but if your car is attached at each end then this heavily restricts you and other passengers can walk onto your platforms, making it nigh on impossible to get decent views without a fight ..especially when you get to the good bits.. its every camera & man/women for themselves. I gave up after a rude group of Europeans invaded our viewing platform and simply took over for all the best views. Not a hope just backs of heads...one passenger even pulled me back from the railings so he could get there !!

Lastly the Hotel in Kamloops was not very good at all .. it did not meet the expectations of the standard or grade for that paid to go Gold Leaf and for this very reason I Have downgraded this experience ... it need to be a lot better when traveling at this calibre its just not acceptable to pay several thousands of UK £ to be put in a very run down shabby hotel that was very dirty, broken furniture, 1970's peeling decor and in a part of town that I was not prepared to leave my room to go out into..... Drunks/vagrants on the street... and opposite a drug rehabilitation unit with the local unfortunates queuing up outside to get their legal fix !!! There was an awful smell in my room, I called for reception to bring me a room fan to try and eliminate the smell as the windows were screwfixed and un-openable.

I feel priviledged to have had this opportunity but I would probably advise that as decadent as gold leaf is its not worth the money ... it was good but not as good as the upgrade may sound. In retrospect I would say Silver Leaf would be fine unless money is not an issue in which case enjoy..!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaLi610, Manager at The Rocky Mountaineer Train, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review your vacation with us. We do apologize for the negative experiences that you had during your trip. We treat all comments about our service and the experience we provide very seriously and have forwarded your comments directly to our executive team. We thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Should you have any further comments please contact us at feedback@rockymountaineer.com and we would be happy to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,672
    261
    176
    102
    98
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well organized and well trained staff. It is nice to get the "off road" experience of this natural beautiful area. The train is comfortable and a joy to be in. Whistler is always a great place to visit and no worries about parking while taking the train!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thrill of a Life Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I looked toward to our trip on the Rocky Mountaineer in May 2012 with great expectations - every one of those expectations were met and more. Our hotel rooms: Calgary (International Hotel & Suites), Kamloops (The Pacific Host Inn), Vancouver (The Georgian Court Hotel), were wonderful, comfortable, very clean, the delicious food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded in the International Hotel & Suites in Calgary - which was very much enjoyed, very spacious and relaxing. As the train travelled through the mountains, we saw scenery so beautiful and breathtaking. The Rocky Mountaineer ride in itself was 5 star plus, so smooth, with fantastic window exposure. The seats wrapped around us, it was as though we were sitting in luxurious recliners. The food on the Rocky Mountaineer was amazing and very creatively arranged. The Rocky Mountaineer staff were also 5 star plus, their knowledge of the country we were going through was amazing, they kept us well entertained. In other words, we felt very special and were treated as such. I certainly didn't want our trip to end, I wanted to travel on and on. My husband and I are going on the Rocky Mountaineer again this coming September 2013, we can hardly wait - this time we are starting from Banff (Gorgeous Banff) and we know that our trip will be every bit as wonderful as the first time. Thank You Rocky Mountaineer for giving us a thrilling trip of a life time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Rocky Mountaineer Horror Trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

ROCKY MOUNTAINEER HORROR TRIP

Paid for Gold Leaf (1st class) train trip with Fairmont Upgrade which was supposed to
be gourmet meals, unlimited alcohol, snacks, service at our seats.

Hotel rooms highest standard, guaranteed views, porterage services for luggage,

We got : lazy staff, woken at 4.30am to have luggage ready for pick up at 6am, but was left in corridor till 8.30am. Breakfast was then at 10.30am,served at 11, finished at 11.30. Lunch
2.30pm served at 3.45 and finished at 4pm. Drinks that never came, walked to front of carriage
and lined up with all the other suckers! Dishes dropped on floor and smashed, staff just stepped over them, passengers had to crawl on floor to pick up or risk serious injury. No commentary as we were promised, but a Reject from Canada’s Idol show SERENADED us, know why he was voted OFF!!! This was the GOOD DAY.

2nd Day STRIKE. No, not the 12 month strike they are having with their staff, this was
Their OTHER STRIKE. (and not the 6hr break down, that was the trip after ours) No train trip at all but loaded on buses instead. OK no big deal
Aussies no stranger to strikes and train manager did guarantee us all services, just on buses instead. After Day 1 how bad could it be? Add no breakfast, morning tea at public park,
6 buses, 4 toilets, 2 overflowing, bottle water, can coke, packet of Chips or biscuit!! Lunch gourmet. Meal was a run down pub seedy area of town, soup & sandwich,steak sandwich or stir fry.1 glass house wine only, beer only with Permission from 20 yr old staff member, NO hot drink Or sweet,when queried told how unreasonable we were!! Afternoon tea at rest stop, but alas when we asked how to get coffee etc as we had already PAID FOR ALL THIS, WAS TOLD very incredulousy PAY FOR IT YOURSELF!!
This was $1000.00 per day, each. GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY???

FAIRMONT HOTEL HELL

YES IT DID GET WORSE. Hotel rooms with no views ,locks on doors that did not lock, phones in rooms that did not work, no air con, but did give us a fan, alas no working power points to plug it into!! No hot water, Staff that told us NOT THEIR FAULT THEY OVER BOOKED HOTEL, BUT FOR EXTRA $80.00 THEY WOULD GET US A ROOM, OR
WE HAD SENT EMAIL SAYING WE DID NOT WANT ROOM WE HAD BOOKED AND PAID FOR. Luggage lost, sent to wrong room,run over by bus when they left it on sitting on
Side of road. Or our personal favourite, delivered to empty room and forgotten about and when finally found told it was our fault for moving to Different room without TELLING THEM
IF KNEW HOW TO DO THIS WOULD NOT HAVE STAYED IN CRAPPY THIRD RATE ROOMS ALL TRIP!!!!!!!
Only Good experience on trip for FAIRMONT HELL CLUB ( as we were now calling ourselves) was our SALVATION when we arrived at our ONLY non Fairmont Hotel
BEST WESTERN HOTEL AT QUESNELL. ABSOLUTE HEAVEN.air con<, hot water
Helpful pleasant staff, comfy beds, DOORS THAT LOCKED, working power points
More than 1 light that functioned. LUGGAGE THAT WAS IN THE ROOM !!PHONES, and it WORKED. Knew answers about next day’s arrangements and even told us correct info!!
We were definitely not at a Fairmont hotel.

Have spent last 10 months arguing for our refund but no luck so far. Seem to think we have to put up with whatever they dish out but so MAD am currently filing complaint with fair trading. Much personal satisfaction in telling everyone about HORRID experience.
So far have spread word to Italy, UK, Singapore< Hong Kong, Next on to China and Greek Isles
Next year Egypt, France, Belgium Switzerland. Am determined to spread the word!!!
WISH ME LOTS OF TRAVEL!!!!

PS BELIEVE IT OR NOT, ONLY MENTIONED SOME OF THE PROBLEMS

JOHN AND SHANE PATRICK AND ALL ON BUS 8

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing trip and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was a simply stunning trip, Gold Leaf was certainly the way to travel. The views and commentary were fabulous. The meals on the train were out of this world. Embarkation and disembarkation was stress free.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocky Mountaineer Train also viewed

Canada, North America
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Rocky Mountaineer Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rocky Mountaineer Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.