We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have had a better experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Air Seaplanes

Harbour Air Seaplanes
Unit #1 Burrard Landing, 1055 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2C6, Canada
1.800.665.0212
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$102*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Couldn't have had a better experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We took an afternoon flight from Vancouver to Victoria that we booked the night before. The people there are super friendly and very helpful. As others have said, the takeoff and landing and flight as a whole are probably the smoothest you will ever experience. You fly so low to the ground that it is almost like a tour. They provide ear plugs for noise. The flight from Vancouver leaves right out of the harbor (right across the street from the Fairmont Pacific Rim next to the olympic torch). It is very easy to get to and the terminal provides good seating, snacks and drinks for purchase, tv, and free wifi. You only need to get there about 20 or 30 minutes before hand to check in.

***TIP: There is a weight limit (per passenger) on the luggage, however, call ahead and tell them and you can bring your luggage ahead of time and they can place it onboard less full flights and your bags will be waiting for you when you get to your destination (locked away and secure). I would make sure and call the night before. Our flight was at 2:40pm and we just dropped off our luggage at around 10:30 the morning of our flight and it was all sorted perfectly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourAirSeaplanes, customer care coordinator at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Adam K,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and for your kind feedback regarding our staff. We love to hear that you enjoyed your flight and liked our service and new facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back on board on your next visit to Canada!
CAROLE STURM
CUSTOMER CARE COORDINATOR
HARBOUR AIR SEAPLANES | WESTCOAST AIR | WHISTLER AIR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    61
    6
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“When travelling to Vancouver . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

. . . . . . consider Harbour Air. Great connections from Victoria, Nanaimo and Comox with great seat sales. We flew from Nanaimo to the downtown Vancouver seaplane terminal in Coal Harbour and returned the next afternoon. Staff were exceedingly kind to my mother-in-law who needed a little more time to board. Weather was perfect the views superb.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourAirSeaplanes, customer care coordinator at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Marty D,
Thank you very much for your 5-star review and for recommending Harbour Air to our future guests! We’re delighted to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your flight experience and the service our staff provided you.
We look forward to welcoming you all on board again soon!
CAROLE STURM
CUSTOMER CARE COORDINATOR
HARBOUR AIR SEAPLANES | WESTCOAST AIR | WHISTLER AIR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriola bc
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Well-run operation with experienced and competent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I often use this service for both personal and business trips. It is a cost-effective alternative to the land-based airlines subject to the proviso that it is shutdown by fog and does not operate at night. the flights are more interesting than land flights and with less hassle at the terminals. the seats are not spacious and getting in and out will be a challenge for the unfit or disabled.
If you are travelling with a lot of luggage this may not be the best option for you.

I never have any safety concerns with this airline. They have excellent planes and pilots and do not fly if the conditions are not right.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourAirSeaplanes, customer care coordinator at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear doddsnarrows,
Thank you very much for your patronage and for sharing your experience on our service with our TripAdvisor readers! It is always a pleasure to hear from our frequent flyers and how much they enjoy the service we love to provide. Just a quick reminder that if you are travelling with luggage beyond the weight allowance, we will be happy to sent it over on a stand-by basis, free of charge, subject to weight availability. Again, thanks a lot for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon!
CAROLE STURM
CUSTOMER CARE COORDINATOR
HARBOUR AIR SEAPLANES | WESTCOAST AIR | WHISTLER AIR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had a few hours to kill in Nanaimo so took a view from the air. Helpful booking staff, friendly chatty pilot, super smooth take off and landing with amazing views as you fly very low. Could be considered slightly expensive hence the four and not five stars but will be a never forgotten experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourAirSeaplanes, custoemr care coordinator at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Lee B,
Thank you very much for the great review! We love to hear that you had a great flight experience with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
CAROLE STURM
CUSTOMER CARE COORDINATOR
HARBOUR AIR SEAPLANES | WESTCOAST AIR | WHISTLER AIR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the move
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best way to get to Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A fantastic experience and one not to be missed. We booked on line a few days before our trip and managed to get real bargain airfares for a late afternoon flight from Vancouver to Victoria. After checking out of our hotel at noon we planned to leave out bag at the terminal and wander downtown until our flight, but the helpful check in staff offered us an earlier flight at no extra charge. We enjoyed free coffee and daily papers in their lounge for a while and then took the flight. Although there was some overhead cloud we got fantastic views all the way over. It was a little bumpy over one of the islands (maybe 3 out of 10) but nothing of any consequence. Take off and landing was very smooth. It is the very best way to travel - city centre to city centre in such a short time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourAirSeaplanes, custoemr care coordinator at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear planbee,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for recommending our service. We are thrilled that our front desk staff made your experience even more enjoyable and we hope you were able to make the most of your time in Victoria. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
CAROLE STURM
CUSTOMER CARE COORDINATOR
HARBOUR AIR SEAPLANES | WESTCOAST AIR | WHISTLER AIR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Air Seaplanes also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Harbour Air Seaplanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Air Seaplanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.