We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   446 West 13th Ave., Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1W5, Canada (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Northampton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Comfortable rooms, quiet neighborhood, good & hot made-to-order breakfasts, close to City Hall and Canada Rail (subway) station. Hosts were very accommodating of our needs. Would definitely stay here again. Good value (even with the private bath!).

Room Tip: Room 6 had the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My two friends and I recently travelled to Canada from the UK and, as part of our visit we stayed at Cambie lodge for three nights whilst we explored Vancouver.
It is in a really convenient and easy to find spot right on the bus route and very close to the Sky Train station.
It seems that the owners have three houses, Cambie and Douglas are next door to each other and the other is a little way away.
Parking is available at both houses and if one is full, the other may have spaces but there is no street parking.
The only strange thing was that throughout our stay, no one introduced themselves as the owners or gave us any idea as to who was actually in charge until just before we left.
When we arrived, the room key was in an envelope with our names on it, stuck to the front door.
The rooms were well decorated and in good order. Ours was for three (we get on well!) and had a shower room with toilet and then a wash basin in the actual bedroom. This was a bit strange and it would have been much better and easier to have everything in the washroom.
There was a kitchen in the house which seemed to be available for us to use and a note to say that we could put food in the fridge. It could have been just a little cleaner and tidier. Also each house had a living room for guests with newspapers etc and a computer.
Breakfast was served in Douglas House next door. We were shown in in the morning and they were having a busy time with the dining room full. We found spaces and sorted ourselves out but it was a little chaotic and we had to work out the system for ourselves. Hot food was being cooked and we were given a good choice of hot items, juice, cereals , do-it-yourself toast, fruit, coffee and more. Excellent. (we still didn't know who was in charge!)
The sink plug in the bedroom was missing and we mentioned this at breakfast. By the time we got back to our room it was there.
The houses are right opposite the White Spot restaurant and we ate there on two nights. The food there was very good and there was no need to look further.
Beds were clean and comfortable and our only real problem with the room was there were not many places to put anything. Shelves and extra hanging hooks in the shower room would have been useful.
Overall, a very good place for a few nights and very convenient.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing front or side have some traffic noise with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a quiet and convenient place to stay for two nights! My room with a shared bath was inexpensive and as far as I could tell, I had the bathroom to myself. Unfortunately, I only got to enjoy one of Hardeep's delicious breakfasts because I had to leave early the second morning. The house really has the feel of a little hotel because it's not actually a residence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bachelorbroad, Guest Relations Manager at Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Cambie Lodge, is a unique home with a lovely common kitchen, and dining area, and we endeavor to make it feel like you are staying with your favorite aunt, who makes great breakfasts, and provides wonderful company from all over the world.
Please come again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've stayed at both these B&Bs several times a year for the past 3 years. It has always been a very positive experience. The rates are very competitive, the rooms are clean and quiet, Hardeep's breakfasts are awesome and she is very helpful with information on things going on in Vancouver. I have recommended it to several friends who stay in Vancouver often.It is also located 3 blocks from the City Hall Canada Line stop and is therefore very convenient if you are arriving at Vancouver Airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked a weekend stay and had a lovely time. The rooms were clean and airy with old world charm in a lovely Vancouver heritage home. The hostess greeted us in the morning with a lovely breakfast and some ideas on what to see and do in Vancouver during our "free time" from the conference we were attending. We found it to be an excellent value for the location and setting with lots of shops, restaurants and transit nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

(9/22/2011) Stayed here a week. Tiny room. Trash never emptied. Sheets never changed. Towels had brown stains. Breakfast was next door at another B&B where the "cook/manager" spoke broken english, and couldn't help with any information about Vancouver. The milk was curdled. Bargain price=bargain accomodations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

During our spontaneous trip to Vancouver we were looking for a B&B - shortterm. After having had several unsuccessful calls for other B&Bs in Vancouver we ended up at the Cambie Lodge. The room has been big and within it you can find two beds - queensize and single.
The breakfast has been served in the B&B besides the Cambie Lodge. Breakfast was ok and the service very friendly.
As the B&B is closed to Cambie Street you can hear the traffic noise of the road. On the other hand it is located in walking distance to piblic transportation stations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 446 West 13th Ave., Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1W5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.