We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise in Gastown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pourhouse Restaurant

Pourhouse Restaurant
162 Water Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1B2, Canada (Downtown)
6045687022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pourhouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 2,802 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: Waterfront Skytrain Station is a block up the street. A nice and easy walk down Water Street to Pourhouse.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in Gastown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Popped in here for a drink on the last day of our holiday in Vancouver. The venue is very cool and very tastefully decorated. You should stop by and have a drink. Didn't eat there but I am sure if the drinks were anything to by then I am sure the food will be good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stellar food and drinks in a comfortable atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We took part in a Craft Beer N Bites tour through Vancouver Food Tours and this was one of our stops. What a great place! The staff is so friendly and knowledgeable and the atmosphere is delightful. Wish we lived closer, I would frequent it all the time!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's 1930 here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great bar with Prohibition type drinks like sidecars and rye manhattans. Martini's are great and nice bar snacks. Bartenders friendly. We went before dinner and avoided the crowds

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“A spectacle - fantastic ambiance, staff, cocktails & dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is one of my highlights for Vancouver having visited several times over the past 18 months. A fine wine list as well as an extensive selection of well-executed original cocktails their food menu is a little underwhelming by comparison. However, what they do, they do very well.
Seated at the bar, on a particularly busy Saturday night, our hostess immediately seated us although we had arrived 15 minutes late for our reservation. We had been told they were full when we telephoned 30 mins earlier but were told they could help us if we got there quickly. Top marks for flexibility and understanding; we were only in town (from France and Ireland) for the weekend.
I had a Mushroom tart ($19) followed by a Beet & Endive Salad ($14) while my colleague had a Chickpea Croquette ($19) and a portion of steamed mussels ($16), sharing a frites ($5); all excellent, well presented delicious and well proportioned. We also enjoyed a fantastic Okanagan Pinot Noir ($63).
Service was swift, friendly - and a spectacle. Seated at the bar our mixologist saw our interest in what he was up to and what he was preparing and continually gave us samples of what was left over from his creations. A fantastic atmosphere; terrific buzz, great soundtrack and a constant flow of folks of all ages and from all walks of life. Classy without exclusivity.
Total was $166 inc. tip.
Truly a great meal, great service and product I highly recommend the Pour House.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

One of our party of 4 had dined at The Pourhouse before and recommended it. Our server was excellent and helped to relocate us to a more comfortable booth when we asked. Killer selection of creative cocktails, mostly off-menu, so make sure to ask for those not listed. The menu was varied and provided good choices for each of us, including one vegetarian. It's mostly comfort food, which fits right in with the dark and homey decor. The only drawback is there's no patio, so perhaps a better fall and winter choice overall. We dined on a week night and the place was busy, good to see. Prices were average and everyone enjoyed their experience. We would certainly return again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pourhouse Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pourhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pourhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.